Summary and Updates on Comcast HD DVR Deployment -- All Areas - Page 3 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-14-2003, 12:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fender4645's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orinda, Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by SonomaSearcher
I can guarantee you it will be $9.95 per box.
You're probably right. We can dream though, right? :)
fender4645 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-15-2003, 10:43 AM
Member
 
calebetsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can report that VOD is on in Atlanta. I noticed it two days ago that the main menu changed. I saw the On Demand button and when I clikc on it there were stuff already available liek movies from hBO and Showtime and all sorts of other stuff. No news on DVR, yet. Does anybody knows a tentative date for atlanta ???
calebetsy is offline  
Old 11-17-2003, 08:58 AM
Member
 
trickd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Philly (Drexel Hill, Delco)
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was recently told by a Comcast representative presenting at a Philadelphia area technology show that the prices is $9.95 per box, and that in the Philadelphia area, Comcast is not rolling out the 6208, but is instead deferring so they can roll out with the two tuner 6408. Target date is June, 2004, but Comcast is optimistic it can get done earlier. I had a 20 minute demo of the 6208 box. No "season pass" or robust searching features, but very simple interface using interactive grid or repeating timers.
trickd is offline  
Old 11-17-2003, 10:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
Llamas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey, no problem. The longer they push it back, the longer I pay my money to DirecTV. Considering that it sounds like the software is not in the same league as the PVRs out there, my enthusiasm is greatly reduced, anyway.

--Mike
Llamas is offline  
Old 11-17-2003, 01:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SonomaSearcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 2,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Los Angeles is reportedly also December 17.

However, Motorola is currently trying to iron out some problems with the 6208, and if they aren't successful, nobody may get the 6208 on December 17.
SonomaSearcher is offline  
Old 11-18-2003, 08:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
hessel holland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The November release of the 6208 has been delayed in the Atlanta area due to "problems". No date set.
hessel holland is offline  
Old 11-18-2003, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Scott Gammans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Brambleton, VA (Suburban Washington, DC)
Posts: 3,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by seasley
All -
I spoke with a very knowledgeable person at Comcast in Arlington, Virgina (DC Suburbs). We already have eight High Def channels, which you can get with a "Basic Cable" plan ($13.99), and only an additional $5 per month for the HD box, which works pretty well (only problem is drop out of digital sound on Fox, which means a manual selection of the analog inputs on my Denon receiver). Channels include both INHD channels, which are awesome. Arlington/DC is NOT getting the Motorola 6208 because we do not have a Motorola "head-end," that is, cable plant. Instead, we have a Scientific Atlanta head-end and equipment - I use the Scientific Atlanta 3100 for HD. They are currently testing a box in Arlington/DC - I do not believe it is SA, but couldn't get them to say which one (not Motorola, however) - that will supposedly give us Motorola 6208 functionality - i.e., HD DVR/PVR. Arlington/DC already has DVR/PVR functionality equipment, but only for SD. My source suggested it would be several months before the box they are testing could be rolled out, if it tests well. I remain hopeful because several FCC Commissioners/Top FCC staffers live in Arlington, and Comcast is very sensitive to putting its best foot forward in this particular market.
Best,
Steve E.
Thanks for posting that information, Steve. I have two friends who live in Arlington and will be interested in hearing about this...
Scott Gammans is offline  
Old 11-18-2003, 02:07 PM
Member
 
Fastjuan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NoVA
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I find it interesting that there is so much difference in pricing/services from one Comcast service provider to another. Here in western Prince William County, (a stones throw from Arlington) basic service is $19month, and they won't let you have an HD box unless you sub for digital service. I can't get Comcast HD service at my house for less than $60/mth when you include taxes and other sundry fees.
Fastjuan is offline  
Old 11-18-2003, 02:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SonomaSearcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 2,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Fastjuan:

If you only want the HD locals (ABC, NBC, PBS or whatever locals Comcast offers in HD in your area), you do NOT need to subscribe to digital service. Any Comcast CSR who tells you differently is wrong.

However, if you want ESPN HD, you probably need to subscribe to digital.

And if you want InHD and InHD2, you definitely need to subscribe to digital.

If you need supporting information for the above, please let me know.
SonomaSearcher is offline  
Old 11-18-2003, 02:57 PM
Member
 
jdp_atl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by hessel holland
The November release of the 6208 has been delayed in the Atlanta area due to "problems". No date set.
I just spoke with a Comcast CSR who says that they are being told end of December, maybe into January before 6208 will be available. Fees will be $9.95/month. Any additional information on the Atlanta rollout of the 6208 would be greatly appreciated!

jdp
jdp_atl is offline  
Old 11-19-2003, 06:45 AM
Member
 
seasley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arlington, Va.
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Scott -

You are welcome. Contacts and good information are often hard to come by (as I figured out as a FCC lawyer) - I am happy to share, since I've gotten so much good information here!

