TiVo Roamio: Records up to 6 shows simultaneously, 3TB storage, streams. - Page 52 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 90Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1531 of 1670 Old 04-04-2015, 01:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 7,153
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 297 Post(s)
Liked: 164
I don't do editorials. I did miss the intro dance though. Or rather what it says about the testing done by TiVo. Whatever. It's a simple cut & paste from TCF.

http://tivoproduction.force.com/Supp...on-Information

Last edited by JoeKustra; 04-04-2015 at 01:29 PM.
JoeKustra is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1532 of 1670 Old 04-05-2015, 09:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 4,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
I imagine the Plex app is available through the Opera store.
Nobody knows yet, it hasn't shown up (I have 20.4.7 installed). Probably will later on but if it's an Opera app and not on the main app screen it won't be as easy to use.
slowbiscuit is offline  
post #1533 of 1670 Old 04-05-2015, 09:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rick313's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Lone Tree, CO
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mabuttra View Post
I must be the only one who prefers that shows be ungrouped, and not put into folders, since I haven't seen anyone else comment about this.
Mark
You're definitely not the only one. I prefer to watch recordings chronologically as well partly because the beginning of one show is often tacked onto the end of the previous show but also to avoid spoilers. I've tried binge watching particular shows, but then during commercial breaks, I often end up seeing spoilers for other shows, so it's preferrable to me to watch shows one week at a time rather than by title. Having the recordings stored in separate folders by title makes it more difficult to watch shows in the order that they were recorded. Unfortunately, TiVo seems to be determined to drive away loyal customers by taking away useful features like being able to ungroup recordings or download podcasts. I'm not sure why companies feel that they have to alienate their existing cusomers in order to obtain new ones.
Rick313 is offline  
post #1534 of 1670 Old 04-05-2015, 10:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 7,153
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 297 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by mabuttra View Post
I must be the only one who prefers that shows be ungrouped, and not put into folders, since I haven't seen anyone else comment about this.

Mark
Put me down as a "maybe" or "sometimes" on this front. I guess it depends on personal viewing habits. Since my life is very boring, I can usually tell ahead of time what's going to be in a folder and what's not. I have a Premiere that is my movie machine and the Roamio is a daily or weekly machine. So there are seldom folders anyhow, but if a series needs continuity I might save it for later group viewing. Sometimes, like you said, viewing a group can lead to boredom or at least predictability. Sometime I can point to the episode when a series just loses it. I think the groups were made mandatory to protect against the person who, perhaps by accident, sets a One Pass that results in many programs building up and not knowing about the group option. But I don't try to figure out why. It can cause a headache.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #1535 of 1670 Old 04-05-2015, 10:26 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,888
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1447 Post(s)
Liked: 948
I watch recording chronologically, but only by show. It's extremely rare that I have a show cut off on FiOS which is why I only need padding on a few shows(My parents on Comcast need padding on everything since their content is behind by at least 30 seconds on their system). I couldn't imagine not using groups. The list of content is already unwieldy with a 3TB drive in my Roamio Pro. Without groups i would currently have over 400 individual shows to shift through when I want to sit down to watch something. At least with groups it gives it a little organization. If they would have added profiles it would have made things even easier to organize.

53TB unRAID2--38TB unRAID3--33TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #1536 of 1670 Old 04-05-2015, 11:31 AM
Senior Member
 
elphillips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Goodyear AZ.
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 130
My Roamio Plus is only showing SW update of 20.4.6a. Tried a reboot and still the same. Can I expect 20.4.7 sooner or later?
elphillips is online now  
post #1537 of 1670 Old 04-05-2015, 01:32 PM
Senior Member
 
tootal2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: eureka, mo
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by elphillips View Post
My Roamio Plus is only showing SW update of 20.4.6a. Tried a reboot and still the same. Can I expect 20.4.7 sooner or later?
I got it on my tivo roamio basic and my 2 tivo minis. I don't think every gets it at the same time. Look in settings network and see if you have a pending restart
tootal2 is offline  
post #1538 of 1670 Old 04-05-2015, 01:56 PM
Senior Member
 
