HDD DVR and HDCP problem - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 11-26-2013, 06:43 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
LinR1947's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I connect my new TV to my cable box via HDMI for hi-def, my HDD DVR keeps getting an error about HDCP incompatible port. Any recommendations for hookup?
LinR1947 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 11-26-2013, 08:31 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,079
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 358
Is your "HDD DVR" supplied by the cable company? If it is, you call them to resolve their issue. If not, what is it and how are you connected now going from the cable outlet on the wall. The more details you provide the more likely someone will be able to contribute meaningfully.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 11-26-2013, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,815
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 90

Model number of TV would also be helpful, I believe some computer monitors with HDMI input may not support HDCP.

jjeff is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 11-27-2013, 08:12 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
LinR1947's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's a Magnavox HDD DVR......seems like there is no "handshake" between the DVR and any of the TV's hi-def ports. HDMI doesn't work, co-ax doesn't work, and Red/Green/Blue doesn't work. But connection of RCA cables (R/W/Y) out of DVR to tv seems to work. I don't really care about recording in hi def.....all I want to do is record my network shows so I can fast forward without suffering through those awful commercials.
LinR1947 is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 11-27-2013, 08:23 AM
Senior Member
 
JSUL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 38
It is likely you have a defective box from your cable company....or the cable company has kicked out those inputs, which is bizarre, but known to happen.

You need to get your cable company involved asap.
JSUL is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 11-27-2013, 10:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,079
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by LinR1947 View Post

It's a Magnavox HDD DVR.......
Are you talking about a Magnavox DVD Recorder?

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 11-27-2013, 10:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,815
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 90

I would say it sounds like that.

To the OP, what outputs are you using from your STB to DVDR? and I take it you want to watch both your STB and DVDR via HDMI?

Some STBs will disable other outputs when using HDMI. You should be able to watch both your DVDR and STB via HDMI to your TV, not sure why you'd get the HDCP warning on your TV though...

jjeff is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 11-27-2013, 01:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,079
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjeff View Post

I would say it sounds like that.
If it is then it belongs in the DVD Recorder forum where his problem has probably already been answered half a dozen times already.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 11-27-2013, 02:05 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,671
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 270
LinR1947

As requested, please provide the MAKE AND MODEL NUMBER of all of the devices we're discussing.

I'm afraid you've wasted a day getting information we could have supplied if given this information.

If that's not something you care to do, then I'm afraid I'm going to have to delete this thread.

We're only trying to help.

Make and model of the TV
make and movel of the DVR
Make and model of any other piece of equipment involved here.

Thanks.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #10 of 10 Old 11-28-2013, 06:18 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,070
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Wouldn't this be better suited for this sub-forum?;
http://www.avsforum.com/f/168/hdmi-q-a-the-one-connector-world

At least you can see all the others with similar problems thanks to Hollywood's greed (among others).

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off