TiVo Roamio: Records up to 6 shows simultaneously, 3TB storage, streams. - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 34Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 975 Old 03-05-2014, 02:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by REMAC View Post

Installed the WD expander and all went well. Also, split the HDMI line 1x2
And sent it to the box that converted the signal to RCA for the X 10 which transmits to the bath and kitchen TV.

All is working well with good pictures. splitter is powered by the way. more later.


How exactly are you splitting your HDMI out and sending it to two displays?

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 975 Old 03-06-2014, 06:21 AM
Member
 
REMAC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

How exactly are you splitting your HDMI out and sending it to two displays?

On TiVo's website they said you could split the line to go to 16 televisions. I only need to split it once and I talked to the computer shop friend of mine and he helped me select the units from Amazon. We used a one by two powered splitter and then to a box made by MINI which changes it to RCA which is the input on a box called X 10 .
The X 10 is old technology and is a transmitter/receiver type.
I have one transmitter and then a receiver in the bathroom and one in the kitchen.
We had an old outdated unit called rabbit for 20 some years. The X 10 is okay but if you're in between the two sounds are slightly off of each other.
We like to watch the same program no matter what room we go to and X10 allows this.

For now I am waiting on an item called desk top so that I can transfer things to my computer.
REMAC is offline  
post #543 of 975 Old 03-06-2014, 07:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,789
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 352
If anybody is interested in wirless HD distribution to several TV's, I've use the Actiontec MyWirelessTV, and they worked very well. They can be pricey, but you can usually find deals on ebay.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mdavej is offline  
post #544 of 975 Old 03-06-2014, 12:59 PM
Member
 
REMAC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by REMAC View Post

On TiVo's website they said you could split the line to go to 16 televisions. I only need to split it once and I talked to the computer shop friend of mine and he helped me select the units from Amazon. We used a one by two powered splitter and then to a box made by MINI which changes it to RCA which is the input on a box called X 10 .
The X 10 is old technology and is a transmitter/receiver type.
I have one transmitter and then a receiver in the bathroom and one in the kitchen.
We had an old outdated unit called rabbit for 20 some years. The X 10 is okay but if you're in between the two sounds are slightly off of each other.
We like to watch the same program no matter what room we go to and X10 allows this.

For now I am waiting on an item called desk top so that I can transfer things to my computer.

Now I have discovered that the X 10 people went bankrupt and you can get something similar from a company called smart home.com

See their product RF Link AVS-5811 on sale for $ 96.39
REMAC is offline  
post #545 of 975 Old 03-12-2014, 01:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Parrish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas USA
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hey there-
I finally found the perfect thread for my needs- I have a Pioneer 141 monitor without onboard hd tuner and I want to be able to watch OTA local channels on it - is the Roamio base model the way to go? I don't have cable or satellite at this time so only need an ota tuner for the kuro- are there any better options than this for me? thanks

Coton de Tulear-IndyFab-Kuro-XBR8 - Current Loves of my life.
Parrish is offline  
post #546 of 975 Old 03-12-2014, 01:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,812
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 90

The Roamio would certainly work but it may be a overkill, unless money isn't really a issue. On the low end you may be able to get by with something as low as $40 for the iView3500 or Homeworx tuner/DVRs. They are both single tuner tuners that when you add a USB HDD you can save programs, they have HDMI, Component and composite outputs. They are a little quirky in operation(mostly relating to the recording part) but do have HD outputs. The downscaled composite output isn't the best but HDMI or component are basically as broadcast. The one thing they don't have, which may be major to you, is the ability to output NATIVE, both scale the output to whatever you've set in the setup. That is if you have it set to output 1080i then 720p(and 480i) channels will be output as 1080i and if you've set it to 720p then 1080i(and 480i) channels will be scaled to 720p.

I wouldn't say either of these cheaper tuners "better" than the Tivo but they are for sure cheaper and would do the job. Channel Master also makes a HD DVR that would work for OTA and is probably more polished than the iView but I'd not sure if it has a native output either, it's called the CM+ and also has a thread on AVS.

