Philips HDR5710/5750 DVRs, Antenna/Cable, Streaming, Int/Ext HDDs, 33TB Storage - Page 22 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 657 Old 10-02-2014, 11:38 AM - Thread Starter
☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by ALP View Post
Where are most folks buying a 5750 these days? Radio Shack? What are most folks using for add on external HDD?
I can only suspect that most people go to the lowest-cost options: Radio Shack and Amazon, which sell the 5750 for same $219 price (Amazon's "Sold by Amazon" units, not one of their "partners"). Amazon seems to sell theirs' out often and may list several weeks before shipping, but then they suddenly post them as available for shipping now.

On HDDs, I can only point you to my experience using "older" drives, both USB-HDD and flash/thumb.

PHILIPS HD DVRs | *MAG/PHILIPS SD DVDRs* | DVDR/DVR COMPARISONS | POST-DVDR OPTIONS
*If you're logged in, links will only work if your User CP > Edit Options > Number of Posts to Show per Page is set to 30, the default.
wajo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 657 Old 12-01-2014, 11:39 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by ALP View Post
Where are most folks buying a 5750 these days? Radio Shack? What are most folks using for add on external HDD?
I ordered a 5750 today from Radio Shack. Got an extra 10% off the $219 price with a Cyber Monday discount, making the price $198. Free shipping to my local Radio Shack store, too. Best price I've been able to find over the last several weeks. I don't plan on hooking up an external HD since I think 1 TB will be enough. 500 GB was enough on my previous Sony unit.

I was wavering for a while between the 5750 and the Channel Master DVR+ with 1 TB built-in. However, I was leery about the Channel Master's on-screen guide after being burned by Sony when they dropped the on-screen guide on their DVR, thus turning the Sony into a brick with no other way to program it. I was also unable to find a discount on the DVR+ even on this BlackFriday/CyberMonday weekend. This low price on the Philips at Radio Shack set the hook, so I bit. I'm used to programming my Magnavox DVR like a VCR, so I don't see the Philips programming method as a big negative, just making a jump from SD to HD. Mostly I record PBS shows, and I can get a month's worth of program guide on my local station's web site and do most of my programming just once a month.

Thanks to all who posted on this forum. I feel like I now know the 5750 well, even though I haven't gotten my unit yet. Looking forward to a pickup at Radio Shack in the next few days.

Happy Cyber Monday to All.

Carl
brainech is offline  
post #633 of 657 Old 12-16-2014, 09:06 PM
Member
 
dvwannab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NoVA
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Opening & editing .tts files

Has anyone figured out how to (1) open/play recorded .tts files on computer and (2) edit for archiving? I've had the 5750 for 5 days now and tried many tools but so far a frustrating effort. This is important enough for me to possibly return unit and go back to Hauppauge 1212.
dvwannab is offline  
post #634 of 657 Old 12-16-2014, 09:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aleron Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3,376
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 677 Post(s)
Liked: 534
Wasn't it already established that using the recordings outside of the Philips is impossible, due to the use of encryption? The DVR+ uses a slightly odd form of TS, but you can fix the stream with tools like ffmpeg. I thought that no such options were available for the files this DVR creates.
Aleron Ives is offline  
post #635 of 657 Old 12-17-2014, 07:17 AM - Thread Starter
☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvwannab View Post
Has anyone figured out how to (1) open/play recorded .tts files on computer and (2) edit for archiving? I've had the 5750 for 5 days now and tried many tools but so far a frustrating effort. This is important enough for me to possibly return unit and go back to Hauppauge 1212.
Offloading can be done. See this help file for a start... more work is needed in this area to figure things out completely.

Other help files are here.

PHILIPS HD DVRs | *MAG/PHILIPS SD DVDRs* | DVDR/DVR COMPARISONS | POST-DVDR OPTIONS
*If you're logged in, links will only work if your User CP > Edit Options > Number of Posts to Show per Page is set to 30, the default.

Last edited by wajo; 12-17-2014 at 07:23 AM.
wajo is offline  
post #636 of 657 Old 12-17-2014, 08:27 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,752
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 713 Post(s)
Liked: 528
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleron Ives View Post
Wasn't it already established that using the recordings outside of the Philips is impossible, due to the use of encryption? The DVR+ uses a slightly odd form of TS, but you can fix the stream with tools like ffmpeg. I thought that no such options were available for the files this DVR creates.
Yes, that was established early on by one of the first users. There was a screen shot of one of the Philips' info screens that showed SynCrypto was running on the Linux OS to do the encryption. That image seems to have disappeared.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dvwannab View Post
Has anyone figured out how to (1) open/play recorded .tts files on computer and (2) edit for archiving? I've had the 5750 for 5 days now and tried many tools but so far a frustrating effort. This is important enough for me to possibly return unit and go back to Hauppauge 1212.
If archiving the recordings is something important to you, you need to get a different DVR. The DVR+ doesn't protect the recordings and you can easily pull the .ts files off its Ext formatted HDD with a memory stick-booted copy of Ubuntu. You need to run them through ffmpeg if you want to play them as-is, but if you want to edit the commercials, use Video ReDo and when it saves the edited file it makes the corrections needed.