elphillips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Goodyear AZ.
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Thanks tootal2, no change. Network is solid, hooked up with either-net. I'll wait a few days and then check with CS if no change.
elphillips is online now  
post #1539 of 1670 Old 04-05-2015, 07:25 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,888
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1447 Post(s)
Liked: 948
Quote:
Originally Posted by elphillips View Post
My Roamio Plus is only showing SW update of 20.4.6a. Tried a reboot and still the same. Can I expect 20.4.7 sooner or later?
I got it on six of my seven TiVos a few days ago. No idea why I didn't get it on the seventh TiVo though. Since I signed them all up within five minutes of each other to receive 20.4.7

53TB unRAID2--38TB unRAID3--33TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #1540 of 1670 Old 04-05-2015, 07:55 PM
Senior Member
 
tootal2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: eureka, mo
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I got it on six of my seven TiVos a few days ago. No idea why I didn't get it on the seventh TiVo though. Since I signed them all up within five minutes of each other to receive 20.4.7
Why do you need 7 tivos? I just have 1 tivo roamio and 2 tivo minis and a tivo stream. I do have 1 tivo s2 and 2 tivo HDs but I don't use them anymore
tootal2 is offline  
post #1541 of 1670 Old 04-05-2015, 09:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
qz3fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,196
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by tootal2 View Post
Why do you need 7 tivos? I just have 1 tivo roamio and 2 tivo minis and a tivo stream. I do have 1 tivo s2 and 2 tivo HDs but I don't use them anymore
You can never have enough tuners....
1 Tivo per room I suppose?
qz3fwd is offline  
post #1542 of 1670 Old 04-06-2015, 04:04 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,888
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1447 Post(s)
Liked: 948
Quote:
Originally Posted by tootal2 View Post
Why do you need 7 tivos? I just have 1 tivo roamio and 2 tivo minis and a tivo stream. I do have 1 tivo s2 and 2 tivo HDs but I don't use them anymore
I have four Minis a Roamio Pro on FiOS and a Romaio Basic on OTA. I then have an old Premiere I need to sell sometime. But I guess I really keep it around as a spare in case one of my GFs 2006, Series 3 boxes takes a dump. And I also use the Roamio Basic to take content back and forth to my GFs house.
aaronwt is offline  
post #1543 of 1670 Old 04-06-2015, 07:53 AM
Member
 
southlakedad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by tootal2 View Post
Why do you need 7 tivos? I just have 1 tivo roamio and 2 tivo minis and a tivo stream. I do have 1 tivo s2 and 2 tivo HDs but I don't use them anymore
Seems perfectly reasonable to me... 2 Roamio Pros, 7 Roamio Minis here!
southlakedad is offline  
post #1544 of 1670 Old 04-06-2015, 08:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
eric102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm in the 7 TiVo camp also. A pro, a basic for OTA and 5 mini's. 10 tuners isn't overkill during new season peak primetime.
eric102 is online now  
post #1545 of 1670 Old 04-06-2015, 09:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 11,154
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 986 Post(s)
Liked: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by qz3fwd View Post
You can never have enough tuners....
Tuners are like HDD space and RAM -- there's never too much.

I always laugh when I read some clueless individual proclaim that people using OTA could only possibly need 2 tuners. I make no apologies for being an HD snob and have no use for sub-channels, so despite the large number of "channels" we get OTA, I only have 8 HD-primaries in my favorites list that we actually record from. We record a lot and save a lot for the dry summer months -- especially new series. You never know what you may like or what may get canceled mid-season -- saves wasting time getting invested in a new series that doesn't make it past season 1.