jjeff is offline  
post #547 of 975 Old 03-12-2014, 03:57 PM
Member
 
REMAC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parrish View Post

Hey there-
I finally found the perfect thread for my needs- I have a Pioneer 141 monitor without onboard hd tuner and I want to be able to watch OTA local channels on it - is the Roamio base model the way to go? I don't have cable or satellite at this time so only need an ota tuner for the kuro- are there any better options than this for me? thanks
See the thread called "Channel Master DVR+"
REMAC is offline  
post #548 of 975 Old 03-12-2014, 09:58 PM
Member
 
tre74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
OTA with a Roamio basic and Mini in the bedroom. Love em. Plenty to watch and have used all four tuners for recording from time to time. Out of home streaming is fun. Need stand alone Stream with Roamio basic.
tre74 is offline  
post #549 of 975 Old 03-13-2014, 06:29 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,408
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 633 Post(s)
Liked: 713
Quote:
Originally Posted by tre74 View Post

OTA with a Roamio basic and Mini in the bedroom. Love em. Plenty to watch and have used all four tuners for recording from time to time. Out of home streaming is fun. Need stand alone Stream with Roamio basic.

Or a Roamio Pro/Plus. I have a Roamio Basic for OTA and a ROamio Pro on cable. Although I use Android so I'm still waiting to use the TiVo Stream built into my Roamio Pro.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #550 of 975 Old 03-13-2014, 09:22 AM
 
mulliganman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Can anyone using an OTA model speak to how well the tuners work. I have a DVR+ right now and am having difficulties with pixelation and loss of a couple of channels due to the tuners.
mulliganman is offline  
post #551 of 975 Old 03-13-2014, 09:49 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by mulliganman View Post

Can anyone using an OTA model speak to how well the tuners work. I have a DVR+ right now and am having difficulties with pixelation and loss of a couple of channels due to the tuners.
I don't know how valuable individual testimonials would be because it is entirely situational. I have a Roamio basic and I think the tuners are great -- sensitive and stable, every bit as good as the tuners in the TiVo HD. I rarely have pixelation except in severe weather conditions. But then I live on high ground with a 20 mi line of sight to all the Philly transmission towers and a big antenna in the attic of a 2-story house.

It has been said that the tuners in the TiVo HD were really good, the tuners in the Premier not so good and the tuners in the Roamio at least as good as the TiVo HD tuners.

You can always go to Best Buy and buy a Roamio. Don't activate it, just scan the channels and see how it does on the channels you are most interested in. If it is not satisfactory, you can easily return it to Best Buy.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #552 of 975 Old 03-13-2014, 10:24 AM
 
mulliganman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post

I don't know how valuable individual testimonials would be because it is entirely situational. I have a Roamio basic and I think the tuners are great -- sensitive and stable, every bit as good as the tuners in the TiVo HD. I rarely have pixelation except in severe weather conditions. But then I live on high ground with a 20 mi line of sight to all the Philly transmission towers and a big antenna in the attic of a 2-story house.

It has been said that the tuners in the TiVo HD were really good, the tuners in the Premier not so good and the tuners in the Roamio at least as good as the TiVo HD tuners.

You can always go to Best Buy and buy a Roamio. Don't activate it, just scan the channels and see how it does on the channels you are most interested in. If it is not satisfactory, you can easily return it to Best Buy.

I guess I am not familiar with how Tivo works. I thought to check for things like pixelation/picture issues I would have to activate it to actually see the picture and either pay the monthly fee or the lifetime service fee. But, you are saying that isn't the case. Is that correct?
mulliganman is offline  
post #553 of 975 Old 03-13-2014, 10:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
eric102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mulliganman View Post

I guess I am not familiar with how Tivo works. I thought to check for things like pixelation/picture issues I would have to activate it to actually see the picture and either pay the monthly fee or the lifetime service fee. But, you are saying that isn't the case. Is that correct?

Even if you have to get a subscription TiVo allows you 30 days to cancel it.
eric102 is offline  
post #554 of 975 Old 03-13-2014, 12:23 PM
Member
 
REMAC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mulliganman View Post

Can anyone using an OTA model speak to how well the tuners work. I have a DVR+ right now and am having difficulties with pixelation and loss of a couple of channels due to the tuners.

I have a CM7000 and TiVo Romeo basic and no problems with tuners at all.
REMAC is offline  
post #555 of 975 Old 03-13-2014, 01:37 PM
Member
 
calculon68's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post

It has been said that the tuners in the TiVo HD were really good, the tuners in the Premier not so good and the tuners in the Roamio at least as good as the TiVo HD tuners.

When I bought the TiVoHD in '07, the tuners were superior to Viewsonic TV I owned at the time. And they're as good as the 2010 Sony Bravia tuner I have now. The Roamio' s tuners are just as good. I transfer recordings between the TiVo HD and Roamio all the time- and both use the same antenna. I can't tell the difference in recording quality.
calculon68 is offline  
post #556 of 975 Old 03-14-2014, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,814
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 306
Tried out Hunger Games Catching Fire as a rental from Amazon, after watching it on Blu. Downloaded as a 1080p/24 file with DD 5.1, at roughly 6 gigs for a 2.5 hour movie. Thats a pretty good size, and the PQ showed it. Really surprised how good it looked.

