Very Weak Signal with RNG110 - Drop Amp Question - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 12-06-2013, 11:56 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
legstrong337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi guys, I hope this is the right forum for this question.

 

I've been having really bad signal issues with my Comcast Cable. I have a RNG110 STB. As far as cabling goes, it's all RG6 and there are no splitters running to the TV. I just installed a Motorola BDA-K4RA drop amp (4-port w/ active return), and there was a clear improvement in the signal, however, the signal is still too weak. There is major pixelation and freezing on some channels on my HDTV. The other ports on the drop amp have terminators on them at the moment, but I will be hooking those up to give three more bedrooms cable TV in the house.

 

These were the readings on the diagnostic screen:

 

Before Drop Amp

Upstream: 38

OOB: -28.1

IB1: -13

 

After Drop Amp

Upstream: 60

OOB: -13.0

IB1: -3.8

 

The signal is still a little too weak. So here is my question: Should I take the cable when it runs into the house, install a 2 way splitter, and then use TWO drop amps. One would be a single port that would go directly to the TV, and the other would cover the rest of the house. The reason I'm thinking this would work is because the TV is at the farthest point in the house, with the cable run being at least 100 feet. I'm hoping that the single port drop amp would amplify the signal more than the 4-port drop amp, and thus give the TV the stronger signal.

 

Current Setup

Cable->Drop Amp (4-port)->TV, terminator, terminator, terminator.

 

Proposed Setup

Cable->2-Way Splitter->Drop Amp (4-port)->Bedroom TV, Bedroom TV, Bedroom TV

 

                         |

                       Drop Amp (1-port)->TV

 

Does this make sense, or do you think it would even work? Or does adding a single port drop amp do the exact same thing as a 4-port?

legstrong337 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 12-07-2013, 06:00 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,693
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 434 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Wrong forum, try here;
http://www.avsforum.com/f/25/hdtv-technical

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 12-08-2013, 06:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,682
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 385 Post(s)
Liked: 122
You don't want a splitter before the amp. That weakens the signal. The amp will serve as an amplified splitter. And you don't need 2 amps. Use one amp and the 4 ports will serve all TVs. If the signal is too weak as you say, then the cable company needs to boost the power of the signal as it enters your house. That is where the problem may be. Then your single 4-port amp should work fine.
tylerSC is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 12-08-2013, 11:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,039
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 371 Post(s)
Liked: 526
Quote:
Originally Posted by legstrong337 View Post

Hi guys, I hope this is the right forum for this question.

I've been having really bad signal issues with my Comcast Cable. I have a RNG110 STB. As far as cabling goes, it's all RG6 and there are no splitters running to the TV. I just installed a Motorola BDA-K4RA drop amp (4-port w/ active return), and there was a clear improvement in the signal, however, the signal is still too weak. There is major pixelation and freezing on some channels on my HDTV. The other ports on the drop amp have terminators on them at the moment, but I will be hooking those up to give three more bedrooms cable TV in the house.

These were the readings on the diagnostic screen:

Before Drop Amp
Upstream: 38
OOB: -28.1
IB1: -13

After Drop Amp
Upstream: 60
OOB: -13.0
IB1: -3.8

The signal is still a little too weak. So here is my question: Should I take the cable when it runs into the house, install a 2 way splitter, and then use TWO drop amps. One would be a single port that would go directly to the TV, and the other would cover the rest of the house. The reason I'm thinking this would work is because the TV is at the farthest point in the house, with the cable run being at least 100 feet. I'm hoping that the single port drop amp would amplify the signal more than the 4-port drop amp, and thus give the TV the stronger signal.

Current Setup
Cable->Drop Amp (4-port)->TV, terminator, terminator, terminator.

Proposed Setup
Cable->2-Way Splitter->Drop Amp (4-port)->Bedroom TV, Bedroom TV, Bedroom TV

                         |
                       Drop Amp (1-port)->TV

Does this make sense, or do you think it would even work? Or does adding a single port drop amp do the exact same thing as a 4-port?
Actually the only thing that would make sense in your situation would be to have the cable guy out to fix it. Odds are if your signal level is that piss-poor you've also got bad signal to noise and no amplifier will correct that.
olyteddy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off