It's Here - The First HDTV PVR - Zenith HDR230! - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 664 Old 06-19-2003, 06:07 AM
Senior Member
 
mosquito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm glad I waited until they started shipping to buy. J&R has them for $829 now, but the free shipping option is gone. Total with shipping for me is about $842.
mosquito is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 664 Old 06-20-2003, 05:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
aviators99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Pembroke Pines, FL, USA
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got mine from J&R today (yes, I paid for overnight shipping). I really like the thing. It's no TiVo, as far as interface, but it's very useable! I literally took my HTPC and threw it in the garage.

Some notes:

- It definitely seems that you can vary the output format even on the RGB (despite what it says earlier in this thread)

- I like the TV logo selection screen for labeling channels, but how in the world does this keep up to date??? With the way channels are changing their names lately, it seems that this could be a problem. Even if a channel doesn't change names, the logos seem to vary year-to-year. Also, I wonder what the point of the cable and satellite (including DirecTV) logos are?

- When you delete a program, it says "Confirm to delete"? Makes it seem like this product was rushed out without translation Q/A.

- Pass-through antenna seems to work great, with no appreciable loss of signal downstream

More to come as I experience this thing! Off to read the manual now.
aviators99 is offline  
post #183 of 664 Old 06-20-2003, 07:36 PM
 
ThumperBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You should immediately upgrade the internal 80MB hard drive. You can get a Maxtor 160GB retail-box hard drive at Fry's this weekend for only $89.95
ThumperBoy is offline  
post #184 of 664 Old 06-20-2003, 08:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
aviators99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Pembroke Pines, FL, USA
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks ThumperBoy, I'll check into that.

Changing the subject...

Right now I'm using the RGB output because my existing component cables aren't long enough. So I'm comparing a DTC-100 with the HDR230 on the same monitor. It's interesting to note that the HDR230 is substantially darker for the same channel. I can't find a way to change the brightness on either the 230 or DTC-100. If I change it on my monitor, it becomes way too bright for the DTC-100.
aviators99 is offline  
post #185 of 664 Old 06-20-2003, 10:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Sequoia, CA
Posts: 30,112
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 464
The Zenith 420 also has the useless logos... Some speculated it was because many they fantasized that an 8VSB-based cable system could make use of them... I'd have preferred a "resolution button" on the remote.

There is no difference in HDMI cables. If you can see the picture without visible dropouts or sparklies, the cable is working at 100%. No other cable will display a better version of that picture. You're simply wrong if you think there is a better digital cable than one that is already working.
rogo is offline  
post #186 of 664 Old 06-21-2003, 05:46 PM
Member
 
racingF1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Pinecrest, FL
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well... you folks that have one of these toys... can you come out of your pleasure dome one more time and share all the fun you're having with us? Yes, give us all the goodies (and the baddies)! We're waiting for you to spill da beans before we place our orders, you know! :D
racingF1 is offline  
post #187 of 664 Old 06-21-2003, 10:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Thomas Desmond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Plano, TX, USA
Posts: 2,334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
If you're watching primarily OTA HD programming, by all means place your order... I'm finding mine easy to use and haven't experienced any major bugs with it. The minor bugs that I've observed:

1. The available time indicator isn't real accurate -- but it seems to indicate a "worst case" amount, and the actual available recording time seems to be somewhat greater.

2. While it is possible to record and play back a program at the same time using the "time shift" function, it is not possible to play back a previously recorded program while recording a different program.

Those are both minor bugs that I find easy to live with -- and the ability to record and delay HD programming really does increase the value of having HD reception immensely.
Thomas Desmond is offline  
post #188 of 664 Old 06-21-2003, 10:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,051
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Can u record, HTDV/SDTV/DIRECT TV, via, ? connection, I believe no TIVO NEEDED?

But this one, i believe does not have STD/HD Direct tv tuner?
zoro is offline  
post #189 of 664 Old 06-22-2003, 06:50 AM
Member
 
racingF1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Pinecrest, FL
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It was mentioned early on in this thread that it may be possible to record SAT HD via dish5000+mod. Has anyone tried this? I think it's a shame that you can only record OTA with this unit. If it did SAT as well, I'd be all over it. I just don't watch that much OTA to justify its purchase.

Thanks,
racingF1 is offline  
post #190 of 664 Old 06-23-2003, 07:37 PM
Senior Member
 
bernster2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Hollywood, Fl. USA
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi

Will the Zenith HDR230 record OTA digital non-high definition broadcasts?

These digital broadcasts are in 4:3 format with black sidebars (at least with my Sony HD200). Will the Zenith HDR230 produce black side bars with these broadcasts?

