TiVo Roamio: Records up to 6 shows simultaneously, 3TB storage, streams. - Page 31 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 35Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #901 of 996 Old 09-09-2014, 06:45 PM
Senior Member
 
TonyB1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Me too kamouflage. "Pending restart" now... My Account shows "We're still processing your activation. Try again in 24 hours."

Anyone else contemplating another? I'm certainly thinking about it...
TonyB1966 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #902 of 996 Old 09-09-2014, 07:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
eric102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyB1966 View Post
Me too kamouflage. "Pending restart" now... My Account shows "We're still processing your activation. Try again in 24 hours."

Anyone else contemplating another? I'm certainly thinking about it...
At this price you should have one in every room, I'm up to 4 and thinking about adding 2 more.
eric102 is offline  
post #903 of 996 Old 09-09-2014, 08:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Hyrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Eastern Massachusetts
Posts: 2,567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Would a remote Mini work if I connected to my home network over a VPN?
Hyrax is offline  
post #904 of 996 Old 09-09-2014, 09:47 PM
Senior Member
 
TonyB1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyrax View Post
Would a remote Mini work if I connected to my home network over a VPN?
I'm totally new to the Mini, but logically, one would think it possible. Given that the TiVo Stream does not, per this Amazon reviewer, I'm guessing that the Mini won't either:

"TiVo Stream has made it very easy for my wife and I to transfer shows to our iPads when we go on trips but the live streaming of recorded content is hit or miss. The Stream isn't always able to generate the connection and we get an error. I was also extremely disappointed to learn that TiVo has deliberately prevented connection to the Stream over VPN. I'm giving it 4 stars in the hope that they unlock that ability someday... please?"

Bought another Mini tonight for my home office. I'll pick it up tomorrow...
TonyB1966 is offline  
post #905 of 996 Old 09-10-2014, 05:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked: 355
I see the on-line price of the Mini has already jumped to correspond with the TiVo offer. BestBuy has it at $150 and Amazon has it at $135. You can search around and find it for under $100 from a couple places but I suspect those prices will be short-lived. I found it at ABT for $88.50 and just ordered one.

Bottom line is if you even think you would want one, don't drag your feet with indecision and order it, like now.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine


Last edited by Kelson; 09-10-2014 at 05:46 AM.
Kelson is offline  
post #906 of 996 Old 09-10-2014, 07:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
ncted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyrax View Post
Would a remote Mini work if I connected to my home network over a VPN?
I doubt the high latency of a VPN connection across the Internet would allow for this. Many folks have trouble getting the Mini to work well across local networks.

-Ted
ncted is offline  
post #907 of 996 Old 09-10-2014, 07:07 AM
Senior Member
 
TonyB1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Indeed. That is why I bought over the phone yesterday, twice. I figured that I just need two though. I'll get a Stream too at some point for the mobile devices...
TonyB1966 is offline  
post #908 of 996 Old 09-10-2014, 07:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CptnRandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Westerville, Ohio
Posts: 2,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hey all,

I've just gone through another knock-down-drag-em-out fight with U-verse and and seriously sick of the continual bill changes and cost. So once again I'm looking at cutting the cable.

Here's my question for all of you is this: can a Tivo Romio and Tivo Minis with an antenna work for me? I have 6 TVs to connect, need to record multiple programs at the same time, and do it all wirelessly.

From what I'm reading wireless is the weakness for Tivo Minis currently. Any recommendations?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Check out a video of my 
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CptnRandy is offline  
post #909 of 996 Old 09-10-2014, 08:07 AM
Senior Member
 
TonyB1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by CptnRandy View Post
Hey all,

I've just gone through another knock-down-drag-em-out fight with U-verse and and seriously sick of the continual bill changes and cost. So once again I'm looking at cutting the cable.

Here's my question for all of you is this: can a Tivo Romio and Tivo Minis with an antenna work for me? I have 6 TVs to connect, need to record multiple programs at the same time, and do it all wirelessly.

From what I'm reading wireless is the weakness for Tivo Minis currently. Any recommendations?
Hey CptnRandy. It's working well for us, and we live in a tough reception area. Do you have good OTA reception at your location? If you dont' know, you can go to tvfool.com and put in your address to find-out...

We have found that with the major networks (ABC, NBC, CBS, FOX and PBS), along with streaming devices (Roku, Chromecast, etc), we are fine from a programming perspective. The Roamio satisfies the DVR side exceptionally well. I tried a couple others...

As far as getting programming to multiple TVs, that can be done from the antenna down lead itself, feeding into a multi-port distribution device. It can be an amplified device if the runs are long or signal strength not so good...