There is also the iView and its clones which save the recordings to Windows formatted HDD's but the capabilities and reliability of the iView matches its cheap price.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #637 of 657 Old 12-17-2014, 04:07 PM
Member
 
dvwannab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NoVA
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Kelson. Looks like the Channel Master is what I am looking for. I already own VideoRedo so that should make a perfect match. Thanks all.
dvwannab is offline  
post #638 of 657 Old 01-29-2015, 05:57 PM
Senior Member
 
tomintn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 663
wajo,

While visiting the Philips website to check on the HD recorder, evidently the previous link I use is now a UK site:

http://www.philips.co.uk/c-m-so/blu-...ry.p-grid-icon

This model had two tuners! Do you think this will work it's way to a US version?

Thanks, wajo!
tomintn is offline  
post #639 of 657 Old 01-29-2015, 08:43 PM - Thread Starter
☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomintn View Post
wajo,

While visiting the Philips website to check on the HD recorder, evidently the previous link I use is now a UK site:

http://www.philips.co.uk/c-m-so/blu-...ry.p-grid-icon

This model had two tuners! Do you think this will work it's way to a US version?
Those models are 2013 or earlier vintage and the Euros always have better stuff than we do, with little or none coming our way... unfortunately.

PHILIPS HD DVRs | *MAG/PHILIPS SD DVDRs* | DVDR/DVR COMPARISONS | POST-DVDR OPTIONS
*If you're logged in, links will only work if your User CP > Edit Options > Number of Posts to Show per Page is set to 30, the default.
wajo is offline  
post #640 of 657 Old 01-29-2015, 09:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomintn View Post
wajo,

While visiting the Philips website to check on the HD recorder, evidently the previous link I use is now a UK site:

http://www.philips.co.uk/c-m-so/blu-...ry.p-grid-icon

This model had two tuners! Do you think this will work it's way to a US version?

Thanks, wajo!
Freeview UK only tuners. No dice in the USA. Uk Uses a totally different OTA broadcast system to the USA, sorry.
apw2607 is offline  
post #641 of 657 Old 02-06-2015, 03:49 PM - Thread Starter
☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 144


Radio Shack has lowered their price on the 5750 to $124.99.


PHILIPS HD DVRs | *MAG/PHILIPS SD DVDRs* | DVDR/DVR COMPARISONS | POST-DVDR OPTIONS
*If you're logged in, links will only work if your User CP > Edit Options > Number of Posts to Show per Page is set to 30, the default.
wajo is offline  
post #642 of 657 Old 02-06-2015, 04:14 PM
Member
 
dleedlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: VA
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks! Ordered one.
dleedlee is online now  
post #643 of 657 Old 02-07-2015, 05:36 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have Philips DVDR 3575H/58 Version 3.06.Could somebody help me.How can I replace a new HDD 500gb to my device.I tried many times apply skip codes.But I didnt succes it.Could you explain step by step enter skip codes.
orsefa is offline  
post #644 of 657 Old 02-07-2015, 08:08 AM - Thread Starter
☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by orsefa View Post
I have Philips DVDR 3575H/58 Version 3.06.Could somebody help me.How can I replace a new HDD 500gb to my device.I tried many times apply skip codes.But I didnt succes it.Could you explain step by step enter skip codes.
Since that DVDR is not for N. A. use (it's PAL video system), SKIP Codes might not work over there.

I did notice in the specs for your unit that you can attach external USB-HDDs, as described here.

PHILIPS HD DVRs | *MAG/PHILIPS SD DVDRs* | DVDR/DVR COMPARISONS | POST-DVDR OPTIONS
*If you're logged in, links will only work if your User CP > Edit Options > Number of Posts to Show per Page is set to 30, the default.
wajo is offline  
post #645 of 657 Old 02-07-2015, 09:13 PM
Senior Member
 
tomintn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 663
I am interested in a 5750 from Radio Shack, but have not purchased on-line from RS. Anybody have experience, and want to share.

Thanks!
tomintn is offline  
post #646 of 657 Old 02-08-2015, 06:01 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 10,071
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 219 Post(s)
Liked: 109
A couple Black Fridays ago RS had a great deal on a cell phone but after driving to a couple local RS's all the stores near me were sold out interestingly enough they still showed in stock online. I ordered it thinking they too may run out before I got mine but low and behold less than a week later it arrived at my door, and free shipping.
A few weeks later the person I purchased the phone for decided they didn't want that model(it was a gift so it hadn't even been opened) so for returning it I was able to just go to the store, no need to return it by the mail. No issues with the return, in fact I got all my money back which I felt a little guilty about since after all it did cost them money to ship it to me but I figured since the only reason I ordered it by mail was because they didn't have the item in stock in the store and I did waste a trip to the store in the first place, I took the full refund.
Of course now that RS has gone bankrupt things could be different but my guess is they'll still do the right thing if you run into problems, which I doubt you will. The 5710 is a decent little HD recorder, overpriced at it's retail price but for a not a lot over $100 I don't see how you could go wrong. Definitely more stable and polished than the $40 iView and clone recorders.

