Official Tablo thread - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 35Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 647 Old 08-19-2014, 06:01 PM
Member
 
jamez68's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Marrero LA.
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I would have to agree with Aero 1 that a Tablo can be very expensive.

4 tuner model = $300
500GB HDD = $ 50
ROKU 3 = $100
basic 4.1 tablet = $ 50
lifetime guide = $150
TOTAL $650

Tivo Roamio = $200
lifetime guide = $500
TOTAL $700

Yes I know the Tablo and Roamio is not a true apples to apples comparison due to different features (remote streaming, HDMI outputs, 5.1 stereo, meaning of "lifetime", etc) but for someone like myself who may need to replace a PAL one day all the incidentals add up. I would have to buy everything except a HDD to use a Tablo, so my cost would be $600, or $450 if I wanted to use it old school VCR style.

My best friend is my PAL

Last edited by jamez68; 08-19-2014 at 06:09 PM. Reason: formatting issue
jamez68 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 647 Old 08-19-2014, 06:50 PM
Senior Member
 
TonyB1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamez68 View Post
I would have to agree with Aero 1 that a Tablo can be very expensive.

4 tuner model = $300
500GB HDD = $ 50
ROKU 3 = $100
basic 4.1 tablet = $ 50
lifetime guide = $150
TOTAL $650

Tivo Roamio = $200
lifetime guide = $500
TOTAL $700

Yes I know the Tablo and Roamio is not a true apples to apples comparison due to different features (remote streaming, HDMI outputs, 5.1 stereo, meaning of "lifetime", etc) but for someone like myself who may need to replace a PAL one day all the incidentals add up. I would have to buy everything except a HDD to use a Tablo, so my cost would be $600, or $450 if I wanted to use it old school VCR style.
I plan do some continued DVR "testing" the next 30 days, mostly of that of their tuners, given our challenging location. The Tablo arrives tomorrow... I had the DVR+ about 6 weeks ago. I'm on the brink of ordering a base TiVo Roamio, with discount code (MMA) is 150 bucks now. Also, lifetime now is 400 dollars. I called twice today and was offered that deal. There's a code on the internet too...

So, TiVo Roamio, with Lifetime (on the unit, unlike the Tablo), can be had for $550 (150 + 400). While TiVo Lifetime is tied to the box, more accurately it is tied to the motherboard. If the HD or other components fail, have issues and are fixable, Lifetime continues...

As I understand it, TiVo seems to allow Lifetime transfers to new boxes, for less than a whole new Lifetime subscription. Trying to find-out now...

Either way, I really like what Tablo is doing and if the experimentation goes well (reception-wise and overall experience), I'll be inclined to keep it, possibly in the bedroom, and if TiVo works-out (reception-wise), at the main TV.

EDIT / ADD: Just scored a TiVo Roamio for less than $85 delivered, from Amazon. 170 new, $30 Discover Cashback upon checkout, and a $70 gift card for signing-up for an Amazon Rewards Visa credit card. Swallowing the 400 Lifetime just got a little easier...

Last edited by TonyB1966; Yesterday at 12:25 AM.
TonyB1966 is offline  
post #633 of 647 Old Yesterday, 02:38 PM
Member
 
jamez68's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Marrero LA.
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyB1966 View Post
I plan do some continued DVR "testing" the next 30 days, mostly of that of their tuners, given our challenging location. The Tablo arrives tomorrow... I had the DVR+ about 6 weeks ago. I'm on the brink of ordering a base TiVo Roamio, with discount code (MMA) is 150 bucks now. Also, lifetime now is 400 dollars. I called twice today and was offered that deal. There's a code on the internet too...

So, TiVo Roamio, with Lifetime (on the unit, unlike the Tablo), can be had for $550 (150 + 400). While TiVo Lifetime is tied to the box, more accurately it is tied to the motherboard. If the HD or other components fail, have issues and are fixable, Lifetime continues...

As I understand it, TiVo seems to allow Lifetime transfers to new boxes, for less than a whole new Lifetime subscription. Trying to find-out now...

Either way, I really like what Tablo is doing and if the experimentation goes well (reception-wise and overall experience), I'll be inclined to keep it, possibly in the bedroom, and if TiVo works-out (reception-wise), at the main TV.

