HDMI Port on TivoHD is cooked... my thoughts? Your thoughts? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By joed32
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 08-15-2014, 07:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
PetePetePete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unhappy HDMI Port on TivoHD is cooked... my thoughts? Your thoughts?

I'm thinking about getting a converter to go from Component (for video) and Digital Optical (for audio) to HDMI... as a way to "get HDMI back" (so to speak).

I found this one:
http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...t=2#reviewInfo

But I have no idea if there is a better choice. The TivoHD has lifetime service and I love it! Hate to buy a new one... it's got 2TB drive and works great except for this one thing.

How much of a difference is there between the original HDMI port that is now fried and doing something like this?

Is there a better way?

Really need help on this one!

Thanks,
Pete
PetePetePete is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 08-15-2014, 07:44 PM
Member
 
Phane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PetePetePete View Post
I'm thinking about getting a converter to go from Component (for video) and Digital Optical (for audio) to HDMI... as a way to "get HDMI back" (so to speak).

I found this one:
http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...t=2#reviewInfo

But I have no idea if there is a better choice. The TivoHD has lifetime service and I love it! Hate to buy a new one... it's got 2TB drive and works great except for this one thing.

How much of a difference is there between the original HDMI port that is now fried and doing something like this?

Is there a better way?

Really need help on this one!

Thanks,
Pete
Another option is to use Weaknees.com's HDMI repair service which is pretty much precisely for people in your situation. Although it has a hefty $150 price tag on it that doesn't include the cost of shipping it to them and may have a bit of turn-around time.

By the way, how'd you get a 2TB drive in it? I thought the max on the HD was 1TB. Are you sure you don't actually have a Premiere?
Phane is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 08-16-2014, 04:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joed32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phane View Post
Another option is to use Weaknees.com's HDMI repair service which is pretty much precisely for people in your situation. Although it has a hefty $150 price tag on it that doesn't include the cost of shipping it to them and may have a bit of turn-around time.

By the way, how'd you get a 2TB drive in it? I thought the max on the HD was 1TB. Are you sure you don't actually have a Premiere?
Why not use just component and optical?
videobruce likes this.
joed32 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 08-16-2014, 05:34 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 14,461
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 660 Post(s)
Liked: 1154
Thread moved to Recorders section.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #5 of 5 Old 08-22-2014, 07:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,105
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 567 Post(s)
Liked: 242
Quote:
ow'd you get a 2TB drive in it? I thought the max on the HD was 1TB.
A 2TB will work.

BTW, you wold be hard pressed to see the difference between HDMI & component and the price is right.

.
.
Free, abundant OTA television separates this country from many others. ATSC1 has only been in force since 2009. The wireless industry has enough spectrum. Enough of 'planned obsolesce'.
videobruce is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off