I thinking of going back to tivo from ceton - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 01-10-2015, 03:10 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
tootal2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: eureka, mo
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thinking of going back to tivo from ceton

Has anyone left TiVo for ceton and windows media center and then went back to TiVo?
I want to update my computer to windows 8 but I cant because of the ceton echo.
also don't like using 90 watts of power to record shows when a TiVo does it with 14 watts.
tootal2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 01-10-2015, 06:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 10,418
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 228
I don't think you'll find the current TiVo experience much different. Regarding power I have my WMC PC hibernate when not viewing/recording which uses 2 Watts or some such. So overall I think it uses less power than TiVo. Way back when I did the math in the WMC thread linked to in my signature.

As far as Windows 8 I much prefer it to Windows 7 with WMC. I have found it to have a lot less HDMI issues and the various power settings work much better.
Charles R is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 01-11-2015, 08:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 4,453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by tootal2 View Post
Has anyone left TiVo for ceton and windows media center and then went back to TiVo?
I want to update my computer to windows 8 but I cant because of the ceton echo.
also don't like using 90 watts of power to record shows when a TiVo does it with 14 watts.
You don't need Windows 8, and modern low-power PCs draw the same or less than a Tivo especially with sleep factored in. If you're happy with WMC and Ceton there's no reason to switch to Tivo, just get a better PC. Probably costs about the same.
slowbiscuit is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 01-11-2015, 08:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 4,453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post
As far as Windows 8 I much prefer it to Windows 7 with WMC. I have found it to have a lot less HDMI issues and the various power settings work much better.
Except that it breaks compat with his Ceton extenders, so there's no reason to upgrade WMC if you're using them.
slowbiscuit is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off