TiVo Roamio: Records up to 6 shows simultaneously, 3TB storage, streams. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 25Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 868 Old 08-20-2013, 01:28 AM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,634
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 255
Repeated from Dad1153's post in HOTP:

Technology Notes
New TiVo DVRs seek TV viewers' love
By Mike Snider, USA Today - Aug. 20, 2013

TiVo is flexing its interactive TV muscles again.

Three new Roamio digital video recorders that go on sale today aim to transform home TV viewing by integrating Net video favorites such as Netflix and Amazon into an improved DVR that can record up to six programs simultaneously.

Each new Roamio also streams TV and DVR recordings to Apple iOS and Android tablets and smartphones at home, with out of home viewing due later this year.

"Now, wherever you roam your TiVo Roamio is there. In the next room, in the kitchen, in a hotel room across the world – connecting you right to your living room TV recordings, so you can get them immediately wherever you are," said Tivo president and CEO Tom Rogers in a statement accompanying the new product announcement.

"Moreover, you can get all your regular cable channels, the best DVR features available, all combined with favorite streaming services like Netflix, Hulu and YouTube in one box, using one remote," he said. "Take every box or device out there - Roku, Apple TV, Slingbox, Google TV, your standard cable box - all rolled into one. This is quite simply the best TiVo we have ever made and is truly for people who love TV."

The $199.99 TiVo Roamio records four shows at the same time, storing up to 75 hours of HD programming , while the Roamio Plus ($399.99) records five shows simultaneously and stores 150 hours. The Roamio Pro ($599.99) boasts a 3 Terabyte hard drive, records six shows simultaneously and stores 450 hours of HD content (each requires TiVo's $14.99 monthly DVR service).

In addition to Net video services such as Netflix and Amazon Instant Video, the Roamios also include music services including Spotify and Pandora. And the DVRs have TiVo's popular TV search function and personalization features that will recommend shows to watch -- based on your "Thumbs Up" and "Thumbs Down" votes -- and let you create wish lists of shows to record.

The Roamio DVRs work with digital cable services, as well as Verizon FiOS and HD TV antennas. They are available now on TiVo.com and soon at Best Buy stores. They can also be ordered on BestBuy.com and Amazon.com.

The San Jose, Calif., company was among the pioneers in interactive TV, bringing the first DVR to market in 1999. But competitors caught up and its subscriber base dropped.

However, it's seen subscribers grow over the last year to 3 million worldwide (its peak was 4.4 million in early 2007). In the first quarter of this year, TiVo reported a net loss of $10.3 million. The company has also received hundreds of millions from court victories and settlements in lawsuits filed to protect TiVo-held patents.

TiVo plans a major advertising push for the new Roamio products and the company has also revamped its website.

http://www.usatoday.com/story/tech/personal/2013/08/20/new-tivo-dvrs-add-streaming/2675199/

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 868 Old 08-20-2013, 04:54 AM
Senior Member
 
TimA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I've actually been looking forward to the Series 5 announcement but the $599 price for the Roamio Pro is hard to swallow. I currently use about 50% of my storage on my Premier XL4, so the Roamio Plus may not cut it.

Now I need to decide if I should go with the $599 Pro with another Mini and sell my XL4 and Stream to offset the cost. The other option is to buy the Plus and keep the XL4, but now I have the service cost for two Tivos. Time to break out the spreadsheet.

The 6 tuners are the selling point for me since I plan to to deploy more Tivo Minis around the house. The updated processing speed and built-in stream features are nice, but time will tell if the Apps will be useful. Since the S5 supports the cast button on Netflix and YouTube, now I get the purpose of the $35 Chromecast. I believe the $35 device is a proof of concept. Now that people start getting used to that capability, that feature will be built-in to more and more devices (DVR's, TV's, Bluray Players, and streamer boxes).

One question remains: Are they coming out with a pink colored model? The Juliet? I'm curious about the strange name. A quick Google search shows that Roamio is Hindi for radio.
TimA is offline  
post #3 of 868 Old 08-20-2013, 05:27 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
VisionOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Carrboro, NC
Posts: 11,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 357
The lifetime service plan is still far too high to justify ditching my old Moxi. Not to mention that until these hit the markets and there is real feedback from tuning adapter compatibility it's still a hit or miss proposition for TWC SDV areas. Did the Cisco TA update even allow for 6 streams?


VisionOn is online now  
post #4 of 868 Old 08-20-2013, 06:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 4,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 194
The $200 upcharge to go from 1TB to 3TB (Plus to Pro) is way too much money when 3TB drives are a little more than $100 now. I'm sure someone will get drive copy/expansion working with the S5s so you can put in your own larger drive if you want, so for me the Plus is the way to go.

