Official Tablo thread - Page 26 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 60Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #751 of 764 Old 11-15-2014, 03:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
qz3fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,972
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Hmm-parsing the json responses is time consuming and tedious......haha.
Some of the RPC responses seem to be overly verbose messages.
qz3fwd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #752 of 764 Old 11-16-2014, 06:56 AM
Member
 
superhac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by qz3fwd View Post
Hmm-parsing the json responses is time consuming and tedious......haha.
Some of the RPC responses seem to be overly verbose messages.
That's Web 2.0. No byte packing, no offsets and its all strings. Its only tedious if you do it manually. The libraries do all the transformations for you. Now you know why we have "Big Data". lol

With endless memory, cpu cores, and unlimited bandwidth it doesn't matter more.
superhac is offline  
post #753 of 764 Old 11-16-2014, 07:32 AM
Thread Ender
 
WS65711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Covington, LA OTA & Charter CableCard
Posts: 4,204
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by superhac View Post
That's Web 2.0. No byte packing, no offsets and its all strings. Its only tedious if you do it manually. The libraries do all the transformations for you. Now you know why we have "Big Data". lol

With endless memory, cpu cores, and unlimited bandwidth it doesn't matter more.
"Unlimited bandwidth".. Hmmm, does that come with a Tablo? Maybe I'll buy one after all . . .

Don't ever make the MISTAKE of buying a Samsung TV..
They consider THIS
normal on a two month old set..

It's a shame that in the end TCU's playoff chances all came down to this . . .
WS65711 is offline  
post #754 of 764 Old 11-16-2014, 07:44 AM
Member
 
superhac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by WS65711 View Post
"Unlimited bandwidth".. Hmmm, does that come with a Tablo? Maybe I'll buy one after all . . .
LOL. No. But bandwidth within your house is.... The video streams are binary. So that will save a few bytes.
superhac is offline  
post #755 of 764 Old 11-16-2014, 02:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
qz3fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,972
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by superhac View Post
That's Web 2.0. No byte packing, no offsets and its all strings. Its only tedious if you do it manually. The libraries do all the transformations for you. Now you know why we have "Big Data". lol

With endless memory, cpu cores, and unlimited bandwidth it doesn't matter more.
True it does beat byte packed buffer parsing. Anyhow-I need to learn how to use the json boost spirit library [C++ aka a real programming language ] to decode the json response string messages from the device.

I forgot to ask: are ObjectID's unique across all types or only within object types? I assume unique globally across the system? In other words, is it true that the objectID uniquely identifies an object regardless of type or context?

Last edited by qz3fwd; 11-16-2014 at 06:36 PM.
qz3fwd is offline  
post #756 of 764 Old 11-16-2014, 06:44 PM
Member
 
superhac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by qz3fwd View Post
True it does beat byte packed buffer parsing. Anyhow-I need to learn how to use the json boost spirit library [C++ aka a real programming language ] to decode the json response string messages from the device.
Check out AutoBahn for C++. It will save you a lot of time as it handles the entire WAMP stack.

Quote:
Originally Posted by qz3fwd View Post
I forgot to ask: are ObjectID's unique across all types or only within object types? I assume unique globally across the system? In other words, is it true that the objectID uniquely identifies an object regardless of type or context?
Yep. As far I can see the objectID's are unique across the board.
superhac is offline  
post #757 of 764 Old 11-27-2014, 01:01 PM
Member
 
jamez68's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Marrero LA.
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 18
If anyone is following this forum, Newegg has the four tuner on sale now for $199.99 with free shipping using promo code VGAPBF324. Must be an email subscriber to use the code so sign up and save big. The two tuner is $169.99 - $20 mail-in rebate - $10 using promo code NAFVC10 and visa checkout = $139.99, also with free shipping.





My best friend is my PAL
jamez68 is offline  
post #758 of 764 Old 11-28-2014, 12:34 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello I may be new but I just ordered my tablo and that would be really nice if there was a way to watch the live stream with out having to go thru there site. who ever had that working program could you pass me a link to it or just point out a good one to use that does not require the tablo servers. Also I was wondering is there any ways that some one else could feed the tablo the guide data manually?
Thanks in advanced
Tylerhoot
tylerhoot is offline  
post #759 of 764 Old 12-03-2014, 12:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gireesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: McKinney, TX, USA
Posts: 1,362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does Tablo have a DLNA interface?
gireesh is offline  
post #760 of 764 Old 12-03-2014, 05:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
snowcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 652
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by gireesh View Post
Does Tablo have a DLNA interface?
It does play through Plex on most DLNA devices.
snowcat is offline  
post #761 of 764 Old 12-03-2014, 12:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
qz3fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,972
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by gireesh View Post
Does Tablo have a DLNA interface?
In other words: No the device itself does not seem to expose a DLNA interface to clients.

Last edited by qz3fwd; 12-07-2014 at 11:51 PM.
qz3fwd is offline  
post #762 of 764 Old 12-07-2014, 01:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
qz3fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,972
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 52
I received a 20% off coupon through email overnight for a tablo DVR.
qz3fwd is offline  
post #763 of 764 Unread Today, 09:10 AM
Newbie
 
jimlawrence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hope this will show up as a new post. I'm fairly new to Tablo. I've had a 4 receiver model for a few weeks now. One of the minor things that bugs me is that I'll record new episodes of a program each day but when I go into recordings and click on that program, the most recent episode (which has already finished recording) won't be listed. If I close that list with the X and then open it again, the most recent episode will be there. It happens almost every time and I can't understand why. It's as if an index isn't updated until you look at it twice. This is really directed to the rep trom Tablo but I'm happy to hear from anyone else that can shed light on the issue.
jimlawrence is online now  
post #764 of 764 Unread Today, 09:15 AM
Newbie
 
jimlawrence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Forgive me if the answer to this is already in this thread (I've only read the posts since last August thus far) but I'm one of those people who will always record more programs that I can find time to watch. Therefore, I will fill up my 2 TB hard drive relatively quickly. I know I can just mothball it and plug in a new 2 TB drive and start over but I'd rather save a few bucks by buying a much larger drive (that never gets hooked to the Tablo) and transferring the shows from my 2 TB drive to the larger drive with the idea of copying certain programs back to the active 2 TB drive when I want to watch them. In other words, I'm looking to store unwatched shows on a drive that costs less per TB and want to know if there will be any issues in erasing my 2 TB drive and copying certain shows back to it in the future. Has anyone done this? I'm thinking the Tablo won't find things indexed right if I do this.
jimlawrence is online now  
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off