how to download video from Cisco 9865? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-18-2016, 12:28 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Huskerfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how to download video from Cisco 9865?

I'm switching to the new contour 2 box through Cox Communications and want to be able to keep some of the shows on the old contour box for later viewing.

They say the eSata port is inactive but there's got to be a way to access it. I did it years ago with firewire.

Anyone point me in the right direction?

The box is a Cisco 9865

Husker Nation is strong!
Huskerfan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-19-2016, 10:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JDLIVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Marlborough, MA
Posts: 3,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Send a message via Yahoo to JDLIVE
eSata is likely there to expand the capacity with an external drive, it won't help you copy content off the DVR. Your best bet is to use an analog HD PVR and record from the component outputs. There will be a slight loss in quality, but probably not too noticeable.
JDLIVE is offline  
Old 04-20-2016, 04:06 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Huskerfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDLIVE View Post
eSata is likely there to expand the capacity with an external drive, it won't help you copy content off the DVR. Your best bet is to use an analog HD PVR and record from the component outputs. There will be a slight loss in quality, but probably not too noticeable.
Thank you. Do you know of any recent programs so sync directly to a laptop? Used to be capvhs but that is old now.

Husker Nation is strong!
Huskerfan is offline  
Old 04-22-2016, 10:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JDLIVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Marlborough, MA
Posts: 3,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Send a message via Yahoo to JDLIVE
Quote:
Originally Posted by Huskerfan View Post
Thank you. Do you know of any recent programs so sync directly to a laptop? Used to be capvhs but that is old now.
Sorry, no. Haven't done any capturing off a DVR for many years. I think there are some tools that you can use on a Mac that will work? I moved over to WMC, much easier when the content is already a file on a PC.
JDLIVE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off