Philips HDR5710/5750 DVRs, Antenna/Cable, Streaming, Int/Ext HDDs, 33TB Storage - Page 21 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #601 of 622 Old 06-18-2014, 01:46 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,034
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzie2 View Post
Is anybody else having problems with their Philips 5750 locking up when <<. It only seems to happen on a couple of shows on NBC ("The Blacklist" and "Crisis"). It makes me wonder if there is something about how those shows are segmented with respect to programming parcels and advertisements.


Mine will completely freeze and not allow me to use any of the >>, <<, pause, stop, play, next track or previous track functions. All I can do is hit the "title list" button and start playing from the beginning. At which point I can use the "next track" option to get me close to where I got frozen. But I do not dare to try to back up if I go too far.


Is there something wrong with my unit or is it something to do with the broadcast? Any firmware updates?
.
I'm wondering if this might be related.

The only problem I've had with my 5710 is a menu freeze-and-go-to-live-TV if I open the Title List while the DVR is on an analog channel, of which I have many in my cable feed..

If you're also on cable, could it be as simple as that... make sure you're tuner is on a digital channel before playing?

One user did report he had similar problem but using SKIP and REPLAY worked fine, and those buttons can accumulate up to 10 moves at once if you press quickly.
.

Last edited by wajo; 06-19-2014 at 11:43 PM.
wajo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #602 of 622 Old 06-19-2014, 08:06 AM
Member
 
Dizzie2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
wajo, Thanks for the response. I only use an OTA antenna.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post
.
I'm wondering if this might be related.

The only problem I've had with my 5710 is a menu freeze if I open the Title List while the DVR is on an analog channel, of which I have many in my cable feed..

If you're also on cable, could it be as simple as that... make sure you're tuner is on a digital channel before playing?

One user did report he had similar problem but using SKIP and REPLAY worked fine, and those buttons can accumulate up to 10 moves at once if you press quickly.
.
Dizzie2 is offline  
post #603 of 622 Old 06-19-2014, 08:26 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,034
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132


The ~5-week NFM $99.99 sale on the 5710 ended today, 6/19/14.

Price is now $217.99.


wajo is offline  
post #604 of 622 Old 06-20-2014, 05:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post
.
Switch HDMI cables... connect the known-good Mag DVDR HDMI cable to the DVR output... same TV input, only change the device end to the DVR HDMI output
.
Some TVs won't allow Zoom to be used with a 1080p framed picture input for whatever reason ...
apw2607 is offline  
post #605 of 622 Old 06-20-2014, 05:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzie2 View Post
Is anybody else having problems with their Philips 5750 locking up when <<. It only seems to happen on a couple of shows on NBC ("The Blacklist" and "Crisis"). It makes me wonder if there is something about how those shows are segmented with respect to programming parcels and advertisements.


Mine will completely freeze and not allow me to use any of the >>, <<, pause, stop, play, next track or previous track functions. All I can do is hit the "title list" button and start playing from the beginning. At which point I can use the "next track" option to get me close to where I got frozen. But I do not dare to try to back up if I go too far.


Is there something wrong with my unit or is it something to do with the broadcast? Any firmware updates?
There is a known bug with the players regarding REW at least. If you are watching a recorded show and hit REW and the show is nearly over ... say 3/4 played, then the recording can get corrupted.

Symptoms include locking up the player when going back to the title list. Or the recording can never be replayed, or the recording will not resume and start from the beginning.

I went over this bug with Philips and logged it -- they suggested they knew about the issue and were going to address it with a firmware update -- but that was several months ago.

Now I dont use REW, and if I do have to go back I use chapter back or skip back .... but never REW.
apw2607 is offline  
post #606 of 622 Old 06-20-2014, 03:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aleron Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,654
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post
Some TVs won't allow Zoom to be used with a 1080p framed picture input for whatever reason ...
Some TVs refuse to zoom HD at all. An old Sony TV I had the misfortune of using would refuse to allow aspect ratio controls at all in HD, and the only way I could regain control was to use 480p over component.
Aleron Ives is offline  
post #607 of 622 Old 06-21-2014, 08:41 AM
Member
 
jamez68's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Marrero LA.
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post


The ~5-week NFM $99.99 sale on the 5710 ended today, 6/19/14.