Or, with the Roamio, I have found that this can bring live TV and your TiVo's recordings to another location, without the need to run a coax there. You'd need to run an Ethernet cable (or MoCA) though...

Very liberating to cut the cord. Start to experiment and see if you and the family will be satisfied...
TonyB1966 is offline  
post #910 of 996 Old 09-10-2014, 08:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by CptnRandy View Post
Here's my question for all of you is this: can a Tivo Romio and Tivo Minis with an antenna work for me? I have 6 TVs to connect, need to record multiple programs at the same time, and do it all wirelessly.

From what I'm reading wireless is the weakness for Tivo Minis currently. Any recommendations?
Roamio basic for OTA has 4 tuners and only 3 can be simultaneously allocated to Minis. You might be better served with a pair of Roamio Basics and 4 Minis.

Mini does not work with wireless adapters and requires an ethernet cable (or Moca). You may be able to get away with bridge routers if your wireless is strong and fast enough but I would look into Powerline Adapters instead. I have Netgear AV500's around the house to extend the main network to the remote viewing areas. PLA's are situational and may not provide the bandwidth needed at all locations -- you have to try it out.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #911 of 996 Old 09-10-2014, 08:10 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,429
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 640 Post(s)
Liked: 714
Quote:
Originally Posted by CptnRandy View Post
Hey all,

I've just gone through another knock-down-drag-em-out fight with U-verse and and seriously sick of the continual bill changes and cost. So once again I'm looking at cutting the cable.

Here's my question for all of you is this: can a Tivo Romio and Tivo Minis with an antenna work for me? I have 6 TVs to connect, need to record multiple programs at the same time, and do it all wirelessly.

From what I'm reading wireless is the weakness for Tivo Minis currently. Any recommendations?
It works fine with the Roamio Basic and OTA. The only issue is the Roamio Basic only has four tuners and a 500 GB hard drive. So you might want to upgrade it. So with six Minis it will work fine, but if you have a bunch of people using those Minis at the same time, then two Roamio Basics and five Minis might be a better solution.

I use a Roamio Basic for OTA alongside my Roamio Pro on FiOS. My Minis have no issue with the Roamio Basic. And in a few seconds I can quickly change my host TiVos if I want. But not really necessary since the Minis can stream from an S4 or S5 on the network and on the same account. So you can watch any show recording or previously recorded. But you need to use the Host TiVo for live TV which of course will use a tuner if available.
aaronwt is offline  
post #912 of 996 Old 09-10-2014, 09:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CptnRandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Westerville, Ohio
Posts: 2,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
It works fine with the Roamio Basic and OTA. The only issue is the Roamio Basic only has four tuners and a 500 GB hard drive. So you might want to upgrade it. So with six Minis it will work fine, but if you have a bunch of people using those Minis at the same time, then two Roamio Basics and five Minis might be a better solution.

I use a Roamio Basic for OTA alongside my Roamio Pro on FiOS. My Minis have no issue with the Roamio Basic. And in a few seconds I can quickly change my host TiVos if I want. But not really necessary since the Minis can stream from an S4 or S5 on the network and on the same account. So you can watch any show recording or previously recorded. But you need to use the Host TiVo for live TV which of course will use a tuner if available.
Thanks all for the replies - very helpful!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Check out a video of my 
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CptnRandy is offline  
post #913 of 996 Old 09-10-2014, 10:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
ncted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
Roamio basic for OTA has 4 tuners and only 3 can be simultaneously allocated to Minis. You might be better served with a pair of Roamio Basics and 4 Minis.

Mini does not work with wireless adapters and requires an ethernet cable (or Moca). You may be able to get away with bridge routers if your wireless is strong and fast enough but I would look into Powerline Adapters instead. I have Netgear AV500's around the house to extend the main network to the remote viewing areas. PLA's are situational and may not provide the bandwidth needed at all locations -- you have to try it out.
Yeah, I would only try wireless bridge routers or PLAs in desperation. Many people have had problems getting Minis to be reliable with Tivos and Minis on different switches. First choice is ethernet, then MoCA, then the more exotic solutions.
ncted is offline  
post #914 of 996 Old 09-10-2014, 10:49 AM
Senior Member
 
TonyB1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Just picked-up my 2nd Mini, and this one is in an orangish box. The other one came in a very different designed box, like the Roamio. Does this denote anything important?

Just found a depiction here:

http://zatznotfunny.com/2014-06/tivo...mio-treatment/

Maybe a different remote?