EDIT / ADD: Just scored a TiVo Roamio for less than $85 delivered, from Amazon. 170 new, $30 Discover Cashback upon checkout, and a $70 gift card for signing-up for an Amazon Rewards Visa credit card. Swallowing the 400 Lifetime just got a little easier...

So how did you score the $30 Discover cashback? I dont see the offer at Shop Discover and if my math is correct that would be about 17&1/2% cashback bonus.

Yikes! I only get $10 if I sign up for their card!!!

My best friend is my PAL

Last edited by jamez68; Yesterday at 02:45 PM. Reason: double quoting,additions
jamez68 is online now  
post #634 of 647 Old Yesterday, 03:02 PM
Senior Member
 
TonyB1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamez68 View Post
So how did you score the $30 Discover cashback? I dont see the offer at Shop Discover and if my math is correct that would be about 17&1/2% cashback bonus.

Yikes! I only get $10 if I sign up for their card!!!
If you have a Discover Card and use it, you should have CashBack. Amazon ties to it, and I had like 30 bucks to apply, so I did. The Visa deal was 70 dollars, at least for me. It actually seems to be a pretty good card...

Here's how it came-out:

Item Subtotal: $169.99
Shipping & Handling: $9.49
Promotion Applied: -$9.49
Total Before Tax: $169.99
Estimated Tax: $14.87
Reward Points: -$29.93
Gift Certificate/Card: -$70.00
Order Total: $84.93
++++++

Looks like I'm getting the Roamio on Monday. The Tablo just arrived! Sitting here next to me...
TonyB1966 is offline  
post #635 of 647 Old Yesterday, 03:43 PM
Member
 
phughes200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Tony, I would be interested in how the Tablo tuners compare to the Tivo. The tuners on the Tivo Premiere left a lot to be desired. If you find out anymore about transferring a lifetime membership, please post.


Snowcat, thanks for all the posts explaining the pro and cons of this device.
snowcat likes this.
phughes200 is offline  
post #636 of 647 Old Yesterday, 03:58 PM
Member
 
jamez68's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Marrero LA.
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyB1966 View Post
If you have a Discover Card and use it, you should have CashBack. Amazon ties to it, and I had like 30 bucks to apply, so I did. The Visa deal was 70 dollars, at least for me. It actually seems to be a pretty good card...

Here's how it came-out:

Item Subtotal: $169.99
Shipping & Handling: $9.49
Promotion Applied: -$9.49
Total Before Tax: $169.99
Estimated Tax: $14.87
Reward Points: -$29.93
Gift Certificate/Card: -$70.00
Order Total: $84.93
++++++

Looks like I'm getting the Roamio on Monday. The Tablo just arrived! Sitting here next to me...
OK I thought the $30 was a Discover bonus but its actually money you have earned and could have used it for anything but spent it on the Tivo. Thanks for the update and I would also like to know how the Tablo and Tivo tuners compare.

My best friend is my PAL
jamez68 is online now  
post #637 of 647 Old Yesterday, 04:20 PM
Senior Member
 
TonyB1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 18
The cool factor with Tablo is there alright. Wow. I've been watching FOX through Tablo for 5+ minutes already. This is one of the tough ones for us... The DVR+ was challenged to have it for a minute, and that was the best over nearly 2 weeks. Typically, it was non-existent (black screen).

So, although preliminary, the Tablo's tuner looks like a winner! That is huge for me. Even if TiVo kicks butt in other ways, if its tuner is not up to the task, game over, for me at least...

Ok, getting some break-up on the reception, and a re-load, black screen, but it was very brief.

I'll report back on how it's doing, periodically using the TV's tuner for comparo purposes. Thus far, 10 minutes, and I like missed maybe 2 seconds. I provided my TV Fool report earlier. Pretty rough place with nothing in green, and some stations on outskirts of yellow and beyond.

The picture is nice. Kudos to Tablo!

I have no commentary as of yet for actual use of the Tablo. The new 2 TB hard drive is still in the box (shipped with the Tablo). Honestly, if Tablo would have fallen on its face and got zilch on these channels, the USB drive would remain sealed in the box and returned along with the Tablo. Looks like I need to break it out soon...
snowcat likes this.
TonyB1966 is offline  
post #638 of 647 Old Yesterday, 05:31 PM
Newbie
 
Xzyl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamez68 View Post
I would have to agree with Aero 1 that a Tablo can be very expensive.