Price is now $217.99.


I bought a second one at the sale price with the intent to set it up next to my other and use the second remote code. Has anybody done this with success?

My best friend is my PAL
jamez68 is offline  
post #608 of 622 Old 06-21-2014, 08:54 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,034
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamez68 View Post
I bought a second one at the sale price with the intent to set it up next to my other and use the second remote code. Has anybody done this with success?
Yes, I've done it many times in testing these units.

You can change the code in the 2nd unit's remote as described here.

You'll know you're using the wrong remote if a message appears on 1st press of any button.
wajo is offline  
post #609 of 622 Old 06-21-2014, 09:08 AM
Member
 
jamez68's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Marrero LA.
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post
Yes, I've done it many times in testing these units.

You can change the code in the 2nd unit's remote as described here.

You'll know you're using the wrong remote if a message appears on 1st press of any button.
Thanks Wajo for the info, it will be nice to have 4 OTA record capability on fairly reliable hardware.

My best friend is my PAL
jamez68 is offline  
post #610 of 622 Old 06-21-2014, 12:16 PM
Newbie
 
BirdDog4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post
.
Switch HDMI cables... connect the known-good Mag DVDR HDMI cable to the DVR output... same TV input, only change the device end to the DVR HDMI output
.
I had tried that. Sent the unit back a few days ago. Thanks for input. Saving pennies for a 2nd Magnavox for back-up since my Panasonic died again and I'm not going to replace the drive again after a lifespan of 2 years on the latest.
BirdDog4 is offline  
post #611 of 622 Old 08-03-2014, 05:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,034
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post
There is a known bug with the players regarding REW at least. If you are watching a recorded show and hit REW and the show is nearly over ... say 3/4 played, then the recording can get corrupted.

Symptoms include locking up the player when going back to the title list. Or the recording can never be replayed, or the recording will not resume and start from the beginning.

I went over this bug with Philips and logged it -- they suggested they knew about the issue and were going to address it with a firmware update -- but that was several months ago.

Now I dont use REW, and if I do have to go back I use chapter back or skip back .... but never REW.
Heads-up for cable users: There is a problem with opening the Title List while the DVR is on an analog channel when viewing via HDMI... you have to be on a digital channel before opening the Title List the first time after power-up, as described here (see "Title List Problem?"):

Once you open the Title List while on a digital channel, it works properly while on ANY channel until next power cycle.

Last edited by wajo; 08-03-2014 at 07:21 AM.
wajo is offline  
post #612 of 622 Old 08-08-2014, 08:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So bottom line?

So what is the consensus on this Phillips DVR compared to, say a CM+? A local electronics store has one for sale for, I think, $150. I am only looking for it for recording OTA. My primary PVR will continue to be my Dish one. But for the occasions we lose Dish when it storms we will go to this. This will give us the ability to record, pause, time shift, skip commercials, etc., correct?
matonanjin is offline  
post #613 of 622 Old 08-08-2014, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 9,984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by matonanjin View Post
So what is the consensus on this Phillips DVR compared to, say a CM+? A local electronics store has one for sale for, I think, $150. I am only looking for it for recording OTA. My primary PVR will continue to be my Dish one. But for the occasions we lose Dish when it storms we will go to this. This will give us the ability to record, pause, time shift, skip commercials, etc., correct?
Read the specs. and compare. This is less a DVR and more a digital VCR - single tuner, no live record buffer, manual programming. You can get everything this unit does for OTA with a $40 iView or HomeWorx (plus add your own $60 1TB external HDD).

