DVR with multiple inputs - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 39 Old 02-10-2014, 06:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,268
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2036 Post(s)
Liked: 917
This thread, I gather, is all about saving money. A cable DVR is probably around $20/month. Not sure what used Tivo's are going for, but a new Roamio is $600 plus $500 for lifetime for a total of $1100. A DVD/HDD recorder is around $250. A cable card tuner is around $100, assuming you can use it in a computer you already have. So the payback period on Tivo is 4.5 years, DVD recorder 1 year and cable card HTPC 5 months. Even if you have to spend another $300 for a brand new PC, bang for your buck is by far the biggest with HTPC. Since I've never seen anything On Demand worth watching, it's no big loss for me. I just record whatever I want to watch or stream it online. Once you have a DVR, your need for On Demand will likely drop to zero as well.

If you're willing to consider a different service, like satellite, you can save even more, especially in the first 2 years, during which your DVR is essentially free. Switch providers every 2 years, and you can keep the savings going indefinitely.

BTW, like a 6 tuner Tivo, any 6 tuner cable card tuner can get 6 channels with a single card as Kelson said. Just buy a single device with the number of tuners you need rather than multiple devices with only a few tuners.

In my system, I have a 4 tuner device in my PC that serves all 5 TV's (and several other PC's, laptops, tablets and phones) in my home for a single $2/month cable card fee. That would cost me $40-$50 if I leased my DVRs and boxes from the cable company. Tivo lifetimes for that many boxes would cost a fortune, with a payback many years down the road. So I couldn't even entertain that option at all.
mdavej is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 39 Old 02-10-2014, 07:28 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 12,608
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1844 Post(s)
Liked: 1084
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

Not sure what used Tivo's are going for, but a new Roamio is $600 plus $500 for lifetime for a total of $1100.
I don't know where you are getting that $600 number from for a TiVo box but wherever it is, I wouldn't shop there.
A 4-tuner Roamio basic is $150.
Even the 6-tuner Roamio Pro is like $535 on Amazon.

I can see that you like cable card tuners and I don't have a problem with using a PC as a DVR -- I did it myself for a while until I bought a Roamio.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #33 of 39 Old 02-10-2014, 08:13 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jimlau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 11
took the plunge. bought a used Tivo 4 premeire with lifetime for $300. I really need the Comcast on-demand. plus, if I want to change sometime in the future, I can re-sell this dvr with the lifetime membership.

thanks for all the help. I understand most of it. wink.gif
jimlau is offline  
post #34 of 39 Old 02-10-2014, 09:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 5,021
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 557
You got a good deal on that Premiere 4 but understand that only about half of Comcast's footprint have the OnDemand app enabled for Tivos (they recently announced that they were going to add more areas after they took a break last year). If you're in the lucky half you'll get it otherwise you'll need to rent a separate box from them to get VOD.
slowbiscuit is offline  
post #35 of 39 Old 02-10-2014, 09:28 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jimlau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowbiscuit View Post

You got a good deal on that Premiere 4 but understand that only about half of Comcast's footprint have the OnDemand app enabled for Tivos (they recently announced that they were going to add more areas after they took a break last year). If you're in the lucky half you'll get it otherwise you'll need to rent a separate box from them to get VOD.

it's good to go here.
jimlau is offline  
post #36 of 39 Old 02-10-2014, 10:33 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,268
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2036 Post(s)
Liked: 917
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post

I don't know where you are getting that $600 number from for a TiVo box but wherever it is, I wouldn't shop there.
A 4-tuner Roamio basic is $150.
Even the 6-tuner Roamio Pro is like $535 on Amazon.

I can see that you like cable card tuners and I don't have a problem with using a PC as a DVR -- I did it myself for a while until I bought a Roamio.
Moot point now, but here's where I got pricing: http://support.tivo.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/573

I'd dump my HTPC in a heartbeat if I good replace my 5 TV system with Tivos any cheaper, but I can't. Sounds like a great option for my parents though. I'll have to keep an eye out for a deal like Jim found. I had no idea they were so cheap now.
mdavej is offline  
post #37 of 39 Old 02-11-2014, 06:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 5,021
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 557
Used 4-tuner Premieres with lifetime are a very good deal on fleabay now, a lot of folks have upgraded to Roamio. But yeah with a 5 TV house you're going to end up way cheaper with an HTPC setup.
slowbiscuit is offline  
post #38 of 39 Old 01-09-2016, 07:00 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Simple multi-HDMI input DVR solution

I have several video sources: OTA HD TV antenna, a European VoIP TV STB, Roku, and AppleTV. Sometimes, I'd like to record for later watching some of this programming. All (except the OTA HD TV) have HDMI outputs. So, I'd like to find a good DVR device that has multiple HDMI INPUTS, as well as a single HDMI output (to the TV monitor).

I don't use Comcast for anything other than high speed Internet.

Thank you!
longshadows is offline  
post #39 of 39 Old 01-09-2016, 12:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 11,070
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 619 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Kind of a crazy price but for the most part it does what you want:
http://www.amazon.com/JF-HDR-108-blu...=hdmi+recorder
I believe if you search around you'll find some <$400 that record HDMI and to record OTA a $40 iView with HDMI output would work. Note the iView can record itself with when you attach a USB HDD or you could just feed it via HDMI to a recorder like the one I linked.
I believe in Europe or for sure Australia they have such HDMI input recorders with a built in HD tuner but the tuner won't work with our ATSC standard
I'd search Amazon or others for "hdmi recorders" and see what you get.
Note cheaper models seem to have only one HDMI input, I suppose you could get a 4 or 5 input HDMI switcher and feed the output to a single input HDMI recorder.
jjeff is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off