Philips HDR5710/5750 DVRs, Antenna/Cable, Streaming, Int/Ext HDDs, 33TB Storage - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 619 Old 03-23-2014, 04:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post

So, would it be safe to re-order your list from best to worst as follows?

1. Sony tv tuner
2. iView
3. Philips 5710
4. TiVo Roamio
5. DVR+
6. TiVo Premiere

Yup
apw2607 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 619 Old 03-23-2014, 06:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post

biggrin.gif

A 5750 user just informed me that Vudu streams DD7.1 when available (some movies).

biggrin.gif  

I've tried both the 5750 and 5710 and neither can output Dolby Digital Plus (5.1 or 7.1) from VUDU. They can only output standard Dolby Digital 5.1

Same for Netflix. No Dolby Digital Plus.

The fact that 7.1 Dolby digital plus movies are listed on VUDU doesn't necessarily mean the client can send that to your receiver.

 

Are you using a HDMI v1.3 or later cable, one of the requirements for TrueHD?

wajo is offline  
post #543 of 619 Old 03-23-2014, 07:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post

Are you using a HDMI v1.3 or later cable, one of the requirements for TrueHD?

Yes of course. I have a Oppo 103D and roku 3 and both can output dd+ 7.1 from their VUDU clients to my Denon 4311. I can assure you that neither the 5710 or 5750 output DD+ from their HDMI output. Be interesting to hear what Philips have to say about this since DD+ is plastered all over the unit and box.

Has anyone ever got a firmware update with this box ?
apw2607 is offline  
post #544 of 619 Old 03-23-2014, 08:34 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132

Maybe it's all a big fat lie... by Philips and that other guy who said he got 7.1 from some Vudu movies?

wajo is offline  
post #545 of 619 Old 03-23-2014, 09:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aleron Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,644
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 304
Supporting DD+ on a DVR wouldn't make any sense, since ATSC uses DD exclusively. I doubt Philips would have gone to the trouble of adding DD+ support just for the sake of streaming services, and I doubt most of them supply 7.1 content either, as all TV programs are mixed for 5.1 (to utilise the maximum number of channels supported for DTV).
Aleron Ives is offline  
post #546 of 619 Old 03-23-2014, 09:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleron Ives View Post

Supporting DD+ on a DVR wouldn't make any sense, since ATSC uses DD exclusively. I doubt Philips would have gone to the trouble of adding DD+ support just for the sake of streaming services, and I doubt most of them supply 7.1 content either, as all TV programs are mixed for 5.1 (to utilise the maximum number of channels supported for DTV).

Strange then why the DD+ logo is on the box, on the unit and in the owners manual.
apw2607 is offline  
post #547 of 619 Old 03-23-2014, 11:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aleron Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,644
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 304
Oops, it appears that I'm wrong, at least if you can believe Wikipedia in this instance: DD+ is technically part of the ATSC specification, so I guess as with H.264 and 1080p H.262, it's allowed but never used.
Aleron Ives is offline  
post #548 of 619 Old 03-24-2014, 12:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Can any other 5710 or 5750 owner confirm if they are able to get DD+ bitstream output for Netflix or VUDU ? Wajo? Aleron ?
apw2607 is offline  
post #549 of 619 Old 03-27-2014, 09:59 AM
Member
 
Dizzie2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone else having problems with the << function on their Philips HDR 5750? Mine freezes and then the only function that will work is "stop". When I restart it always goes back to the same place in the program I have recorded. That means I have to >> to get back to where I stopped.

Since I can't go backwards I now have to be careful going forwards past commercials because if I overshoot I cannot go back. I also frequently want to go back to see a good action part again or pick up missed dialog.

I do not stream so the totally obnoxiously placed Netflix and Vudu buttons really piss me off. They are in the way of the important functions I use a lot. I even have to be careful turning the unit on because I keep hitting the Netflix button instead or simultaneously with the power button. This is the worst remote I have ever used.

I also do not like the library of recorded programs is displayed. Four days after receiving the Philips I was so disgusted I purchased another Magnavox (MDR535H) to retire my 515H as a backup. The Philips was going to be my main recorder but I dislike it so much the new Magnavox is primary and the Philips is secondary.

The only good thing I can say about the Philips (for my needs) is it uses a different remote from the Magnavox so I can use both in my rack without having to cover and uncover the sensors.
Dizzie2 is offline  
post #550 of 619 Old 03-27-2014, 02:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 193
REW back or back a set time interval ?

I've found the REW function a bit buggy but the back a set time ...10s or 30s works fine. Multiple presses together allows you to go back in multiples of the default values. Had no issues with resume.

I use a $20 Sony universal remote rather than the provided remote.

I actually really like this DVR.
apw2607 is offline  
post #551 of 619 Old 03-30-2014, 10:15 AM
Newbie
 
mk1964's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anyone have a link to a comparison between ePvision PHD-VRX2 and these Philips units? I tried to search but I didn't find anything. Thank you!
mk1964 is offline  
post #552 of 619 Old 03-30-2014, 11:51 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by mk1964 View Post

Does anyone have a link to a comparison between ePvision PHD-VRX2 and these Philips units? I tried to search but I didn't find anything. Thank you!

 

There's a table put together by Videobruce with both units. The Philips info might not be complete in all areas since it was filled in before we knew some things, and I haven't informed Videobruce of all the nitpicking details that need fixing.

 

I checked the first part of the table and noticed these (so far):

 

Cost new ($) - Still has MSRP not selling prices.