4 tuner model = $300
500GB HDD = $ 50
ROKU 3 = $100
basic 4.1 tablet = $ 50
lifetime guide = $150
TOTAL $650

Tivo Roamio = $200
lifetime guide = $500
TOTAL $700

Yes I know the Tablo and Roamio is not a true apples to apples comparison due to different features (remote streaming, HDMI outputs, 5.1 stereo, meaning of "lifetime", etc) but for someone like myself who may need to replace a PAL one day all the incidentals add up. I would have to buy everything except a HDD to use a Tablo, so my cost would be $600, or $450 if I wanted to use it old school VCR style.
They are reasonably equivalent enough not unlike comparing iPhones to Android phones of (near) equivalent features and or price.

However I feel I should point that your Tivo price tally does not include the $130 cost of the Tivo stream that would put them closer together.
Xzyl is offline  
post #639 of 647 Old Yesterday, 05:49 PM
Senior Member
 
TonyB1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I want to change the channel so bad, but I also want to see when Tablo's reception will blink on this station (FOX). Over an hour, and rock solid! I'm starting to think that the Tablo tuner is better than that of the TV's. If so, that would be a very pleasant surprise...

So while I'm choosing to not change channels now, as explained above, I can sense what will be needed with the Roku. It seems that one will need to back out of the selected channel, then scroll to the desired live TV channel. Similarly, I think if one wants to record while watching a channel, this too might require backing-out into the Roku live TV channels.

Decided to exit FOX as I'm already impressed with the tuner... Yup, changing channels with the Roku interface is from Live TV. How does one record from Live TV or ideally while watching the program in question? I can see how to record from Guide TVShows, Movies though... I like that the data provided about the program or movie. Would be nice if it also included the channel too...

Changing channels is taking about 15 seconds.
TonyB1966 is offline  
post #640 of 647 Old Yesterday, 11:51 PM
Senior Member
 
TonyB1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xzyl View Post
They are reasonably equivalent enough not unlike comparing iPhones to Android phones of (near) equivalent features and or price.

However I feel I should point that your Tivo price tally does not include the $130 cost of the Tivo stream that would put them closer together.
As I'm familiarizing myself with the features of these two units, TiVo Stream is needed (base model) to even stream locally on the home network? Playing with the Tablo now and I do like this capability on the LAN for sure, and I can imagine times using it away from home too...

if the Roamio can tune well also, I'm contemplating keeping both...
TonyB1966 is offline  
post #641 of 647 Old Today, 04:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
snowcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyB1966 View Post
I want to change the channel so bad, but I also want to see when Tablo's reception will blink on this station (FOX). Over an hour, and rock solid! I'm starting to think that the Tablo tuner is better than that of the TV's. If so, that would be a very pleasant surprise...

So while I'm choosing to not change channels now, as explained above, I can sense what will be needed with the Roku. It seems that one will need to back out of the selected channel, then scroll to the desired live TV channel. Similarly, I think if one wants to record while watching a channel, this too might require backing-out into the Roku live TV channels.

Decided to exit FOX as I'm already impressed with the tuner... Yup, changing channels with the Roku interface is from Live TV. How does one record from Live TV or ideally while watching the program in question? I can see how to record from Guide TVShows, Movies though... I like that the data provided about the program or movie. Would be nice if it also included the channel too...

Changing channels is taking about 15 seconds.
Being able to record from live tv on the Roku is a requested feature. It's easy to do from the web and tablet interfaces, but not so easy on the Roku. On the Roku, you have to exit live tv, go to the shows section, find your show, select the episode, and then hit record. It will start recording at the point you hit record (another requested feature is to record everything that has been buffered already). You can then go back to live tv and watch or go to recorded shows and watch it there.
snowcat is online now  
post #642 of 647 Old Today, 08:28 AM
Member
 
jamez68's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Marrero LA.
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamez68
I would have to agree with Aero 1 that a Tablo can be very expensive.