Bernie
bernster2001 is offline  
post #191 of 664 Old 06-23-2003, 08:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
aviators99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Pembroke Pines, FL, USA
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by bernster2001
Hi

Will the Zenith HDR230 record OTA digital non-high definition broadcasts?

These digital broadcasts are in 4:3 format with black sidebars (at least with my Sony HD200). Will the Zenith HDR230 produce black side bars with these broadcasts?

Bernie
Yes, and yes.
aviators99 is offline  
post #192 of 664 Old 06-23-2003, 08:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
aviators99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Pembroke Pines, FL, USA
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by bpearse
Yes, but isn't there a 137G limit? So only 17hrs? If that is true, then I would still consider a fatal flaw without ability to archive. If the system supports large drives (250G and up when they become available) then I agree it is less fatal.
Okay, you might think I'm weird, but aren't we missing the obvious means of archival for the HDR230? Just take out the hard drive and put in a new one! I mean, hard drives are getting pretty cheap, and this is the first PVR that I know of that doesn't have the O.S. on the hard drive. A two hour HD show at 1080i will take up less than 20 GB. Looks to me like you can get these drives for around $50, so I imagine in quantity--much less. Just put in a new 20GB drive when recording a show you are going to want to archive (or 4 half-hour shows).

I think perhaps the future in the "Zenith Underground" (like the TiVo underground) might be to fabricate a front-loaded drive chassis for the thing.

Or---here's another idea---using the IDE standard to create a network interface...there's something I'd be interested in doing myself.

All of this stuff is possible on the Zenith but not on the others, because the OS is not on the hard drive.

(cross-posted from the HDR230 sticky topic)
aviators99 is offline  
post #193 of 664 Old 06-23-2003, 10:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Sequoia, CA
Posts: 30,112
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 464
Your idea will work, but it's kind of a pain to pull the drive and replace it all the time.

You can buy 120 and down for 75 cents/GB pretty easily these days, so the average hour show would cost about $6 to archive, which I suspect compares favorably to other very loosely related concepts (buying the DVDs?).

You should use the 80s or 120s to get the lowest cost/GB, but that will mean clever use of the capacity to archive what you want while using the rest of the space to record.

Of course, anyone pulling HDs on a regular basis should be meticulous enough to make this work. :)

There is no difference in HDMI cables. If you can see the picture without visible dropouts or sparklies, the cable is working at 100%. No other cable will display a better version of that picture. You're simply wrong if you think there is a better digital cable than one that is already working.
rogo is offline  
post #194 of 664 Old 06-23-2003, 10:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
aviators99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Pembroke Pines, FL, USA
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by rogo
Your idea will work, but it's kind of a pain to pull the drive and replace it all the time.
Which is why I suggested building a sliding chassis with edge connector. There is room on the left side of the box.

Also, in doing some research this morning, I see that there is a chip to convert Firewire to IDE and back, and it costs around $10. It might be pretty easy to build a box to get firewire output for the thing. You would need to do some tricks like telling the HDR230 to delete shows after you've archived them or something, but it might be an interesting project.
aviators99 is offline  
post #195 of 664 Old 06-24-2003, 06:46 AM
Senior Member
 
bernster2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Hollywood, Fl. USA
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I pulled the trigger and ordered the HDR230 from J and R. I am still unclear on which size hard drive to swap. Is there any benefit of 160 or bigger vs. 120?

Bernie
bernster2001 is offline  
post #196 of 664 Old 06-24-2003, 03:43 PM
Member
 
Mongoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I just discovered that J&R offers a thirty day price protection policy. In other words, if you purchased this product at the $899 price within that time period, they will, if asked, offer you $57.40 in store credit (that is, the difference between $829 + $12.60 postage and the old price of $899 including postage). The person I dealt with was named Michael. It seems that a number of you could take advantage of this.
Mongoose is offline  
post #197 of 664 Old 06-24-2003, 10:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Sequoia, CA
Posts: 30,112
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 464
If it doesn't support large drive addressing, Bernie, then you will get about 127GB out of the 160GB drive and that's it. So it's probably a bad deal in that case.

I'm not sure what the machine does or does not support, however.

There is no difference in HDMI cables. If you can see the picture without visible dropouts or sparklies, the cable is working at 100%. No other cable will display a better version of that picture. You're simply wrong if you think there is a better digital cable than one that is already working.
rogo is offline  
post #198 of 664 Old 06-24-2003, 10:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Sequoia, CA
Posts: 30,112
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 464
Aviators, good luck with that project, btw. I'm going to await the Tivo w/HD personally.