Fastjuan - Basic cable is regulated by your local officials - let your voice be heard at County Board meetings! I probably shouldn't admit this (since I will probably lose them), but I am getting InHD and ESPN HD with Basic. Perhaps it is a quirk or mistake, or maybe they realize that nobody pay $5 for a box without some programming - I defintitely have certain HD channels I can't access because I don't pay for them (HBO HD and Showtime HD, I believe), and I am thinking about upgrading to get them. If they offered them A La Carte, I would have bought them yesterday!

Best,
Steve
seasley is offline  
Old 11-19-2003, 12:27 PM
Member
 
ph3isme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: somers point, nj
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got off the phone with COmcast CSR in Atlantic County and have been told the DVR unit wont be ready until 4th quarter 2004:(

Equipment is not ready General Instruments product?
ph3isme is offline  
Old 11-19-2003, 01:24 PM
Member
 
Hazama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cameron Park, CA
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by seasley
I defintitely have certain HD channels I can't access because I don't pay for them (HBO HD and Showtime HD, I believe), and I am thinking about upgrading to get them. If they offered them A La Carte, I would have bought them yesterday!
Hmmm... I thought it was a legal issue and companies HAD to offer these a la carte?
Hazama is offline  
Old 11-20-2003, 10:13 AM
Senior Member
 
rodneyremington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Hazama
Hmmm... I thought it was a legal issue and companies HAD to offer these a la carte?
I wish they offered these a la carte. I subscribed to the upgrade Comcast package just to get these channels and I get a whole bunch of other stuff that I don't want. My ultimate wish is for some FAMILY HD channels. Much of the time HBO-HD and SHO-HD are showing family-inappropriate movies.

Is this chicken what I have, or is this fish?
rodneyremington is offline  
Old 11-20-2003, 10:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SonomaSearcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 2,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, they are required to offer HBO (or any other "premium" channel) a la carte, per federal law. However, the a la carte price versus the digital "silver" or digital "gold" price may be only a few dollars difference per month (depending on where you live). So the money you save by getting them a la carte may not make that big a difference.

Rodney, yes, it would be nice to have more choice with family oriented HD channels. Hopefully we will see some come online next year.
SonomaSearcher is offline  
Old 11-20-2003, 02:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
UUronl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Arlington, VA, USA
Posts: 1,041
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by fender4645
I thought the same thing however I'm still not clear if the $9.95 service fee is on a per box basis or per household. I have 3 TV's in my house so there's quite a difference between between paying $30.00+ per month rather then $9.95.

Anybody heard anything about this?
If you're in a Scientific Atlanta headend you may not have a problem, the 8000 series DVRs supposedly have a code release that allows for distribution of recorded video over the existing cable plant inside the home to other SA set top boxes, negating the need for multiple DVRs (unless of course you require the storage multiple units would provide).


Ron
UUronl is online now  
Old 11-25-2003, 12:39 PM
Member
 
Charrua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Montgomery County, MD
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sent an email to Comcast and received the following reply:

"Thank you for contacting Comcast Communications.

Comcast DVR Service will be available to our Montgomery County Residents
by the first week of January. The DVR Converter is the Motorola 6208. We
appreciate your patience at this time.

Thank you again for your e-mail. We appreciate you taking the time to
contact us.

Respectfully,
Your Comcast Customer Care Specialist"
Charrua is offline  
Old 11-25-2003, 12:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
CKarras's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Montgomery County MD or PA?

-Chris
CKarras is offline  
Old 11-25-2003, 12:43 PM
Member
 
Charrua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Montgomery County, MD
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ooops,

Montgomery County, MD.
Charrua is offline  
Old 11-30-2003, 04:26 PM
Newbie
 
MABurke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wash DC-Maryland suburb
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is a DVR advertisement on page 26 of the December Comcast Channel Guide Magazine for MoCo MD.

Murray
MABurke is offline  
Old 12-01-2003, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeInNVa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Limington, Maine
Posts: 2,165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Scott Gammans
Thanks for posting that information, Steve. I have two friends who live in Arlington and will be interested in hearing about this...
The Arlington/Alexandria PVR will be the SA 8100-HD. I believe there are limited tests in our market but I keep running into a brick wall whenever I try to get people to answer my questions. I send email via the comcast.com website and get the generic response that it will be available soon and the sales department will notify everyone when it is availabe.