When I put a Mini in the kitchen, which ties up a tuner, I would have been nervous about having only 3 remaining tuners on the Roamio Basic if it were not for the additional 2 tuners in the older TiVo HD that has 12 season passes running on it. I find 6 tuners for OTA just about right.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine


Last edited by Kelson; 04-06-2015 at 09:45 AM.
Kelson is offline  
post #1546 of 1670 Old 04-06-2015, 12:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
qz3fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,196
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
Tuners are like HDD space and RAM -- there's never too much.

I always laugh when I read some clueless individual proclaim that people using OTA could only possibly need 2 tuners. I make no apologies for being an HD snob and have no use for sub-channels, so despite the large number of "channels" we get OTA, I only have 8 HD-primaries in my favorites list that we actually record from. ....
That would be from the ardent DVR+owners who argue to no end that the CM is just as good if not a better DVR compared to a Tivo: r* is one such zealot. :P
Personally I have 3 DVR+'s (2 16GB's & 1 1TB), 4 series 3's, 1 premiere, 1 Roamio Base, 1 Romio top of the line, and a mini.
My tuner/recirder count also includes comcast DVR, mitsubishi HD5000/6000, AVHDD's, DVHS decks, HDHR6, HDHR dual x 4, HDHR prime, tablo 4 tuner, and several DVB-S2 tuning devices....
qz3fwd is offline  
post #1547 of 1670 Old 04-06-2015, 02:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 11,154
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 986 Post(s)
Liked: 619
I would like to get another Roamio Basic to replace the TiVo HD so I'm waiting for the HD to die -- but that seems futile. By the Time the HD dies TiVo will be on to the next model line.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #1548 of 1670 Old 04-06-2015, 02:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
qz3fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,196
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
I would like to get another Roamio Basic to replace the TiVo HD so I'm waiting for the HD to die -- but that seems futile. By the Time the HD dies TiVo will be on to the next model line.
You mean in another 4-5 years????
Tivo seems to work at a glacial pace.
I wonder what their next product will be?
qz3fwd is offline  
post #1549 of 1670 Old 04-06-2015, 06:03 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 11,154
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 986 Post(s)
Liked: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by qz3fwd View Post
You mean in another 4-5 years????
Yes. That is probably how long the HD will last.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #1550 of 1670 Old 04-06-2015, 07:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
I always laugh when I read some clueless individual proclaim that people using OTA could only possibly need 2 tuners.
I have 7 shows that I record and they air on different days and / or different times. Why on earth would my 'clueless' self need more than 2 tuners?

Even with 2-tuners I would never miss a recording. Just because you need more than 2 does not mean that everyone does. I don't watch TV 24/7 and I don't record junk I have no interest in watching.

I watch maybe 2 hours of TV a day on average. Most of that is whatever I have recorded and Netflix & Yahoo Screen shows..

Man some people never stop with the I am god and insulting others attitudes.. I bow to you oh great and mighty tuner have'r.. LOL

Get over it already...

For what it's worth I have a Roamio with 4 tuners...

Last edited by raqball; 04-06-2015 at 07:54 PM.
raqball is offline  
post #1551 of 1670 Old 04-06-2015, 10:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
qz3fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,196
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 105
....grabs the popcorn to watch the show...
qz3fwd is offline  
post #1552 of 1670 Old 04-06-2015, 10:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by qz3fwd View Post
....grabs the popcorn to watch the show...
No show to watch.. Just gets old reading the same OLD and worn out comments from the same people ALL THE TIME...
raqball is offline  
post #1553 of 1670 Old 04-07-2015, 06:05 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 11,154
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 986 Post(s)
Liked: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by qz3fwd View Post
....grabs the popcorn to watch the show...
No show from me -- but I do like popcorn -- especially the kettle corn you get at the county fairs.

