From CEDIA 2002: Coming To An HDTV Near You Soon: Dish 211 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-01-2002, 11:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Seen in the Mitsu booth, as part of a home fiber optic Firewire network, developed with Texas Instruments.

Dish Network model 211 receiver
IEEE1394 (1)
No OTA - Sat Reception Only
8PSK compatible
'Cost much, much less than the 6000'
Available (late) Q1 2003
All menu, guide, on screen functions from host display, in the Mitsu case via HAVi. (This is a little unclear, e.g. what if you don't have a HAVi display? No dice?)

And just in case you were wondering:
(Probably) No NTSC output.
No analog HDTV output.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-01-2002, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
h2ofun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: auburn,ca usa
Posts: 3,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No analog, what a drag.

dave
h2ofun is offline  
Old 10-01-2002, 12:02 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Kipp Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 11,785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the info Ken....no analog, no big deal. 1394 all the way!

Kipp
Are you boozen & cruisin the AVS? Join us here ---> http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...8&page=1&pp=60 good times! www.illinoiscarry.org www.nra.org
Kipp Jones is offline  
Old 10-01-2002, 12:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
h2ofun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: auburn,ca usa
Posts: 3,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unless you have a tv with analog inputs only.

dave
h2ofun is offline  
Old 10-01-2002, 12:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tonyb100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: minneapolis, mn
Posts: 3,719
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the on screen display troubles me tho. if you don't have a havi device how will you see what is going on. I have seen this stb referred to by people who seemed to know of it before anyone else, as the stb for mits. so maybe you will need a havi device or be out of luck.

Pardon my spelling, the checker hangs my system.
tonyb100 is offline  
Old 10-01-2002, 12:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tonyb100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: minneapolis, mn
Posts: 3,719
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i think you could go from stb to jvc dvhs to display could you not? assuming it will work with non havi devices.

Pardon my spelling, the checker hangs my system.
tonyb100 is offline  
Old 10-01-2002, 12:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
h2ofun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: auburn,ca usa
Posts: 3,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Seems possible but what a pain. cant watch and record at the same time.

Dave
h2ofun is offline  
Old 10-01-2002, 02:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 8,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Quote:
Originally posted by tonyb100
i think you could go from stb to jvc dvhs to display could you not? assuming it will work with non havi devices.
Or how about a cheap dedicated PC with a MY-HD or HiPix card? Perfect use for that old P3 sitting in the closet! Probably no good with 5C but who knows about that anyway.

Glimmie's HT Page
Being redone - comming soon!

Glimmie is online now  
Old 10-01-2002, 04:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Matt_Stevens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 13,818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 48
The big question is, can you go to the JVC 30K? That would be sensational for recording/time shifting. Does the JVC do Havi? I have no idea.

This belongs on the HARDWARE forum. Not the Recording forum.

Vimeo is the home of the Super8 Shooter...
http://vimeo.com/super8shooter
Matt_Stevens is offline  
Old 10-01-2002, 04:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bb1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will this thing send the bitstream to a D-VHS deck to be recorded (unless flagged record never)? I believe the jvc either has havi or doesn't need it but it works just fine as far as recording from the mits tuner.

bb
bb1987 is offline  
Old 10-01-2002, 05:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by bb1987
Will this thing send the bitstream to a D-VHS deck to be recorded (unless flagged record never)?
The way Mitsu showed it, it connected to a hub that allowed DVHS, hard drive or display use, in multiple locations. But that was in the HAVi environment.

If I got it right, the requirement to do the on screen stuff is called 'level 2' Firewire communication.

For just recording to DVHS, perhaps it would work fine. Don't really know.

I do know the new Hitachi HDTV's with Firewire also are compatible with this approach.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
Old 10-01-2002, 05:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by Matt_Stevens
This belongs on the HARDWARE forum. Not the Recording forum.
That's a matter of opinion. Technically, it could go in either place, but I decided to put it here.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
Old 10-01-2002, 05:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Matt_Stevens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 13,818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 48
I think it would get more hits in the Hardware section. Now, Late Q1 2003 = Q4 2003, if the history of these types of announcements hold true.

I wonder if it will be under $400?

Vimeo is the home of the Super8 Shooter...
http://vimeo.com/super8shooter
Matt_Stevens is offline  
Old 10-01-2002, 05:46 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by Matt_Stevens
Now, Late Q1 2003 = Q4 2003, if the history of these types of announcements hold true.

I wonder if it will be under $400?
I think this one will show up by the end of March and I also think it will easily be under $400.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
Old 10-01-2002, 06:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bb1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Ken H


The way Mitsu showed it, it connected to a hub that allowed DVHS, hard drive or display use, in multiple locations. But that was in the HAVi environment.

If I got it right, the requirement to do the on screen stuff is called 'level 2' Firewire communication.

For just recording to DVHS, perhaps it would work fine. Don't really know.

I do know the new Hitachi HDTV's with Firewire also are compatible with this approach.
I have the mits with net command and havi and if the dish unit is part of the hub, then it should be no problem directing the signal to a d-vhs that is also part of the hub.

bb
bb1987 is offline  
Old 10-01-2002, 07:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tonyb100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: minneapolis, mn
Posts: 3,719
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so bb are you saying that it should talk to my mits dvhs even tho I don't have a mits tv to display it on. sorry If I am being dense about it. just trying to figure if this is good news for us none mits tv owners

Pardon my spelling, the checker hangs my system.
tonyb100 is offline  
Old 10-01-2002, 07:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
h2ofun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: auburn,ca usa
Posts: 3,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nothing special or restrictive about a mits deck compared to a JVC, except wont do d-theater.

