TiVo Roamio: Records up to 6 shows simultaneously, 3TB storage, streams. - Page 61 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 114Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1801 of 1805 Old Yesterday, 04:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 11,380
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1120 Post(s)
Liked: 689
Quote:
Originally Posted by st_o_p View Post
Not sure if it's the same thing but for a while now my TiVo shows on my season passes episodes that it didn't record. I don't have paid subscriptions at all, and anyway it lists those "fake" episodes on top and when I click on one of them (by mistake) I am prompted to subscribe to a paid service. I find that money trolling and offputting and it's really pi$$ing me off
Like Joe basically said, if it is doing that it is because you have it set up to do it. You need to change the settings and be mindful of the options on your season passes. I have Amazon Prime enabled and it doesn't look for anything on line unless I want it to.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1802 of 1805 Old Yesterday, 04:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 7,341
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 378 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
Like Joe basically said, if it is doing that it is because you have it set up to do it. You need to change the settings and be mindful of the options on your season passes. I have Amazon Prime enabled and it doesn't look for anything on line unless I want it to.
We both use Amazon. Is there any difference between the option for Instant Video and Instant Video (Prime)? I can't see any.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #1803 of 1805 Old Yesterday, 08:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 11,380
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1120 Post(s)
Liked: 689
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
We both use Amazon. Is there any difference between the option for Instant Video and Instant Video (Prime)? I can't see any.
In the service providers box I have only Prime checked. It won't list episodes in a 1-pass that are not Prime. I can search for a pay-for series and it will come up in the search but not in a 1-pass even if I tell it to include rentals.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #1804 of 1805 Old Today, 05:23 AM
Senior Member
 
st_o_p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
Like Joe basically said, if it is doing that it is because you have it set up to do it. You need to change the settings and be mindful of the options on your season passes. I have Amazon Prime enabled and it doesn't look for anything on line unless I want it to.
Nope - I didn't set it up to do anything. I've had the TiVo for years, it keeps updating its software. One day those things appeared out of nowhere. Believe me - I tried to turn them off, and wasn't successful. What's particularly pi$$ing me off is when I have episode recorded on the disk but first in the list I am offered the same episode for pay, and I have to scroll down couple pages to find my recording.
st_o_p is online now  
post #1805 of 1805 Old Today, 06:33 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 11,380
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1120 Post(s)
Liked: 689
Quote:
Originally Posted by st_o_p View Post
Nope - I didn't set it up to do anything. I've had the TiVo for years, it keeps updating its software. One day those things appeared out of nowhere. Believe me - I tried to turn them off, and wasn't successful.
Doesn't sound right. Do you have Premier or Roamio. When is the last time you did a reboot of your TiVo.

When my Roamio's updated their firmware to the 1-pass edition, I found that a number of those services were turned on by default. Once I went into settings/channels/service-providers and turned them all off they were gone and no on-line content ever appeared. I eventually turned on Amazon Prime when we subscribed to Prime and streaming content appeared in my playlist -- but only "free" Prime content and only when I have the 1-Pass set to include on-line content. In order for me to see pay-for content I have to go into settings and check the Amazon Instant Video service (non-Prime, pay-for video). Then they will appear for shows on Amazon that require payment (i.e. Revenge) but again, only if I have the 1-pass set to include streaming content.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders

Tags
Tivo Roamio Dvr , Tivo Roamio Plus Dvr , Tivo Roamio Pro Dvr



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off