There is no difference in HDMI cables. If you can see the picture without visible dropouts or sparklies, the cable is working at 100%. No other cable will display a better version of that picture. You're simply wrong if you think there is a better digital cable than one that is already working.
rogo is offline  
post #199 of 664 Old 06-25-2003, 07:10 AM
Senior Member
 
BillJulyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Thanks to Mongoose for the tip! I just called J&R and they gave me a $70 store credit (I bought early at $899).

My HDR is still running great with a 120GB drive in it. I've been recording reruns of shows that I didn't watch during the season, like CSI and NYPD.

Bill Julyan
BillJulyan is offline  
post #200 of 664 Old 06-25-2003, 08:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,051
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Aviators, good luck with that project, btw. I'm going to await the Tivo w/HD personally.

When will be that? which company?

BTW!! does 230 can record out of a HDTV/DIRECT TV tuner? via Component/VGA/S video out!?

What is big difference between 230, and upcming 330..any one?

I heard there will be a HDTV tuner/DVDI combo set top coming from Zeenath, that will have DVI/HDCP, out and upscaling to 1080i?
zoro is offline  
post #201 of 664 Old 06-25-2003, 08:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
John Tuohy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Lurking
Posts: 828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
330 will have firwire out for archiving

All I ever want is everything
John Tuohy is offline  
post #202 of 664 Old 06-25-2003, 09:04 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,051
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 17
FIREWIRE, for BOTH AUDIO/VIDEO archiving? on DVHS etc or DVR
zoro is offline  
post #203 of 664 Old 06-25-2003, 09:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Thomas Desmond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Plano, TX, USA
Posts: 2,334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I don't recall seeing firewire mentioned in Zenith's press releases earlier in the year -- but they did mention the ability to receive unscrambled QAM (cable) and analog broadcasts. I believe that it was also also to have access to some sort of a program guide service.

Price was given as TBA
Thomas Desmond is offline  
post #204 of 664 Old 06-25-2003, 09:18 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,051
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 17
unscrambled QAM (cable) and analog broadcasts. I believe that it was also also to have access to some sort of a program guide service.


I saw that too, so, would it be compatable to recieve/record HD CABLE too
zoro is offline  
post #205 of 664 Old 06-25-2003, 02:49 PM
Member
 
Robert Deckman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I already have a Zenith DAT520 HD Box.

Anyone know if the remote codes are the same as for the HDR230? (I hope not!).

Thanks.
Robert Deckman is offline  
post #206 of 664 Old 06-25-2003, 11:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Sequoia, CA
Posts: 30,112
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 464
Tivo w/HD for OTA and DirecTV is due late this year. It will likely carry the Hughes brand (DirecTV in house) and perhaps others.

Specs are unknown.

There is no difference in HDMI cables. If you can see the picture without visible dropouts or sparklies, the cable is working at 100%. No other cable will display a better version of that picture. You're simply wrong if you think there is a better digital cable than one that is already working.
rogo is offline  
post #207 of 664 Old 06-26-2003, 09:08 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,051
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Tivo w/HD for OTA and DirecTV is due late this year. It will likely carry the Hughes brand (DirecTV in house) and perhaps others.

Specs are unknown.....fabulous man!!

Cant wait..

BTW!! I am trying to cut # of boxes, I have DTC100, for OTA HDTV, DIRECT TV/TIVO..hughes box, for ver 2 TIVO..

Currently, I am recording only directv/tivo..not HDTV OTA..

I dont care HDTV DIREC TV stations, so, If I upgrade to zenith, 530, I guess, still, i wont be able to get rid of, DTC100/Hughes TIVO DTV, for one box? Any suggestions?
zoro is offline  
post #208 of 664 Old 06-26-2003, 09:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
davidmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Concord, CA USA
Posts: 599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You might want to keep the DTiVo as the HDTiVo will likely only have one satellite tuner.

David
davidmin is offline  
post #209 of 664 Old 06-26-2003, 02:50 PM
Senior Member
 
JFerg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Robert Deckman
I already have a Zenith DAT520 HD Box.

Anyone know if the remote codes are the same as for the HDR230? (I hope not!).

Thanks.
They are not the same. Each has a totally different set of codes.
JFerg is offline  
post #210 of 664 Old 06-26-2003, 02:52 PM
Senior Member
 
JFerg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Thomas Desmond
I don't recall seeing firewire mentioned in Zenith's press releases earlier in the year -- but they did mention the ability to receive unscrambled QAM (cable) and analog broadcasts. I believe that it was also also to have access to some sort of a program guide service.

Price was given as TBA
New info found in the HDTV Hardware section
JFerg is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off