There have been many rude and clueless individuals that have appeared and blown through AVS over the years, long before he arrived. You ignore them and their baiting and they lose interest when they are not the center of attention and move on. That is why the ignore list is provided. Mine is populated.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #1554 of 1670 Old 04-07-2015, 06:24 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 11,154
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 986 Post(s)
Liked: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by qz3fwd View Post
Personally I have 3 DVR+'s (2 16GB's & 1 1TB), 4 series 3's, 1 premiere, 1 Roamio Base, 1 Romio top of the line, and a mini.
My tuner/recirder count also includes comcast DVR, mitsubishi HD5000/6000, AVHDD's, DVHS decks, HDHR6, HDHR dual x 4, HDHR prime, tablo 4 tuner, and several DVB-S2 tuning devices....
You do like your toys. I like them too but have very little time these days to fuss with them. I think that is why I like TiVo so much and don't think twice about spending the money for it -- it just works with no effort or attention on my part and provides us with everything we need for HDTV. I set a season pass and it's done for as long as the series lasts on TV. Set it and forget it. With all the things pulling at my limited time I can't imagine having to waste time checking on whether a DVR has the correct time or will record what it is supposed to each week.

Perhaps when I retire. I'll spend the first year working off the wife's honey-do list from the past decade then get down to some serious play time. I have so much waiting for me.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #1555 of 1670 Old 04-07-2015, 09:03 AM
Senior Member
 
calculon68's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
... I like them too but have very little time these days to fuss with them. I think that is why I like TiVo so much and don't think twice about spending the money for it -- it just works with no effort or attention on my part and provides us with everything we need for HDTV.
In a nutshell why I abandoned HTPC, WMC and the HDHR tuners. Between a THD and a Roamio basic I have six tuners- which is more than plenty for OTA.
calculon68 is offline  
post #1556 of 1670 Old 04-07-2015, 09:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Has anyone been able to get Community on Yahoo Screen to update in OnePass?

The last available episode in OnePass is season 6, episode 3. OnePass is now 2 weeks behind as episode 4 was released last Tuesday and episode 5 was released today.

You can go into the Yahoo Screen app and watch them but they do not show in OnePass. House of Cards on Netflix had this same problem when it released the episodes. It took forever and 2 days to show up in OnePass.
raqball is offline  
post #1557 of 1670 Old 04-07-2015, 09:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 11,154
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 986 Post(s)
Liked: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by calculon68 View Post
In a nutshell why I abandoned HTPC, WMC and the HDHR tuners. Between a THD and a Roamio basic I have six tuners- which is more than plenty for OTA.
Last count I have about 35 season passes set up between the Roamio and the TiVo HD. Never have to worry about a recording conflict and never have to worry about the Roamio taking back the tuner being used by the Mini. I could be good with 4 tuners on the Roamio if it wasn't for the Mini.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #1558 of 1670 Old 04-07-2015, 12:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RemyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Stamford, CT
Posts: 4,445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by raqball View Post
Has anyone been able to get Community on Yahoo Screen to update in OnePass?

The last available episode in OnePass is season 6, episode 3. OnePass is now 2 weeks behind as episode 4 was released last Tuesday and episode 5 was released today.

You can go into the Yahoo Screen app and watch them but they do not show in OnePass. House of Cards on Netflix had this same problem when it released the episodes. It took forever and 2 days to show up in OnePass.
Same for me
RemyM is offline  
post #1559 of 1670 Old 04-14-2015, 09:22 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by southlakedad View Post
I'm setting up my first-ever TiVo system, and I've gone all out: purchased two Roamio Pros and seven Minis. I've got the pros and five minis successfully installed, with one important problem.

The minis "see" both pros, but are only able to connect to one of them. I'm concerned about the tuners on that pro getting overly used as I have three kids, and don't want Better Call Saul preempted by Peppa Pig!

When I try to connect the minis to the other pro, I get the V70 error. Any ideas why this is happening, and how it can be fixed? Sorry if it's basic, but TiVo use entirely new to me.
RESOLVED.

I had the same issue as the rest of you. I spend 2 days working on this.

I am a professional AV integrator. I was installing 2 Mini's and one Roamio Plus.

I had a flood of instance issues that lead to this problem.