The SA 8100-HD will have a dual tuner and I believe a 30GB hard Drive. HD outputs and HD Recording capability.

heck, right now i would take anything. The SA3100-HD SUCKS hardcore.

Arrive
Raise Hell
Leave
JoeInNVa is offline  
Old 12-01-2003, 01:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kevinivey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 3,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by JoeInNVa
The Arlington/Alexandria PVR will be the SA 8100-HD. I believe there are limited tests in our market but I keep running into a brick wall whenever I try to get people to answer my questions. I send email via the comcast.com website and get the generic response that it will be available soon and the sales department will notify everyone when it is availabe.

The SA 8100-HD will have a dual tuner and I believe a 30GB hard Drive. HD outputs and HD Recording capability.

heck, right now i would take anything. The SA3100-HD SUCKS hardcore.

SA8000HD is available with a 80GB or 160GB Hard drives. 30GB would hold a whopping 3.5 hrs, of HD. My source is SA8000HD pdf. manual.
kevinivey is offline  
Old 12-01-2003, 03:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
UCSB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Pleasanton, CA (San Francisco Bay Area)
Posts: 2,528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I called Comcast today, Monday, December 1st. They said that the Motorola 6208 is coming to the San Francisco Bay Area. But, that they are not taking orders for service yet. They suggested that I call back in the middle of December (perhaps that is the December 17th target listed at the top of this thread). I asked if they knew when the actual installations would start and they said that it looks like the first week or second week of January.

So I guess we have to continue to be patient for a few more weeks.

> Bill
UCSB is offline  
Old 12-01-2003, 09:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Stop making curved screens
Posts: 30,687
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 603 Post(s)
Liked: 882
I may actually get cable to try this out.

Maybe.

There is no difference in HDMI cables. If you can see the picture without visible dropouts or sparklies, the cable is working at 100%. No other cable will display a better version of that picture. You're simply wrong if you think there is a better digital cable than one that is already working. (Oh, and plasma didn't die because of logistics problems, nor does OLED ship in big boxes because it comes from Korea.)
rogo is offline  
Old 12-02-2003, 02:23 PM
Member
 
Helevitia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by UCSB
I called Comcast today, Monday, December 1st. They said that the Motorola 6208 is coming to the San Francisco Bay Area. But, that they are not taking orders for service yet. They suggested that I call back in the middle of December (perhaps that is the December 17th target listed at the top of this thread). I asked if they knew when the actual installations would start and they said that it looks like the first week or second week of January.

So I guess we have to continue to be patient for a few more weeks.
I can also confirm that a rep told me that the date was moved from Decmember to January. I was told this a few days before Thanksgiving. this info is for the San Francisco, Bay Area.

Dave
Helevitia is offline  
Old 12-02-2003, 03:48 PM
Member
 
victoras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From Comcast's site:

DVR is currently available in limited service areas but will soon be available to most Comcast customers. DVR requires subscription to Comcast Digital Cable. Equipment is required, and requires an additional fee.

Would this not suggest that you must get digital cable, not just the HDTV box on top of basic cable in order to get a DVR? If so, that might make the monthly cost much more for customers who currently just have non-digital cable and an HDTV box. . . .
victoras is offline  
Old 12-02-2003, 06:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jeremyfr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Tacoma, Wa
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Victoras: Your assumption is correct due to the cost and features of the box they will require you to subscribe to a digital package in order to get the box.

Friends dont let friends watch Pan & Scan!
Jeremyfr is offline  
Old 12-02-2003, 07:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
Trevor L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Edmond, OK
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so what happens if you cancel digital cable after a few months? Do they send someone out to your house to repo the DVR?

Anyone know if you can do the turn in your dish discount if you already have cable?

Trevor
Trevor L is offline  
Old 12-02-2003, 08:16 PM
Member
 
SrValasco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in Howard County, Maryland. I emailed comcast about PVR rollout and here is part of the reply. (The rest was just a form letter explaining what PVR is blah blah blah...)

----
Comcast is pleased to announce that DVR is currently being tested in
Harford and Howard Counties. We anticipate this service becoming
available in December 2003. Please be assured that all customers will
be notified as soon as this service becomes available. To receive this
service, you must be a Digital Cable subscriber. We have provided below a brief overview of this new service.
---

I had asked what tune it will be (we currently get SA-3100HD) but they didn't answer that part.

Jason
SrValasco is offline  
Old 12-02-2003, 09:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jeremyfr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Tacoma, Wa
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
if you have SA box's currently you will receive SA dvr box's since SA and Moto Topologies do not work together.

Friends dont let friends watch Pan & Scan!
Jeremyfr is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off