4 tuner model = $300
500GB HDD = $ 50
ROKU 3 = $100
basic 4.1 tablet = $ 50
lifetime guide = $150
TOTAL $650

Tivo Roamio = $200
lifetime guide = $500
TOTAL $700

Yes I know the Tablo and Roamio is not a true apples to apples comparison due to different features (remote streaming, HDMI outputs, 5.1 stereo, meaning of "lifetime", etc) but for someone like myself who may need to replace a PAL one day all the incidentals add up. I would have to buy everything except a HDD to use a Tablo, so my cost would be $600, or $450 if I wanted to use it old school VCR style.


Quote:
They are reasonably equivalent enough not unlike comparing iPhones to Android phones of (near) equivalent features and or price.

However I feel I should point that your Tivo price tally does not include the $130 cost of the Tivo stream that would put them closer together.
That is a valid point. I was doing the numbers based on looking at the cost of replacing my PAL. The Tablo is a streaming box with the ability to record while Tivo is a recorder with the ability to stream. To me streaming is of no importance, I just want to be able to record shows and play them back easily thru my home theatre setup.

My best friend is my PAL
jamez68 is online now  
post #643 of 647 Old Today, 09:10 AM
Senior Member
 
TonyB1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Thank you snowcat. The Tablo, from inception, at least as I understand it, was designed around the tablet, probably a factor in the name of the company. Also, when I hear the word "tablo", I automatically think of "tabula rasa", Latin for blank or clean slate. I digress...

The Roku integration and interface via the Roku remote is a divergence of sorts from the tablet-centric approach. I and many others welcome that though as it does allow for more control via traditional means. Making use of or leveraging the existing Roku is a smart, fast way for that type of integration. That said, going that route typically presents limitations and dependencies. With what little experience I have with Roku, I don't feel confident that TV channel changes can happen while watching live TV with a channel up or down selection, nor going direct to the desired channel by inputting digits (there are numbered buttons on the Roku remote). It seems that until Roku makes some changes in that respect, that will be the reality of live TV viewing navigation when going through the Roku. Or, if Tablo decides to venture down this path on its own, bypass the the need to use a Roku for remote control / TV engagement, then that would be another way of course...

I'm still of the belief that another Tablo model or future offering might be prudent. Include a simple remote with the essential buttons, all of the tablet views on the big screen, controllable with the remote, and the game has changed. Heck, add an optional HDMI port, and this model lures in many more folks. Such a box could sell for 100 bucks more ($300), I feel.

None if this whining, just thinking or talking out loud. Thanks to snowcat and others, I knew of this stuff beforehand of course...

The streaming is nice. I've been working in the yard or wrenching under the car, and having the iPad there to follow the game is sweet. I watched the news in the bedroom on the iPad last night while the wife slept next to me. Streaming over the LAN and WAN are real pluses, and I think many might not realize it until they experience such flexibility...
TonyB1966 is offline  
post #644 of 647 Old Today, 10:24 AM
Senior Member
 
brg606's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Montgomery, TX
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I don't understand why it takes tablo 15 seconds to tune a channel when the tivo mini takes about 2 seconds. the mini is drawing info from the main roamio unit through ethernet (same as having a roku3 hardwired to tablo).
brg606 is offline  
post #645 of 647 Old Today, 10:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
qz3fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,795
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by brg606 View Post
I don't understand why it takes tablo 15 seconds to tune a channel when the tivo mini takes about 2 seconds. the mini is drawing info from the main roamio unit through ethernet (same as having a roku3 hardwired to tablo).
Apparently Tablo has decided 15 seconds of buffering is required for their device while Tivo concluded 2-3 seconds is adequate?
qz3fwd is online now  
post #646 of 647 Old Today, 10:50 AM
Senior Member
 
TonyB1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I'm getting about the same on the iPad too (approx 15 seconds)...
TonyB1966 is offline  
post #647 of 647 Old Today, 11:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
snowcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by qz3fwd View Post
Apparently Tablo has decided 15 seconds of buffering is required for their device while Tivo concluded 2-3 seconds is adequate?
This is from TabloTv on their forum:

We're always looking at ways to reduce this time. HLS (our streaming protocol) comes in 4 second segments, so that's the absolute minimum we can whittle it down to if we remain with that standard. We could look at doing something a bit different for live TV to enable more of a channel surfing experience but that's still up for debate. Stay tuned!
snowcat is online now  
Reply HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off