where is the clock signal coming from ? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 01-27-2014, 01:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
joecass's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have two Sony DHGs hooked up to OTA and QAM cable. Both lock up about once a week, I just pull the plug for a few seconds and they come back to life. However, at first there is no clock showing on the front panel, but after they boot up, a clock (incorrect) does appear. I'm wondering where this signal is coming from. There is no longer any analog signal on my cable line, and TV Guide disappeared at the beginning of 2013.
Every time the lockups occur, the time is set back several hours. I'm not concerned with having the correct time or date (both think it's still 2013), I'm just wondering how they get a clock signal at all. Any explanantions ?
joecass is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 01-27-2014, 10:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by joecass View Post

I have two Sony DHGs hooked up to OTA and QAM cable. Both lock up about once a week, I just pull the plug for a few seconds and they come back to life. However, at first there is no clock showing on the front panel, but after they boot up, a clock (incorrect) does appear. I'm wondering where this signal is coming from. There is no longer any analog signal on my cable line, and TV Guide disappeared at the beginning of 2013.
Every time the lockups occur, the time is set back several hours. I'm not concerned with having the correct time or date (both think it's still 2013), I'm just wondering how they get a clock signal at all. Any explanantions ?

Depends on the cable system. Cox sends their time data along with the IPG data packets.
domino92024 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 01-31-2014, 06:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,584
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by joecass View Post

I have two Sony DHGs hooked up to OTA and QAM cable. Both lock up about once a week, I just pull the plug for a few seconds and they come back to life. However, at first there is no clock showing on the front panel, but after they boot up, a clock (incorrect) does appear. I'm wondering where this signal is coming from. There is no longer any analog signal on my cable line, and TV Guide disappeared at the beginning of 2013.
Every time the lockups occur, the time is set back several hours. I'm not concerned with having the correct time or date (both think it's still 2013), I'm just wondering how they get a clock signal at all. Any explanantions ?


Set your zipcode to 00000. Ask questions in the Sony DHG thread. People still visit there.

 

BTW, they DON'T get a clock signal. You have what's inside the unit.

JoeKustra is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 01-31-2014, 01:50 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
joecass's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, I thought I was posting in the Sony DHG thread. Excuse me ! Your reply didn't answer the question though, and I'm not setting the zip code to 0000, but thanks anyway.
joecass is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off