Want to help my dad record his shows & movies (Comcast, Hauppage?) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 01-10-2014, 11:43 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Total noob, but you've got to start somewhere :)

I want to help my dad out for his birthday. For forever, he has enjoyed recording shows and movies from cable on his DVD recorder. I don't think he even watches them often, it's more about the fun of recording stuff and having it there if he wants. Recording just makes him happy, I can't really explain it. Comcast gave him a new box and now a lot of the stuff he wants to record is blocked for copy protection. He also has about 2000 DVD-Rs with no organization.

He likes to record stuff from the cooking channel, AMC, news, movies, and shows from premium channels like Starz. He hates DVR and won't use it.

I thought this might be a good opportunity to ditch the DVD recorder and physical media, and get him set up with a computer based system, where he can organize and actually enjoy his collection. We happen to have a spare computer in the garage that we could dedicate to media recording. It's a desktop with space for a lot of large capacity drives. Based on a quick web search, the Hauppage HD PVR looks like a nice plug and go solution for recording from the Comcast box into the computer.

Does anyone have any experience with this setup and Comcast copy protection? Will he have the same problems with the Hauppage as the current DVD recorder?

I'd also be grateful if anyone has a better solution or can point me toward a basic guide to getting started with this stuff. Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 01-10-2014, 02:12 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 323