Is this my TiVo's problem or my Cable Provider? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 01-04-2014, 01:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tanglin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: RSM, CA
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone suggest the likely place to point a finger, or something to do to determine where to do so...

My TiVo (Premier XL4), is connected to my cable provider (Cox, Orange County) via a tuning adapter. On live TV, on only 2 channels I can determine (1054/1057) the video cracks up and is unwatchable.

I checked the TiVo diagnostics and 1054 for example was on tuner 3. The signal varies from 75-78% and 0% (nothing in between), and the 0% stays there for a few seconds and it returns back up. On the other tuners their channels seem to lock OK to 75% or thereabouts.

Cox's initial supposition is that it's a TiVo problem, but I am not sure.


Thanks!

--
Keith
tanglin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 01-06-2014, 05:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
bidger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Elmira, NY
Posts: 844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Keith, when you call for assistance are you calling 1-877-820-8202 or your local office? I believe the number I mention is their national CableCard support number so they would be more helpful than the local office for issues like this. Also, are these channels on demand or PPV? Finally, have you called TiVo about the issue?
bidger is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 01-07-2014, 04:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tanglin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: RSM, CA
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was calling the local office (Cox OC).

The channels are part of the basic digital package, not PPV/Demand. They seem to have deteriorated since Cox gave the modem a hit.

I have not tried calling TiVo yet, wasn't sure if it was their problem or not.

Thanks!

--
Keith
tanglin is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 01-07-2014, 06:30 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,546
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1282 Post(s)
Liked: 644
Those signals aren't that great. I think the problem lies with your service, not the TiVo. Do you have any other cable boxes in the house that also have this issue?
mdavej is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 01-07-2014, 06:47 AM
Thread Ender
 
WS65711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Covington, LA OTA & Charter CableCard
Posts: 4,537
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by tanglin View Post


Cox's initial supposition is that it's a TiVo problem, but I am not sure.

If the problem is "yours" it's more likely a bad/poor coax than the TiVo itself. If you have other tuners that work fine, try changing the coax or moving the TiVo temporarily to a different TV location. In my personal situation, I always find that the Tuning Adapter reduces the signal to the TiVo by a dB or two. If your signal level is borderline to start with, that can be a killer...

I believe it's time to Overthrow VerticalScope..
and Bring Back Huddler!

It's a shame that in the end TCU's playoff chances all came down to this . . .

Blu-rays & DVD's
WS65711 is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 01-07-2014, 07:06 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,546
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1282 Post(s)
Liked: 644
Good point about the TA. I have to split before my Moto TA. If I go thru it, the signal takes a huge hit. I think Cisco TA's aren't quite as bad.
mdavej is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 01-07-2014, 08:09 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tanglin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: RSM, CA
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

Those signals aren't that great. I think the problem lies with your service, not the TiVo. Do you have any other cable boxes in the house that also have this issue?

No, just the TA and TiVo. I have other TVs but they don't use digital (except QAM) and those channels are not a part of this.

--
Keith
tanglin is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 01-07-2014, 08:10 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tanglin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: RSM, CA
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WS65711 View Post

If the problem is "yours" it's more likely a bad/poor coax than the TiVo itself. If you have other tuners that work fine, try changing the coax or moving the TiVo temporarily to a different TV location. In my personal situation, I always find that the Tuning Adapter reduces the signal to the TiVo by a dB or two. If your signal level is borderline to start with, that can be a killer...

I can't recall exactly but I am thinking I am getting 27-30 dB. I'll check.

--
Keith
tanglin is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 01-07-2014, 08:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,546
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1282 Post(s)
Liked: 644
That's fairly low. I get close to 37dB. Just a 3dB drop is a 50% loss.
mdavej is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off