To play it extra safe, I went back BB and switched Mini's to get the green box one....

Last edited by TonyB1966; 09-10-2014 at 02:17 PM.
TonyB1966 is offline  
post #915 of 996 Old 09-10-2014, 05:45 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,429
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 640 Post(s)
Liked: 714
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyB1966 View Post
Just picked-up my 2nd Mini, and this one is in an orangish box. The other one came in a very different designed box, like the Roamio. Does this denote anything important?

Just found a depiction here:

http://zatznotfunny.com/2014-06/tivo...mio-treatment/

Maybe a different remote?

To play it extra safe, I went back BB and switched Mini's to get the green box one....
The one in orange boxes are the older ones. They changed the packaging earlier this Summer to the green color that I guess matches the Roamio Better. The one I got from Amazon today was in a green box. While the one I got in the SPring, and my two launch Minis were in orange boxes.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #916 of 996 Old 09-11-2014, 09:56 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
I see the on-line price of the Mini has already jumped to correspond with the TiVo offer. BestBuy has it at $150 and Amazon has it at $135. You can search around and find it for under $100 from a couple places but I suspect those prices will be short-lived. I found it at ABT for $88.50 and just ordered one.
Well this may be very short-lived. Although when I ordered it was listed as in-stock, the order confirmation EMAIL sent withing minutes indicated it was back-ordered. Within an hour it was de-listed on the ABT website as being a "discontinued product". By last evening it was back on the website but at $139 -- still back-ordered 2-4 weeks. So it remains to be seen whether or not they will honor my $88.50 order price or force me to cancel the order.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #917 of 996 Old 09-11-2014, 11:30 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,429
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 640 Post(s)
Liked: 714
The Mini I got from amazon for $85 worked. I just entered the TiVo Service Number on the activation page. Then when I checked my account, it showed that I had lifetime Service on the Mini. My cost was $90 after taxes. So $90 for a lifetime Mini is much better than the $250 each I paid for my two launch Minis in early 2013.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #918 of 996 Old 09-11-2014, 11:41 AM
Senior Member
 
TonyB1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Indeed, great deal! With tax in CA, 95.70 here... Both are Lifetime on my account, and I even took a screenshot and saved it, just in case... I don't imagine that would happen.
TonyB1966 is offline  
post #919 of 996 Old 09-11-2014, 02:09 PM
Senior Member
 
kamouflage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I hope everyone got in on this deal while it lasted. Looks like the well is about to dry up.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

PSN ID: javant86

kamouflage is online now  
post #920 of 996 Old 09-11-2014, 03:58 PM
Senior Member
 
MordredKLB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamouflage View Post
I hope everyone got in on this deal while it lasted. Looks like the well is about to dry up.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I totally missed out which sucks because I'm in the market for two in the next week. I guess that's what I get for not reading this forum every day. What was the old cost of the Mini + Lifetime?
MordredKLB is offline  
post #921 of 996 Old 09-11-2014, 04:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
I have a simple wishlist with 2 keywords:
Eagles and NFL.
I also pad the wishlist with 1hr on the backside.

This has recorded every Philadelphia Eagles game on any channel for the last 5 seasons and has the Sunday season opener already queued up in the ToDo list.

I would suggest for you:
Packers and NFL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
Roamio basic for OTA has 4 tuners and only 3 can be simultaneously allocated to Minis. You might be better served with a pair of Roamio Basics and 4 Minis.

Mini does not work with wireless adapters and requires an ethernet cable (or Moca). You may be able to get away with bridge routers if your wireless is strong and fast enough but I would look into Powerline Adapters instead. I have Netgear AV500's around the house to extend the main network to the remote viewing areas. PLA's are situational and may not provide the bandwidth needed at all locations -- you have to try it out.
Does Amazon sell the Netgear 500's? I just bought this: http://www.amazon.com/TP-LINK-TL-PA4...erline+adapter

and this single: http://www.amazon.com/TP-LINK-TL-PA4...3A62FAQRTPPMBA

to connect to two mini's I just bought. But, wondering if I made a mistake.
Warner2Bruce is offline  
post #922 of 996 Old 09-11-2014, 04:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
Aero 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Totowa, NJ
Posts: 636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by MordredKLB View Post
I totally missed out which sucks because I'm in the market for two in the next week. I guess that's what I get for not reading this forum every day. What was the old cost of the Mini + Lifetime?
$85 from amazon or $88 from frys. I got in on 2 from frys and price matched the last mini from local best buy for $88. 3 minis with lifetime for $270!