But my Elite is only a little over a year old, and I never pay full retail so I'll wait for the inevitable upgrade offer or Plus sale price to upgrade. Yeah the Elite is too slow but it is a very reliable DVR and 4 tuners is plenty for me, 6 is just overkill. And it has a 2TB drive to boot.

I really don't understand why Tivo is not supporting Android devices for streaming at release though, nor why they don't have HDMI-CEC built in. It would be nice not to have to point the Tivo's RF remote at the TV for anything but without volume control in CEC you have to.
slowbiscuit is offline  
post #5 of 868 Old 08-20-2013, 06:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,791
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Finally us OTA people will have a choice for a Tivo with more than 2 tuners. "The Roamio DVRs work with digital cable services, as well as Verizon FiOS and HD TV antennas." smile.gif
Sounds like the full lineup will support OTA(digital).
jjeff is offline  
post #6 of 868 Old 08-20-2013, 06:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,812
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 306
Only the base model with 2 tuners has an OTA tuner.

Does anyone know if these new DVR's will download Amazon VOD tv shows like the older models. I really need the file download vs streaming.

Thanks.

65" VT50 / BDT460
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #7 of 868 Old 08-20-2013, 07:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,812
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 306
Answers from chat:



Me: I assume it can handle the 1TB DVR Expander external drive to expand storage?
Tivo: Correct.

Me: Is it like previous models where part of the show is stored on the internal drive and part on the external, so if you lose one drive you lose all the shows? They are not seperate from each other?
Tivo: At the moment it is like that. Although I keep placing requests to change that.

Me: On my S3 and Premiere I used Amazon VOD quite often for tv shows. Those models would actually download the entire HD show as a file from Amazon and put them in your playlist. This is important to me because of slow internet speeds. Does the Roamio actually download the HD Amazon purchase as a file, or does it force you to stream the tv show/movie? I used to set up series pass's with Amazon and the new episode would auto download to the S3 and S4 after midnight when it became available on Amazon.
Tivo: It would still download the show or movie completely. We could not stream from Amazon yet, but hopefully someday.

65" VT50 / BDT460
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #8 of 868 Old 08-20-2013, 07:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
Aero 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Totowa, NJ
Posts: 610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post

Only the base model with 2 tuners has an OTA tuner.

The base model roamio has 4 tuners, not 2. It's the only model that will support OTA, the others don't. Also, with this model, you can't combine OTA and cable tuners like the premiere. When it's set to OTA, it's OTA only. When it's set to cable, it's cable only.

OTA | Netflix | Hulu+ | Amazon Prime | MLB.tv & MLS Live with No Blackouts!
Aero 1 is online now  
post #9 of 868 Old 08-20-2013, 07:38 AM
Senior Member
 
TimA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aero 1 View Post

The base model roamio has 4 tuners, not 2. It's the only model that will support OTA, the others don't. Also, with this model, you can't combine OTA and cable tuners like the premiere. When it's set to OTA, it's OTA only. When it's set to cable, it's cable only.

Another key difference with the base Roamio: It doesn't have the built in streaming. You need an external Tivo Stream.
TimA is offline  
post #10 of 868 Old 08-20-2013, 07:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
Aero 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Totowa, NJ
Posts: 610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimA View Post

Another key difference with the base Roamio: It doesn't have the built in streaming. You need an external Tivo Stream.

or MOCA

OTA | Netflix | Hulu+ | Amazon Prime | MLB.tv & MLS Live with No Blackouts!
Aero 1 is online now  
post #11 of 868 Old 08-20-2013, 07:52 AM
Thread Ender
 
WS65711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Covington, LA OTA & Charter CableCard
Posts: 4,134
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjeff View Post

Finally us OTA people will have a choice for a Tivo with more than 2 tuners. "The Roamio DVRs work with digital cable services, as well as Verizon FiOS and HD TV antennas." smile.gif
Sounds like the full lineup will support OTA(digital).

Sounds like you didn't look at the specs. Only the entry level model supports OTA, and it only incorporates a single RF input. So OTA and Cable users like me are SOL. I'm looking forward to many years of service from my four Premier XL's.




Don't ever make the MISTAKE of buying a Samsung TV..
They consider THIS
normal on a two month old set..
WS65711 is offline  
post #12 of 868 Old 08-20-2013, 07:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
Aero 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Totowa, NJ
Posts: 610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by WS65711 View Post

So OTA and Cable users like me are SOL.

that part right there is where my lifetime'd Hd and 2 Premiere's becomes an attractive resale proposition.

