Official Tablo thread - Page 27 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 66Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #781 of 793 Old 03-03-2015, 06:59 PM
Member
 
BadSchnauzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Edit: the Tablo requires a tuner to create the thumbnails (not the roku).
BadSchnauzer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #782 of 793 Old 04-07-2015, 05:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
snowcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 661
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Tablo now supports Amazon FireTv (both box and stick). The interface looks just like the web/tablet apps. This may be the best way to enjoy the Tablo on a TV (though no thumbnail support yet).

The new Roku app with the same type of updated interface should be out any day now. I have both a Roku3 and a FireTV hooked up my main TV, so I am looking forward to comparing the two.
jnsmith02 likes this.
snowcat is offline  
post #783 of 793 Old 04-08-2015, 07:41 AM
Member
 
Futrader8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdg4486 View Post
I just bought a Tablo last night. Excited to get mine. However, I do have a question. On the channel guide does it label the Channels with their network affiliation or with the stations call letters? Is there a way to change the channel labels to reflect their network affiliation?
It would be nice in future sofware versions if Tablo would add channel logos. It would be more aesthetically pleasing. I believe the Channel Master DVR and some other brands already have this option.
Futrader8 is online now  
post #784 of 793 Old 04-08-2015, 12:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
qz3fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,173
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by Futrader8 View Post
It would be nice in future sofware versions if Tablo would add channel logos. It would be more aesthetically pleasing. I believe the Channel Master DVR and some other brands already have this option.
Heck-the LG LST3410A DVR had channel logos 10+ years ago. Seems like such an easy thing to implement-just download an icon pack as necessary and display in the GUI EPG....
qz3fwd is offline  
post #785 of 793 Old 04-10-2015, 04:43 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: AZ, USA
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 2
iPad Thumbnails

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadSchnauzer View Post
Edit: the Tablo requires a tuner to create the thumbnails (not the roku).
I really love the nails on Roku 3, but would really like to have them on the iPad. Any chance this is in the plans???
jnsmith02 is offline  
post #786 of 793 Old 04-19-2015, 05:16 PM
Member
 
roseha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I tried to look this up but haven't gotten a clear answer: can anyone tell me exactly how the customer receives the program guide for the Tablo? Is is over wifi? I am asking because my Tivo Premiere, which I bought 3 years ago with a lifetime subscription, keeps losing program information even though I spent over an hour with a Tivo rep the other week, and even the Tivo says my network is okay. I just get annoyed having to deal with the added network adapter which maybe is at fault. Would a Tablo work without such a device? And is it correct that it doesn't have to be connected to the television? That might work for me since my TV is nowhere near the router. Thanks
roseha is offline  
post #787 of 793 Old 04-19-2015, 08:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
qz3fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,173
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by roseha View Post
I tried to look this up but haven't gotten a clear answer: can anyone tell me exactly how the customer receives the program guide for the Tablo? Is is over wifi? I am asking because my Tivo Premiere, which I bought 3 years ago with a lifetime subscription, keeps losing program information even though I spent over an hour with a Tivo rep the other week, and even the Tivo says my network is okay. I just get annoyed having to deal with the added network adapter which maybe is at fault. Would a Tablo work without such a device? And is it correct that it doesn't have to be connected to the television? That might work for me since my TV is nowhere near the router. Thanks
the subscription guide data comes through the network connection. if you don't subscribe it will use psip data from the ota atsc broadcast....
qz3fwd is offline  
post #788 of 793 Old 04-20-2015, 01:07 PM
Member
 
roseha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by qz3fwd View Post
the subscription guide data comes through the network connection. if you don't subscribe it will use psip data from the ota atsc broadcast....

Thanks a lot, it does seem easier to use...maybe when the Tivo goes down for good (my listings are currently back) I'll look into it - the streaming from anywhere is certainly a welcome addition.
roseha is offline  
post #789 of 793 Old 04-21-2015, 09:32 AM
Newbie
 
sfensler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just saw that an app for the Apple watch is available. A product for a minimal number of users. But surround sound is still not available. A feature for most Tablo users.

I very much want to cut the cord but this is a deal breaker for me
sfensler is offline  
post #790 of 793 Old 04-21-2015, 09:48 AM
Member
 
Futrader8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfensler View Post
Just saw that an app for the Apple watch is available. A product for a minimal number of users. But surround sound is still not available. A feature for most Tablo users.

I very much want to cut the cord but this is a deal breaker for me
I agree. I really want to give Tablo a try, but i'm not about to fork out several hundred bucks for something that won't even pass through surround sound.
Futrader8 is online now  
post #791 of 793 Old 04-21-2015, 11:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
qz3fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,173
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfensler View Post
Just saw that an app for the Apple watch is available. A product for a minimal number of users. But surround sound is still not available. A feature for most Tablo users.

I very much want to cut the cord but this is a deal breaker for me
i suspect no surround has a lot to do with dolby patent fees.......
qz3fwd is offline  
post #792 of 793 Old 04-22-2015, 04:50 AM
Member
 
Futrader8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by qz3fwd View Post
i suspect no surround has a lot to do with dolby patent fees.......
If a $35 Raspberry Pi can pass through 5.1 DD and even DTS, then a $200 Tablo should at least be able to pass through 5.1 DD.
Futrader8 is online now  
post #793 of 793 Old 04-25-2015, 04:18 PM
Newbie
 
jakline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfensler View Post
Just saw that an app for the Apple watch is available. A product for a minimal number of users. But surround sound is still not available. A feature for most Tablo users.

I very much want to cut the cord but this is a deal breaker for me
I'm as annoyed about the lack of DD5.1 as the next guy (esp. since they told me 2H2014--before they told me they aren't working on it); but I believe the Apple Watch app was an April Fools joke:

www .tablotv. com/blog/introducing-tablos-newest-app-tablo-clock

(Sorry for the "format" of the URL above. I don't have enough posts to include a link.)
jakline is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off