Now I have to get a roamio but with the new Tivo Roamio Ultra HD announced today with more powerful processor and 4K, going to have to wait and see price and release date.
Aero 1 is online now  
post #923 of 996 Old 09-11-2014, 06:18 PM
Senior Member
 
kamouflage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by MordredKLB View Post
I totally missed out which sucks because I'm in the market for two in the next week. I guess that's what I get for not reading this forum every day. What was the old cost of the Mini + Lifetime?
I want to say the mini was $100 and lifetime was $150 or something crazy like that.

PSN ID: javant86

kamouflage is online now  
post #924 of 996 Old 09-12-2014, 06:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
ncted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner2Bruce View Post
Does Amazon sell the Netgear 500's? I just bought this: http://www.amazon.com/TP-LINK-TL-PA4...erline+adapter

and this single: http://www.amazon.com/TP-LINK-TL-PA4...3A62FAQRTPPMBA

to connect to two mini's I just bought. But, wondering if I made a mistake.
Amazon has a nice return policy. You could see if they work for you, and if not, return them and order something else.
ncted is offline  
post #925 of 996 Old 09-12-2014, 08:20 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aero 1 View Post
$85 from amazon or $88 from frys. I got in on 2 from frys and price matched the last mini from local best buy for $88. 3 minis with lifetime for $270!

Now I have to get a roamio but with the new Tivo Roamio Ultra HD announced today with more powerful processor and 4K, going to have to wait and see price and release date.
According to the TiVo site, the free lifetime offer only extends to Jan 6. If you are going to wait to get a Roamio you should check if you can activate a mini without having a Roamio. If you wait until after Jan 6 to activate you may not get the free lifetime deal.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #926 of 996 Old 09-12-2014, 08:24 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by MordredKLB View Post
I totally missed out which sucks because I'm in the market for two in the next week. I guess that's what I get for not reading this forum every day. What was the old cost of the Mini + Lifetime?
I'm waiting to see if ABT will honor the $88 price I ordered it for. If not, I still want one and the $135 price from Amazon is still better than the old $250 price for mini+lifetime.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #927 of 996 Old 09-12-2014, 08:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
Aero 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Totowa, NJ
Posts: 636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
According to the TiVo site, the free lifetime offer only extends to Jan 6. If you are going to wait to get a Roamio you should check if you can activate a mini without having a Roamio. If you wait until after Jan 6 to activate you may not get the free lifetime deal.
thanks, im aware of the deadline. Im going to wait till i receive the other 2 minis that are on the way before i activate them. im just hedging my bets because ive been doing good so far. just when im about to pull the trigger, they announce some good things. first it was the OTA Roamio announcement which was a bust (i'm OTA only) for not including lifetime and no mini's, then it was the mini sale which i jumped on, then i was about to get an ebay code for substantially reduces Roamio Basic, they announce this Ultra HD model and now i wait till they hopefully release more info about it. going to wait till the holidays hoping they announce and release something or another.

OTA | Netflix | Hulu+ | Amazon Prime | MLB.tv & MLS Live with
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Aero 1 is online now  
post #928 of 996 Old 09-12-2014, 08:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aero 1 View Post
. . . then i was about to get an ebay code for substantially reduces Roamio Basic, they announce this Ultra HD model and now i wait till they hopefully release more info about it. going to wait till the holidays hoping they announce and release something or another.
Do you have some information about an upcoming OTA transition to broadcasting 4K OTA?

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #929 of 996 Old 09-12-2014, 08:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Aero 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Totowa, NJ
Posts: 636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
Do you have some information about an upcoming OTA transition to broadcasting 4K OTA?
no, and i am aware that there will probably wont be any 4k ota broadcasts and if there are, it will be years. If they decide to include ATSC tuners in this, it has a better processor and it will support 4k apps like netflix, amazon, and most likely vudu. It will most likely be able to push and play 4k files and have better support for newly created apps, like the PlexTivo thats being worked on currently. Thats the reason i am interested in it, not the broadcasts.

OTA | Netflix | Hulu+ | Amazon Prime | MLB.tv & MLS Live with
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Aero 1 is online now  
post #930 of 996 Old 09-12-2014, 11:44 AM
Senior Member
 
TonyB1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Have a question for the savvy TiVo users, those who use it for OTA.

What is the best way use the remote control to get to let's say channel 2.1 or 5.1? Right now I'm just selecting channel number 2 or 5, then channel up...
TonyB1966 is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

Tags
Tivo Roamio Dvr , Tivo Roamio Plus Dvr , Tivo Roamio Pro Dvr

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off