OTA | Netflix | Hulu+ | Amazon Prime | MLB.tv & MLS Live with No Blackouts!
Aero 1 is online now  
post #13 of 868 Old 08-20-2013, 07:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,812
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 306
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aero 1 View Post

The base model roamio has 4 tuners, not 2. It's the only model that will support OTA, the others don't. Also, with this model, you can't combine OTA and cable tuners like the premiere. When it's set to OTA, it's OTA only. When it's set to cable, it's cable only.

Yeah, I goofed on it being 4.

I just ordered it, gonna be perfect for OTA recording and Amazon tv show downloads.

65" VT50 / BDT460
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #14 of 868 Old 08-20-2013, 08:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
Aero 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Totowa, NJ
Posts: 610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post

Yeah, I goofed on it being 4.

I just ordered it, gonna be perfect for OTA recording and Amazon tv show downloads.

Im OTA only also with two premiere's and an HD and a stream. the 2 premiere's are the ones that get used and the HD is regulated to the garage with little use. I also have a kitchen TV with no DVR, just the normal OTA feed. Considering all of that, I am having a hard time justifying upgrading to a Roamio with 3 Minis. Thats a lot of money for something that really is not adding to what i already have. Im hoping for either a holiday package upgrade offer or once amazon carries it to at least save on some shipping. i dont know....

OTA | Netflix | Hulu+ | Amazon Prime | MLB.tv & MLS Live with No Blackouts!
Aero 1 is online now  
post #15 of 868 Old 08-20-2013, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
qz3fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,812
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I am interested in the entry level version for the OTA capability, but I am a bit upset that it is OTA only or cable only.
I also am not too thrilled for the smaller forma factor and curved top-ie slightly odd non standard form factor.

I really do not need another tivo, but may "upgrade" if the cpu provides smooth as glass menu navigation.
I will wait for feedback from users here or on the tivocommunity forum...
qz3fwd is offline  
post #16 of 868 Old 08-20-2013, 09:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aero 1 View Post

The base model roamio has 4 tuners, not 2. It's the only model that will support OTA, the others don't. Also, with this model, you can't combine OTA and cable tuners like the premiere. When it's set to OTA, it's OTA only. When it's set to cable, it's cable only.
This is disappointing to me. I very much like the way the Premiere combines both cable and OTA antenna signals in one box with an integrated menu interface. No A/B switch or changing inputs is needed.
tylerSC is online now  
post #17 of 868 Old 08-20-2013, 09:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
Aero 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Totowa, NJ
Posts: 610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post

This is disappointing to me. I very much like the way the Premiere combines both cable and OTA antenna signals in one box with an integrated menu interface. No A/B switch or changing inputs is needed.

yea, i can see that as an annoyance for people like you, but its a hardware limitation. i remember reading somewhere that its a hardware problem combining the OTA and Cable tuners when you increase them to 4. its not a deal breaker to people like me who are OTA only and see no reason to return to cable in the future.

OTA | Netflix | Hulu+ | Amazon Prime | MLB.tv & MLS Live with No Blackouts!
Aero 1 is online now  
post #18 of 868 Old 08-20-2013, 10:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 4,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimA View Post

Another key difference with the base Roamio: It doesn't have the built in streaming. You need an external Tivo Stream.

They'll give you a free one with the purchase of a base Roamio now, don't know how long this will last.

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/showthread.php?t=507635
slowbiscuit is offline  
post #19 of 868 Old 08-20-2013, 12:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Am I wrong in assuming that all of these models have 1GHz tuners and support H.264 video?
domino92024 is offline  
post #20 of 868 Old 08-20-2013, 12:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 9,952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 177

Ok... for future readers... what's the cost of Roamio and Mini (with Lifetime on each)? My math says $950 and I'm presuming the base model supports the Mini.

 

$200 / $500 - Roamio with Lifetime

$100 / $150 - Mini with Lifetime

$300 / $650 = $950

 

If I was starting from scratch it would be tempting. However, I want easy (movie playback including HD video/audio) so its doesn't offer a single box solution. Best case I could discard one HTPC. Say that's $500 even if I re-purposed it (or sold it) I would have to spend at least another $500 to gain nothing... that I can think of.

 

Although if TiVo handled the TV side I could use OpenELEC (instead of Windows) and a much cheaper box (even hard drive less) for HD playback. If I would gain something (almost anything) I'd find a way to cover the cost... guess I'll keep looking. smile.gif

Charles R is offline  
post #21 of 868 Old 08-20-2013, 02:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post

Ok... for future readers... what's the cost of Roamio and Mini (with Lifetime on each)? My math says $950 and I'm presuming the base model supports the Mini.