When it was being cleared out at Nebraska Furniture Mart for $99, it was a good deal in comparison to iView/Homeworx. At $150+, well that is up to you.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine


Last edited by Kelson; 08-08-2014 at 09:34 AM.
Kelson is offline  
post #614 of 622 Old 08-08-2014, 10:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,793
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 86
It kind of depends on what your looking for, the iView has some advantages and the Philips has some.
Price wise the iView wins, the iView is also records in a format that is easily playable on a standard PC, the iView also has unlimited storage ability, just add another USB HDD.
The downside to the iView is it's quirky operation which doesn't always record when it should, true this is a small percentage of the time but if your recordings are very critical I'd probably not suggest the iView(or similar Homeworx).
The Philips has the advantage of a built in HDD, you can begin recording right out of the box. The Philips also has built in WiFi and the ability to go to select streaming websites, not the iView. The Philips is also a more polished product, the iView is cheap and it's menus kind of reflect this.
All in all it boils down to you and what you value most Personally I really like my Tivo and wouldn't want to have to rely on either the iView or Philips for the vast majority of my recordings but for occasional overflow recording either are fine, again it's up to what you value most.
jjeff is offline  
post #615 of 622 Old 08-13-2014, 08:18 PM
Member
 
jamez68's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Marrero LA.
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I bought the Philips when NFM had them for $100. It now replaces my Homeworx which recorded when it felt like it. So far the Philips has worked flawlessly. I would call both boxes digital VCRs and Im fine with that as long as they record when they are supposed to.

My best friend is my PAL
jamez68 is offline  
post #616 of 622 Old 08-13-2014, 09:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
Read the specs. and compare. This is less a DVR and more a digital VCR - single tuner, no live record buffer, manual programming. You can get everything this unit does for OTA with a $40 iView or HomeWorx (plus add your own $60 1TB external HDD).

When it was being cleared out at Nebraska Furniture Mart for $99, it was a good deal in comparison to iView/Homeworx. At $150+, well that is up to you.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamez68 View Post
I bought the Philips when NFM had them for $100. It now replaces my Homeworx which recorded when it felt like it. So far the Philips has worked flawlessly. I would call both boxes digital VCRs and Im fine with that as long as they record when they are supposed to.
You guys are Delaware and Louisiana, respectively. How are you buying from NFM!?!?!
matonanjin is offline  
post #617 of 622 Old 08-13-2014, 09:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 9,984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by matonanjin View Post
You guys are Delaware and Louisiana, respectively. How are you buying from NFM!?!?!
I believe it's called, the Internet?

I've never bought from them but if I wanted to I'd go here:
http://www.nfm.com/default.aspx

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine


Last edited by Kelson; 08-14-2014 at 06:09 AM.
Kelson is offline  
post #618 of 622 Old 08-14-2014, 08:11 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
I believe it's called, the Internet?

I've never bought from them but if I wanted to I'd go here:
http://www.nfm.com/default.aspx
"They have the internet on computers now?" Homer Simpson

With the NFM in my back yard I never really thought of them as having a web presence.
matonanjin is offline  
post #619 of 622 Old 08-14-2014, 07:43 PM
Member
 
jamez68's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Marrero LA.
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by matonanjin View Post
"They have the internet on computers now?" Homer Simpson

With the NFM in my back yard I never really thought of them as having a web presence.
If I hadnt seen the post in this forum I would have never known about NFM. Gotta love the internet!

My best friend is my PAL
jamez68 is offline  
post #620 of 622 Old 08-31-2014, 05:47 PM
Senior Member
 
tomintn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 138
While not competitively priced, I did want wajo and all to know!

http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...sA-Q&gclsrc=ds

Have a great Labor Day!
tomintn is offline  
post #621 of 622 Old 08-31-2014, 06:33 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,034
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomintn View Post
While not competitively priced, I did want wajo and all to know!

http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...sA-Q&gclsrc=ds

Have a great Labor Day!
Thanks... I'll add them to the sellers' list.
wajo is offline  
post #622 of 622 Old 08-31-2014, 07:39 PM
Member
 
jamez68's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Marrero LA.
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomintn View Post
While not competitively priced, I did want wajo and all to know!

http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...sA-Q&gclsrc=ds

Have a great Labor Day!
All I can say to that is "Good Lord thats alotta money!"

My best friend is my PAL
jamez68 is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

Tags
Philips Hdr5710 F7 Digital Video Recorder Black
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off