Dave
h2ofun is offline  
Old 10-01-2002, 08:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: South Florida
Posts: 4,685
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 31
No analog means no components out? Why would Dish do that?? Less than 1% of the existing TV sets have Firewire input. Low cost HD receiver to target only upscale TV owners? Doesn't make any sense to me...It looks like a Dish receiver custom made for new Mits TVs only.


Sergio

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
Old 10-01-2002, 08:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
h2ofun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: auburn,ca usa
Posts: 3,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yep

Its why I have 5 jvc decks, and no mits decks

dave
h2ofun is offline  
Old 10-01-2002, 09:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bruce Embry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: East Coast
Posts: 1,102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi All,
The Promise Module will be available at the end of this month. The PM includes HAVi. So any Mits HD Upgradeable set can use the Dish 211 STB
There is also a HD Digiital AV PVR that uses firewire connection that will soon be available.

Just think guys one wire is all that you need to connect these devices.
I do not know why Mits showed with a 1394HUB. The 1394HUB will not be required to use any of these devices.

Bruce.in.Triangle NC
Firewire is alive and kicking!
Bruce Embry is offline  
Old 10-01-2002, 09:10 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Kipp Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 11,785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by h2ofun
Unless you have a tv with analog inputs only.

dave
You should have purchased a Mits that is upgradeable!

Kipp
Are you boozen & cruisin the AVS? Join us here ---> http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...8&page=1&pp=60 good times! www.illinoiscarry.org www.nra.org
Kipp Jones is offline  
Old 10-01-2002, 09:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
h2ofun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: auburn,ca usa
Posts: 3,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will believe it when I see it. When mits has a direct tube 38 inch for 1500 bucks with a STB in it, then I would consider it.

dave
h2ofun is offline  
Old 10-01-2002, 09:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tonyb100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: minneapolis, mn
Posts: 3,719
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"""It looks like a Dish receiver custom made for new Mits TVs only."""

yep that is how I have heard it described even before this update. And why I was wondering if I would be able to use it with just my mits dvhs; later watching the tape via firewire equip pc with hipix card; on a sony display..

Sounds like it may be a popular liitle box for recording dish with dvhs decks..

re: promise mod. so far his info seems good.. I believe he told us aboout this stb a few weeks ago.. before anyone else knew of it. Or atleast posted about it

Pardon my spelling, the checker hangs my system.
tonyb100 is offline  
Old 10-01-2002, 10:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Wallis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Posts: 1,709
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still sounds good for use with one of my 30k's. Mits are the only ones really sticking with Firewire and unfortunately I can not deinterlace firewire with my scaler. Its going to depend on how the T165 handles Firewire while using its DVI out for my scaler. Why do they have to make it all so hard?

DavidW
David Wallis is offline  
Old 10-02-2002, 06:51 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Matt_Stevens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 13,818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 48
I'm just hoping you can cheat and hook it via Firewire into the JVC deck for recording and also viewing to my Panasonic HDTV via Component outputs.

Basically, Sat into the new Receiver.
Receiver into JVC.
Then JVC into Panasonic HDTV.

That would negate my need for the much more expensive PVR.

Vimeo is the home of the Super8 Shooter...
http://vimeo.com/super8shooter
Matt_Stevens is offline  
Old 10-02-2002, 03:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
miimura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cupertino, CA
Posts: 1,345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If the 211 is designed for Havi then there's no reason to have any I/O on the box except Sat RF in and Firewire I/O. Without a Havi controller like a Mits Integrated TV or Promise Module, how would you even tell the 211 what channel you want to watch?

IMHO, that doesn't mean that you won't be able to record it with existing D-VHS units. Once the TV tells it what channel, you should be able to use the JVC (for example) to find the stream on the firewire and record it.

Just my educated guesses...

- Mike
miimura is offline  
Old 10-02-2002, 03:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
stjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Without a Havi controller like a Mits Integrated TV or Promise Module, how would you even tell the 211 what channel you want to watch?
Is it possible to buy a reasonably priced separate Havi controller to change channels on the Dish 211 without having to buy a Mitsubishi HD capable set?

Edit: Does this have any potential?

Steve
stjr is offline  
Old 10-02-2002, 04:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tonyb100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: minneapolis, mn
Posts: 3,719
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those with out a firewire set. We need away to see what channel we are on to use it for recording don't we? Too bad it does have a front panel display showing that info. I assume it will have a remote to change the channels or will teh tv do that too.. no?

Pardon my spelling, the checker hangs my system.
tonyb100 is offline  
Old 10-02-2002, 07:11 PM
woz
Member
 
woz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melrose
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This really is the product I have been waiting for. I have bought into Mitsubishi's concept of a IEEE1394 networked home theater. My integrated TV and DVCR are awesome together. One wire and setup was complete. I am sick of spending hundreds of dollars on cables and hours to hook them up. I will definitely be purchasing the 211 when it is available.
The only drawback I see is that if I am recording sat, then I cannot watch another channel from the dish. Since I have two tuners now, if I am recording one, I can watch the other.

FYI the integrated TV also allows me to control my older devices. What sold me is that when I switch inputs from DVD to sat, my receiver automatically changes accordingly. This way, I do not have to answer questions via telephone from my wife as to why there is no sound when she is watching TV (as long as the receiver is on).
woz is offline  
Old 10-02-2002, 07:59 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by stjr

Is it possible to buy a reasonably priced separate Havi controller to change channels on the Dish 211 without having to buy a Mitsubishi HD capable set?

Edit: Does this have any potential?
Maybe.
But the info at the link speaks of HAVi Level 1 protocol, and Mitsu implementation uses Level 2. And no, I don't know the difference between 1 & 2.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off