Let's start off with the basics.

1. You must have each TiVo registered with TiVo. Each TiVo has what's called a TSN. The Roamio is a server. TiVo needs to send a signal to this server that the mini is authorized to work with it.

I spent hours on the phone with various TiVo representatives and nobody could figure this out. I finally got a hold of one guy who has this taken care of in literally 2 minutes. Don't take no for an answer and demand that this has to be done on their end. You may be able to do this on the website. I'm not sure since I was setting this up for someone else.

2. MoCA. MoCA isn't as easy as they play it out to be. MoCA operates slightly outside the digital cable range. Most cable companies/ Low voltage people (like myself) install 5-1000mhz splitters. MoCA needs at least a 5-1500mhz splitter or higher. Thats right, every single splitter in your house will need to be replaced. This includes the one outside your house where the cable comes in. If there is a splitter under 1500mhz in the way of a device, it will cause it not to work.

3. MoCA and Ethernet over CAT5/6.

The house I was installing this system has some locations that are equip with Coax and other locations that only have data connections.

TiVo told me that you can only use MoCA or Ethernet (Over CAT cable). You cannot use both.

Wrong Wrong Wrong. You can absolutely use both. I just did it successfully. Ethernet is a protocol. MoCA just runs ethernet over a coaxial cable with an adapter vs over a CAT5 or 6 cable. They both communicate with your router and are issued an IP address from your router.

4. MoCA Filter.

If you decide to use MoCA, put a MoCA filter on the line that comes in your house. If there is someone else in your neighborhood that is using MoCA, it can disturb your devices. The MoCA filter must be the first thing connected from the line coming from the street going to your house.

5. MoCA adapter.

The Roamio will not bridge the ethernet to MoCA. I'm not sure why they designed it that way but they did. You must purchase an Actiontec MoCA adapter.

6. RG59 Coax.

Silver braid will work (Sometimes) on distances below 150'. This can vary. Digital signals were never designed to run on it.
Copper braid is unreliable. I haven't got it to work correctly in most cases.

7. Power Down.

After I finally got everything talking to each other. It still didn't work.

After you have made your phone call to TiVo to register the TSN's of each Mini. Unplug each device from power. Wait a bit, They say 2 hours. I waited about 15 minutes. Plug the Roamio (Server) in first. After it boots up go to Settings and than Network Settings. Click "Connect to Tivo Service Now". This will refresh your new TSN's from the Mini's into your Roamio and allow them to connect to it.

Plug each Mini in and do the same thing. They both need to be power cycled and connected to the Tivo Service to refresh them.

Recap.

1. Make sure all devices are registered to the host DVR (The Roamio) by calling TiVo and going them the TSN.
2. Know your coaxial infrastructure. Make sure you have the right splitters.
3. Install a MoCA filter on the line coming in from the street.
4. Make sure that all TiVo devices are in the same network.
5. Power all devices down.
6 Power the server on first and "Connect to Tivo Service"
7. Power the Mini's on and do the same thing.

I really hope this saves someone some time.

Good Luck
wyatthimself is offline  
post #1560 of 1670 Old 04-15-2015, 07:46 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,888
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1447 Post(s)
Liked: 948
MoCA is designed to work with a 1GHz splitter. EVen FIOS installed 1Ghz splitters for many, many years for use with MoCA. My Minis on MoCA use a frequency of 1050Mhz which is channel 15 if I remember correctly. With 1Ghz splitters there were zero issues. Although the PHY rate was around 260Mbps to 270Mbps with my four Minis using the 1Ghz splitters. I did change the 1Ghz splitters out to 1.2Ghz splitters and the PHY rates went to 270Mbps to 290Mbps. But in actual use those differences in PHY rates made zero difference.

53TB unRAID2--38TB unRAID3--33TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders

Tags
Tivo Roamio Dvr , Tivo Roamio Plus Dvr , Tivo Roamio Pro Dvr

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off