I already new the 1080p/24 tv shows looked good. I wish more services offered a nice 7-10gig file download for movies, Id probably shift from optical. My HSI speed is not enough to stream.

65" VT50 / BDT460
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #557 of 975 Old 03-15-2014, 07:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 2,923
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by mulliganman View Post

Can anyone using an OTA model speak to how well the tuners work. I have a DVR+ right now and am having difficulties with pixelation and loss of a couple of channels due to the tuners.

I've done a little additional testing since I last wrote about this.

I was able to come up with a number for minimum useable signal on my Sony TV which seems to have a tuner equivalent to some other tuners I've had both in sensitivity and multipath. I have many stations with multipath issues. I was able to decode a signal at -84.5 dBm which is right at the limit that the ATSC spec says a well designed tuner should be able to do.

The TiVo Roamio tuners required 0.5 dB more signal to produce a stable picture. I doubt anyone would be able to notice that in day to day operation.

Multipath tests with the stations I have problems with showed the Roamio tuners to be about 0.5 dB more tolerant of multipath than the Sony tuner. I can't test every multipath situation so YMMV.

I have no experience with the DVR+. Are you having problems with it when the tuner in your TV is operating fine?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Calaveras is online now  
post #558 of 975 Old 03-15-2014, 09:03 AM
 
mulliganman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calaveras View Post

I've done a little additional testing since I last wrote about this.

I was able to come up with a number for minimum useable signal on my Sony TV which seems to have a tuner equivalent to some other tuners I've had both in sensitivity and multipath. I have many stations with multipath issues. I was able to decode a signal at -84.5 dBm which is right at the limit that the ATSC spec says a well designed tuner should be able to do.

The TiVo Roamio tuners required 0.5 dB more signal to produce a stable picture. I doubt anyone would be able to notice that in day to day operation.

Multipath tests with the stations I have problems with showed the Roamio tuners to be about 0.5 dB more tolerant of multipath than the Sony tuner. I can't test every multipath situation so YMMV.

I have no experience with the DVR+. Are you having problems with it when the tuner in your TV is operating fine?

Thanks for sharing. Yes, I am having problems with the DVR+ tuner when the tuners on my TV's are operating just fine. I have pixelation going on on a number of stations. That is why I asked about the Roamio
mulliganman is offline  
post #559 of 975 Old 03-15-2014, 11:18 AM
Thread Ender
 
WS65711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Covington, LA OTA & Charter CableCard
Posts: 4,134
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Y'all need to remember that the DVR+ (as well as the TiVo) split and presumably amplify the signal between multiple tuners, compared to a TV which does no internal splitting.

Don't ever make the MISTAKE of buying a Samsung TV..
They consider
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

normal on a two month old set..
WS65711 is offline  
post #560 of 975 Old 03-16-2014, 04:57 AM
Member
 
REMAC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I called about the "Ads" that pop up and they say that they won't show if I chg my guide from "Grid" to the list type.
I wish there was a way to swap this.
Anybody ?????
REMAC is offline  
post #561 of 975 Old 03-16-2014, 05:57 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,408
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 633 Post(s)
Liked: 713
Quote:
Originally Posted by REMAC View Post

I called about the "Ads" that pop up and they say that they won't show if I chg my guide from "Grid" to the list type.
I wish there was a way to swap this.
Anybody ?????

What ads are you talking about? I've always used the list guide. It is much better than the Grid guide. If you are talking about the unobtrusive ads that pop up sometimes when you pause, those are still there.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #562 of 975 Old 03-16-2014, 07:05 AM
Member
 
REMAC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If you are talking about the unobtrusive ads that pop up sometimes when you pause, those are still there.
Yes, those are the ones.
I like the grid guide, but he said to switch to the list guide and they would be gone.
Are you saying that's not true?
REMAC is offline  
post #563 of 975 Old 03-16-2014, 07:26 AM
A J
Senior Member
 
A J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indian Trail, NC
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

...the unobtrusive ads that pop up sometimes when you pause, those are still there.

