Caution when powering down the DVR+ - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 04-22-2014, 03:25 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Roger Pratt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

  I powered down my DVR+ to move it. When I reconnected it said the HDD had been disconnected, reconnect and push continue. I did, now i am stuck at the grinding gears. Tried a few things to get it to boot, no luck.

  Contacted CM, have to return it. Was told there is a bug in the software. You have to delete everything in the you have scheduled to record if you want to power down the unit. They said this will be corrected in the next update.

  Would have been nice to know about this little problem! I ordered my DVR+ from CM seems like an email could have been sent to the purchasers.

  All in all I have been happy with the device. The guide information could stand improvement, but that goes for all the guide data from all sources. It seems like sticking to the schedule is a thing of the past.

Roger Pratt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 04-25-2014, 08:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dattier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago IL, Northwest Side
Posts: 2,936
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Does the same thing happen if you experience a power outage?
dattier is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 04-25-2014, 11:27 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Roger Pratt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I am going to contact CM when I get my DVR+ back and get more details on this problem. I will post anything I find out.

Roger Pratt is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 05-01-2014, 09:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bsprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: On the Road
Posts: 3,033
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 100
I turn mine off about once a week. It is in a motorhome and I change locations about that often.
bsprague is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 07-15-2014, 06:41 AM
Senior Member
 
dervari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
If it's running a flavor of Linux, I'm guessing just powering it off can cause filesystem or database (MySQL?) corruption in certain instances.
dervari is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 07-15-2014, 09:12 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,467
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 539 Post(s)
Liked: 464
That would be really poor design. Power outages happen all the time and the DVR needs to be designed to handle them. I know in the case of TiVo (also Linux) if the power goes down then comes up while in the middle of a record, when the power comes up the system reboots and goes back to recording the show that it was recording. The pre and post-outage segments are stored in separate files.

I don't know that the DVR+ will resume a record after a power failure, but it certainly should not crash in a way that corrupts the file system of the existing recordings.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off