Last edited by jjeff; 02-08-2015 at 06:04 AM.
jjeff is online now  
post #647 of 657 Old 02-08-2015, 07:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,752
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 713 Post(s)
Liked: 528
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomintn View Post
I am interested in a 5750 from Radio Shack, but have not purchased on-line from RS. Anybody have experience, and want to share.
Sold out On-line. They finished liquidating.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #648 of 657 Old 02-08-2015, 12:09 PM
Senior Member
 
tomintn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 663
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
Sold out On-line. They finished liquidating.

Thank you!
tomintn is offline  
post #649 of 657 Old 02-08-2015, 04:31 PM - Thread Starter
☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 144


5750's back in stock at Radio Shack, $124.99!


PHILIPS HD DVRs | *MAG/PHILIPS SD DVDRs* | DVDR/DVR COMPARISONS | POST-DVDR OPTIONS
*If you're logged in, links will only work if your User CP > Edit Options > Number of Posts to Show per Page is set to 30, the default.

Last edited by wajo; 02-10-2015 at 01:40 PM.
wajo is offline  
post #650 of 657 Old 02-08-2015, 07:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 10,071
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 219 Post(s)
Liked: 109
This is getting to be like the Magnavox DVDR thread, in stock, out of stock, in stock
I also like the glowing review on the RS site and lastly, it seems odd how the RS site works when checking local availability. When I put in my zip code and stores within 100 miles it says " There are no available stores within 10 miles of XXXXX zip code" then it displays a list of probably 30 stores, starting at ones within 2 miles of me it also says to "call store" so not sure if they are trying to say there are no stores near me, none near me have it in stock or simply I must call each store to see if they have any 5710's
Anyway anyone interested in one of these should decide ASAP, I'd guess once they are gone they'll be gone for good.
jjeff is online now  
post #651 of 657 Old 02-09-2015, 12:56 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,752
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 713 Post(s)
Liked: 528
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjeff View Post
This is getting to be like the Magnavox DVDR thread, in stock, out of stock, in stock . . .
Anyway anyone interested in one of these should decide ASAP, I'd guess once they are gone they'll be gone for good.
As long as BestBuy keeps trying to sell it for list price, there will continue to be stock.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #652 of 657 Old 02-10-2015, 07:45 AM
Member
 
dleedlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: VA
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by dleedlee View Post
Thanks! Ordered one.
I received a "backordered" notice Sunday, but then this morning I got a confirmation and shipping notice.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jjeff View Post
This is getting to be like the Magnavox DVDR thread, in stock, out of stock, in stock
I also like the glowing review on the RS site and lastly, it seems odd how the RS site works when checking local availability. When I put in my zip code and stores within 100 miles it says " There are no available stores within 10 miles of XXXXX zip code" then it displays a list of probably 30 stores, starting at ones within 2 miles of me it also says to "call store" so not sure if they are trying to say there are no stores near me, none near me have it in stock or simply I must call each store to see if they have any 5710's
Anyway anyone interested in one of these should decide ASAP, I'd guess once they are gone they'll be gone for good.
When I checked my local stores, all but one said 'call store' but one did indicate 'available'. Tempted...
dleedlee is online now  
post #653 of 657 Old 02-11-2015, 08:20 AM
Member
 
dleedlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: VA
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Last night: Radio Shack cancelled my order. :sadface
dleedlee is online now  
post #654 of 657 Old 02-14-2015, 02:15 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Red face Hdd problem

[quote=wajo;31560801]Since that DVDR is not for N. A. use (it's PAL video system), SKIP Codes might not work over there.

I did notice in the specs for your unit that you can attach external USB-HDDs,

As you know I have PHILIPS DVDR3575H/58.
I formatted my HDD as FAT32,It was original HDD(160 GB).But device still is not working properly.When I check HDD capacitiy I am seeing 22 GB recording capacity/ about 54 min.How can I solve this problem.
orsefa is offline  
post #655 of 657 Old Today, 08:34 AM
Member
 
jeajea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Treasure Island, Florida
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just ordered one for store pickup
jeajea is online now  
post #656 of 657 Old Today, 12:43 PM - Thread Starter
☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 144
A few 5750's back in stock at Radio Shack, $124.99.

PHILIPS HD DVRs | *MAG/PHILIPS SD DVDRs* | DVDR/DVR COMPARISONS | POST-DVDR OPTIONS
*If you're logged in, links will only work if your User CP > Edit Options > Number of Posts to Show per Page is set to 30, the default.
wajo is offline  
post #657 of 657 Old Today, 03:24 PM
Senior Member
 
tomintn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 663
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post
A few 5750's back in stock at Radio Shack, $124.99.
wajo,

I communicated with "Tamara" on the Radio Shack site this morning, and it was reported none were available.
tomintn is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

Tags
Philips Hdr5710 F7 Digital Video Recorder Black
Gear in this thread - Hdr5710 by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off