Hacking a TV for video out. - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By videobruce
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 12-12-2016, 05:08 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hacking a TV for video out.

Has anyone hacked a tv to get video out to then record programs to a PVR and store on a harddrive?
Seems like we could hack a cheap TV and combine it with your favorite PVR and have cable recorder.
Even if we had to convert the video to ch 3 and then record it.
Qmavam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 12-14-2016, 02:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qmavam View Post
Has anyone hacked a tv to get video out to then record programs to a PVR and store on a harddrive?
Seems like we could hack a cheap TV and combine it with your favorite PVR and have cable recorder.
Even if we had to convert the video to ch 3 and then record it.
Then go ahead and so that?
forresto is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 12-14-2016, 04:32 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Has anyone hacked a tv to get video out to then record programs to a PVR and store on a harddrive?
Seems like we could hack a cheap TV and combine it with your favorite PVR and have cable recorder.
Even if we had to convert the video to ch 3 and then record it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by forresto View Post
Then go ahead and do that?
I have modified a tv to get video, but it has been 30 years ago. Plus I don't know how HDMI works,
nor how the video signal looks in HDMI.
I was looking for help.
It seems your input is useless.
Qmavam is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 Old 12-15-2016, 10:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JDLIVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Marlborough, MA
Posts: 3,102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Send a message via Yahoo to JDLIVE
Are you doing this as some kind of fun project? Otherwise it seems kind of pointless. Most cable providers have done away with clear QAM channels so any tuners in that TV would be useless. There are relatively cheap solutions available to do this on a PC.
JDLIVE is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 12-15-2016, 02:55 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDLIVE View Post
Otherwise it seems kind of pointless. Most cable providers have done away with clear QAM channels so any tuners in that TV would be useless.
Ah, I didn't have this tuner problem in my info bank.
What I was looking to do, is record cable channels without paying a monthly bill.

Quote:
There are relatively cheap solutions available to do this on a PC.
How does the computer eliminate the tuner problem?

Thanks
Qmavam is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 12-15-2016, 03:05 PM
Member
 
er824's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qmavam View Post
Ah, I didn't have this tuner problem in my info bank.
What I was looking to do, is record cable channels without paying a monthly bill.



How does the computer eliminate the tuner problem?

Thanks
You can buy a cable tuner for your computer. If you want encrypted channels your only option is Windows Media Center unfortunately which Microsoft has abandoned. If you don't need to record encrypted stuff there are more options.
er824 is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 12-16-2016, 08:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JDLIVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Marlborough, MA
Posts: 3,102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Send a message via Yahoo to JDLIVE
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qmavam View Post
Ah, I didn't have this tuner problem in my info bank.
What I was looking to do, is record cable channels without paying a monthly bill.



How does the computer eliminate the tuner problem?

Thanks
It doesn't. You said you wanted to record to a hard drive so you need something capable of that and a computer is one way. Just add a cable card tuner to a low end PC and you're done. Or get a Tivo with lifetime subscription.
JDLIVE is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 12-20-2016, 07:46 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,041
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 663 Post(s)
Liked: 254
That would be far more than just a "hack".
esdwa likes this.

.
.
Recording free OTA TV for 'time shifting' has been here since 1977. Will there be DVR's to do the same when ATSC3 obsoletes existing DVR's??
videobruce is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off