JVC 30K DVHS Stuck Tape Inside - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 08-14-2016, 03:46 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
qz3fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,359
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 319 Post(s)
Liked: 136
JVC 30K DVHS Stuck Tape Inside

Last night I moved a 30K which had been untouched for at least a year from the office to the bedroom to connect to my desktop.
A tape has been in this problematic deck for a long time and as I recall the last time I used the deck it worked OK.
Last night upon powering on the powerstrip I get the following:
1. Optical out on back near firewire port is glowing red telling me it is getting power.
2. The Digi Picture and S-ET indicators light up but then after a few seconds turn off.
3. A fan or motor spins up for a few seconds. It does not seem to be the large fan bolted to the back which is quite loud. This is a quiet hum.
4. There is no power to the front display at all. Pressing the power button did nothing at all nor the eject / transport controls. Unresponsive to remote control.
5. Tape is stuck inside with now way to eject and the unit is not functioning at all.
There is a HDNet tape in the machine I would like to save. Kinda hard to find as are all DTHeater titles which are getting more scarce each year.
Any suggestions?


Also-does anyone know if the DVE 720p/1080i calibration tapes are D-Theater protected, or are they in the clear and will play on JVC, mits, and panny DVHS decks?


















qz3fwd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 09-16-2016, 10:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dude111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,593
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 605
Hmm when you plug it in the unit should reset if the tape was left in PLAY MODE (Head unit disengages,etc).... Was it plugged in??

What happens when ya press EJECT bud??


Good luck
Dude111 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 09-17-2016, 11:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
qz3fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,359
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 319 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dude111 View Post
Hmm when you plug it in the unit should reset if the tape was left in PLAY MODE (Head unit disengages,etc).... Was it plugged in??

What happens when ya press EJECT bud??


Good luck
Totally non-functional. No power on, eject did nothing. I took the top cover off and the service procedure did not work. Unit is in the landfill now. Using a mits deck no and it works perfectly connected to the LG LST-3410.....
qz3fwd is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 Old 09-20-2016, 01:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dude111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,593
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 605
Im sorry you went thru all that..... Ya werent able to save the tape I guess...


Im so sorry buddy
Dude111 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off