MoCA with cable internet, OTA antenna & Tivo Bolt setup question - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 

Old 07-05-2016, 03:16 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question MoCA with cable internet, OTA antenna & Tivo Bolt setup question

I recently canceled my DISH satellite service and am in the process of switching to a Tivo BOLT with Mini setup. I have the BOLT, Mini and a Tivo Bridge on order. I have Comcast internet that comes into the house through coax cable, feeds into a cable modem and then to a wireless router. I will also be installing an OTA antenna. My house is not wired for ethernet, but has coax to most rooms. I'd like to set up a MoCA network to avoid having to run new CAT5/6 cable for ethernet.

I'm brand new to Tivo and MoCA and am curious as to how to set this all up. The BOLT will be in a room separate from where the internet cable comes into the house and connects to the modem and router.

I've read through the forums and the Tivo setup guides for the BOLT and MoCA, as well as some other online resources, but it all makes my head spin.

I'm wondering if anyone has or can give me some detailed instructions on how to connect everything. I'm especially wondering if I need to have the OTA antenna run to the BOLT on a separate coax cable or if it can be put on the same coax as the MoCA network with splitters, diplexers, etc. All of the coax is run from a junction box on the outside of the house to the various rooms. The internet cable also comes into the junction box before running into the house.