 

$200 / $500 - Roamio with Lifetime

$100 / $150 - Mini with Lifetime

$300 / $650 = $950

 

$399.99 with multi-service discount (existing active subscription), or $12.99/mo., per Tivo here (click "FAQs" at top orf page).

wajo is offline  
post #22 of 868 Old 08-20-2013, 03:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,812
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 306
Just got a shipment notify, little earlier than I expected. Hopefully get in here by Monday so I can set it up and start using next week.

65" VT50 / BDT460
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #23 of 868 Old 08-20-2013, 04:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PJO1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11


Free Stream with base model Roamio.
PJO1966 is offline  
post #24 of 868 Old 08-20-2013, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 89

Walmart has the units. Base unit available, others not yet. No discount & no free home shipping. Description doesn't mention OTA but bullet points do say cable OR OTA.

 

http://www.walmart.com/ip/TiVo-TCD840500/27608620

 

Of course, no mention of service cost.

JoeKustra is online now  
post #25 of 868 Old 08-20-2013, 07:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TheRatPatrol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 1,793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post

This is disappointing to me. I very much like the way the Premiere combines both cable and OTA antenna signals in one box with an integrated menu interface. No A/B switch or changing inputs is needed.
I agree, they should have included OTA tuners in all three models, especially the higher priced ones. This way you can combine all of the local subchannels that cable sometimes doesn't offer.
TheRatPatrol is online now  
post #26 of 868 Old 08-21-2013, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BenJF3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Central New York (Syracuse DMA)
Posts: 3,769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aero 1 View Post

The base model roamio has 4 tuners, not 2. It's the only model that will support OTA, the others don't. Also, with this model, you can't combine OTA and cable tuners like the premiere. When it's set to OTA, it's OTA only. When it's set to cable, it's cable only.

Another MASSIVE FAIL by Tivo. OTA on the base model but not above... WHAT WERE THEY THINKING?!?!? Honestly, and not allowing OTA to integrate with Cable? They could have at least gone the satellite route and made an add on dual OTA tuner for those that want one or just have it built in because the cost would still be minimal. They shunned an entire market.
videobruce likes this.

8/30/2013 - Time Warner Liberation Day!
BenJF3 is offline  
post #27 of 868 Old 08-21-2013, 10:49 AM
Member
 
grampy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Central Massachusetts
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ordered a 6 tuner from Weaknees, they have a $40 coupon and free ground shipping
grampy is online now  
post #28 of 868 Old 08-21-2013, 11:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTVChallenged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 8,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by BenJF3 View Post

Another MASSIVE FAIL by Tivo. OTA on the base model but not above... WHAT WERE THEY THINKING?!?!? Honestly, and not allowing OTA to integrate with Cable? They could have at least gone the satellite route and made an add on dual OTA tuner for those that want one or just have it built in because the cost would still be minimal. They shunned an entire market.


OK ... this is just getting silly.

1) Have any of you considered that TiVo probably knows exactly how many customers (historically) that are using both OTA and Cable with their boxes, and how many customers are using either one or the other exclusively? Have any of you considered that they just based their business decisions based solely on those numbers?

2) Even sillier is that most of the people complaining about this have already proven both their ample purchasing abilities *and* their desire to have multiple TiVos and perhaps even other DVRs running in their home - all networked together.

OTOH, I guess it might throw a monkey wrench into some folks plans to "surplus" their (lifetimed) Premiers (et al) on the ebay. wink.gif

Bottom line: I don't see any one forcing us to "upgrade" here, if the Romio doesn't suit, just pass on it ... I'm sure it won't affect TiVo significantly either way. smile.gif

PS: For my part, I'm barely using ~50% of the capability of my base model 2 tuner Premier as it is (in OTA only mode.) YMMV.
HDTVChallenged is offline  
post #29 of 868 Old 08-21-2013, 11:09 AM
Member
 
tknx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would love to buy one, but until Fios starts offering On Demand capabilities to CableCard users, it is pretty much out.

Denon 4520ci | Salk Veracity ST | OSD WPA-650 | Roku 3 | U-turn Orbit turntable | Roomie Remote | Heir Audio 4.A CIEM
tknx is offline  
post #30 of 868 Old 08-21-2013, 11:50 AM
Member
 
grampy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Central Massachusetts
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tknx View Post

I would love to buy one, but until Fios starts offering On Demand capabilities to CableCard users, it is pretty much out.
With six tuners you shouldn't need OnDemand, you should be able to schedule and record everything you want to watch
grampy is online now  
Reply HDTV Recorders

Tags
Tivo Roamio Dvr , Tivo Roamio Plus Dvr , Tivo Roamio Pro Dvr

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off