Ads?? I've been considering getting a TiVo to replace my CM-7000PAL, primarily to receive a better program guide, and I've been reading this forum to soak up some info about the product. Paying $15 a month for a program guide is no concern but this is the first I've heard about ads I'd be paying to receive. How many, and how often do they appear? And, are these ads appropriate for all age groups (no impotence cures or feminine hygiene products, I would hope!)?

I guess that, since no ad ever appears on my CM-7000PAL's program guide, I just assumed the same would apply with TiVo. Not sure if that is a deal breaker, or not, but the idea of paying for ads is certainly disappointing.
A J is offline  
post #564 of 975 Old 03-16-2014, 08:02 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,408
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 633 Post(s)
Liked: 713
Quote:
Originally Posted by REMAC View Post

If you are talking about the unobtrusive ads that pop up sometimes when you pause, those are still there.
Yes, those are the ones.
I like the grid guide, but he said to switch to the list guide and they would be gone.
Are you saying that's not true?

Yes. Whether the grid guide or list guide, it has zero effect on the unobtrusive pause ads. I'll see them when I pause, but its paused because I am doing something else. They don't get in the way of anything, and worst case you can hit down on the Directional pad and they will be gone.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #565 of 975 Old 03-16-2014, 08:04 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,408
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 633 Post(s)
Liked: 713
Quote:
Originally Posted by A J View Post


Ads?? I've been considering getting a TiVo to replace my CM-7000PAL, primarily to receive a better program guide, and I've been reading this forum to soak up some info about the product. Paying $15 a month for a program guide is no concern but this is the first I've heard about ads I'd be paying to receive. How many, and how often do they appear? And, are these ads appropriate for all age groups (no impotence cures or feminine hygiene products, I would hope!)?

I guess that, since no ad ever appears on my CM-7000PAL's program guide, I just assumed the same would apply with TiVo. Not sure if that is a deal breaker, or not, but the idea of paying for ads is certainly disappointing.

The ads have not affected me since the are unobtrusive. And they have actually saved me money by having Coupons sent to me or getting a discount on things.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #566 of 975 Old 03-16-2014, 08:06 AM
Member
 
REMAC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by A J View Post


Ads?? I've been considering getting a TiVo to replace my CM-7000PAL, primarily to receive a better program guide, and I've been reading this forum to soak up some info about the product. Paying $15 a month for a program guide is no concern but this is the first I've heard about ads I'd be paying to receive. How many, and how often do they appear? And, are these ads appropriate for all age groups (no impotence cures or feminine hygiene products, I would hope!)?

I guess that, since no ad ever appears on my CM-7000PAL's program guide, I just assumed the same would apply with TiVo. Not sure if that is a deal breaker, or not, but the idea of paying for ads is certainly disappointing.

The Ads are stored at "Apps & Games". Under the heading "showcases"
They offer coupons only.....
These only show when pausing when playing a recorded show. I just tried to get it to show but no luck. Maybe my complaint helped...

Btw, no Ads on guide.......
REMAC is offline  
post #567 of 975 Old 03-16-2014, 12:36 PM
Member
 
calculon68's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I wouldn't call them ads in the conventional sense. One line of text at the bottom of the Tivo Central menu isn't obtrusive at all. It's not as if they're inserting commercials like Hulu Plus or banners like the Kindle Fire does.
calculon68 is offline  
post #568 of 975 Old 03-16-2014, 05:20 PM
Member
 
PGDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the Roamio allow you to record programs from Netflix or Hulu to your list of DVR recordings? Or, can you only stream them live?
PGDave is offline  
post #569 of 975 Old 03-16-2014, 05:20 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,408
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 633 Post(s)
Liked: 713
Quote:
Originally Posted by PGDave View Post

Does the Roamio allow you to record programs from Netflix or Hulu to your list of DVR recordings? Or, can you only stream them live?

You can only stream them live.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #570 of 975 Old 03-16-2014, 07:06 PM
Member
 
THeCozen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Checking this thread because I'm contemplating cutting the cable cord and going OTA ...may add a TiVo Roamio for DVR functions. I'm not familiar with OTA or TiVo and I'm curios if there is any loss in sound as compared to the DD I get from the cable box. If I route the TiVo through my Yamaha AVR, what sound should I expect the AVR display to read (PCM, Dolby Digital)? What is the quality?

Panasonic 55VT50
Yamaha RX-V473
Energy Take Classic 5.1
Sony BDP-S590
ROKU 2XS
TiVo Roamio Basic
Mohu Curve 30
THeCozen1 is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

Tags
Tivo Roamio Dvr , Tivo Roamio Plus Dvr , Tivo Roamio Pro Dvr

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off