Separate OTA & CATV channel scans - Should be "Both"

 

There may be others I'm not aware of.

wajo is offline  
post #553 of 619 Old 03-30-2014, 12:06 PM
Newbie
 
mk1964's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You guys are great - thank you so much! This is perfect!
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post

There's a table put together by Videobruce with both units. The Philips info might not be complete in all areas since it was filled in before we knew some things, and I haven't informed Videobruce of all the nitpicking details that need fixing.

I checked the first part of the table and noticed these (so far):

Cost new ($) - Still has MSRP not selling prices.
Separate OTA & CATV channel scans - Should be "Both"

There may be others I'm not aware of.
mk1964 is offline  
post #554 of 619 Old 04-20-2014, 07:41 PM
Member
 
jdhdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lynchburg, Va
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did this thread just fall of a cliff, or move somewhere else?
jdhdtv is offline  
post #555 of 619 Old 04-20-2014, 08:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
wajo is offline  
post #556 of 619 Old 04-21-2014, 07:07 AM
Senior Member
 
tomintn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 133
I was wondering myself.

I'm still monitoring the Philips and CM DVR+.

Right now it appears the Philips is a more stable unit. I like the HDD inside of the DVR, and covered by the warranty!

Have a great week!
tomintn is offline  
post #557 of 619 Old 04-22-2014, 07:49 AM
Senior Member
 
Mister B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomintn View Post

I was wondering myself.

I'm still monitoring the Philips and CM DVR+.

I also follow both threads. Possibly there are fewer posts on this unit as it "just works". I would like to have more information on the clock issue as the PSIP time from all of the local stations here is notoriously incorrect. I also see that the 1TB Magnavox DVD/DVR unit is no longer available at Walmart. I hope that means they are planning to carry the HD equipment.
Mister B is offline  
post #558 of 619 Old 04-22-2014, 09:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 193
I've being using mine now for a month or so and it works well. The only issue I've come across is a earlier reported bug whereby during playing a recording, if you attempt to REW back and the show is nearly over (say 10mins left), rather than moving back a few seconds or minutes, the show will skip back to the beginning. The problem has being reported to philips and they said they would address it in a software update.

If you just use skip back - that works fine under all conditions

The only other issue I've had is I've yet to get Dolby digital plus out the thing for VUDU or netflix. Only Dolby digital, despite the logos on the box and in the owners manual.

I've set the clock manually and it's never lost time over the last 4 weeks.

For OTA I would look at the DVR+, but if you are like me and use it with ClearQAM cable it works well.
apw2607 is offline  
post #559 of 619 Old 04-25-2014, 06:08 PM
Member
 
jdhdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lynchburg, Va
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I like the Mags, I am happy with my 515, but the dual tuner of the CM DVR+ is very appealing. Any input a user on these new boxes can give? I'm OTA.
jdhdtv is offline  
post #560 of 619 Old 04-26-2014, 04:01 PM
Member
 
mwg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdhdtv View Post

I like the Mags, I am happy with my 515, but the dual tuner of the CM DVR+ is very appealing. Any input a user on these new boxes can give? I'm OTA.

They have their own thread: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1481183/channel-master-dvr-owners-thread/3280_10#post_24649838

I have been following that thread too and they sound very problematic with a lot of issues that Channel Master needs to fix.
mwg1 is offline  
post #561 of 619 Old 05-14-2014, 04:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
wajo is offline  
post #562 of 619 Old 05-14-2014, 05:40 PM
Newbie
 
Jim19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: South Jersey across from Philly
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[/quote]
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post

biggrin.gif

5710 for $99.99 at NFM!

biggrin.gif

Wajo,

Thanks for the 'heads up' on this!

BTW, Best Buy has reduced the price of the 5750 to $230.98
Jim19 is offline  
post #563 of 619 Old 05-14-2014, 08:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 193
^^ wow
apw2607 is offline  
post #564 of 619 Old 05-15-2014, 07:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 9,969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim19 View Post

BTW, Best Buy has reduced the price of the 5750 to $230.98[/quote]
What has happened to the 5710 at BB.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #565 of 619 Old 05-15-2014, 07:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim19 View Post
 
BTW, Best Buy has reduced the price of the 5750 to $230.98[/quote]
What has happened to the 5710 at BB.

 

Sold out for the 4th or 5th time.

wajo is offline  
post #566 of 619 Old 05-15-2014, 09:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
Pete-N2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I guess I don't understand why NFM is sell them for $99.00. Trying to move inventory?
Pete-N2 is online now  
post #567 of 619 Old 05-15-2014, 09:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete-N2 View Post

I guess I don't understand why NFM is sell them for $99.00. Trying to move inventory?

 

Could be that, or just being true to their motto: "Sell cheap and tell the truth." :D

wajo is offline  
post #568 of 619 Old 05-22-2014, 06:03 PM
Senior Member
 
tomintn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 133
wajo,

I have noticed the Philips HDD DVRS are not on the Philips' website. How do you interpret that?

Have a great weekend!
tomintn is offline  
post #569 of 619 Old 05-22-2014, 06:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
wajo is offline  
post #570 of 619 Old 05-23-2014, 08:05 AM
Senior Member
 
tomintn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post

Still here.

Still $99.99 at NFM.

wajo,

Yes, but no promotional pages, only service?

Thank you!
tomintn is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

Tags
Philips Hdr5710 F7 Digital Video Recorder Black
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off