Modems and Tivo - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 02-11-2014, 04:29 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jimlau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have Comcast cable going into TiVo. I also have a verizon modem for my internet (DSL).

Out of the modem come 2 ethernet cords - 1 to my PC and 1 to my Tivo. if I want to use Tivo Desktop, how does the output of Tivo (the shows) get to my computer? can the same Ethernet cable coming from my modem in to TiVo also carry out from TiVo to my modem (then from the modem to my computer) the shows I want to see on my computer? or do I need a direct line from the TiVo to the computer?

not sure how modems and networks and such work.

thanks.
jimlau is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 02-12-2014, 09:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,555
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 764 Post(s)
Liked: 486
Since both your Tivo and PC are already on your local network, all PC applications, including Desktop should just work.
mdavej is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 02-12-2014, 12:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimlau View Post

I have Comcast cable going into TiVo. I also have a verizon modem for my internet (DSL).

not sure how modems and networks and such work.

thanks.

What is the model of your DSL modem? If you swap connections do both devices still connect to the internet? What version of windows/TiVo?

JoeKustra is online now  
post #4 of 5 Old 02-12-2014, 02:50 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jimlau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TiVo is on its way, so will experiment when it arrives.

thanks.
jimlau is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 02-12-2014, 02:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimlau View Post

TiVo is on its way, so will experiment when it arrives.

thanks.


You will get better help on the proper TiVo forum.

JoeKustra is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off