Multiple DXC3200-M's in basement, how do I change channels independently? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 02-06-2014, 07:05 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jaihawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Hawk's Nest
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm trying to do some planning for hosting March Madness in my basement. I have 4 DCX3200-M boxes hooked up to 4 different tv's in my basement. Unfortunately, right now when I use a remote to change the channel, it changes it on all of the boxes. Is there any way for me to set the boxes up so that I can control each one independently?
jaihawk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 02-08-2014, 05:11 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,906
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 314
Probably not. Best advice I can offer is to walk up to each one point-blank and change that way. Might need to cup your hand around the end of the remote so the other boxes don't "see" it. Of course, once you have each one set to each of the different MM channels, you can just leave it.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 02-14-2014, 12:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,537
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 754 Post(s)
Liked: 484
You need a remote and base with addressable IR. There are several options including Harmony, Xantech, Next Generation and URC. Otherwise, you'll just have to spread the boxes out and angle them away from each other as much as you can.

If you would consider dumping cable, both DirecTV and Dish have addressable boxes. If want to keep cable, you can simply replace all your boxes with a cable card tuner in Windows Media Center and run 3 extenders all set to unique addresses. I don't know if Tivo has addressable boxes or not, but that's another option. At least with the Windows Media Center option, you save a lot of money in the long run since there are no DVR or box fees, but the upfront cost for all the equipment is a little steep ($100-$200 for a tuner, and $100 for each of your 3 other extenders).
mdavej is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off