Summary and Updates on Comcast HD DVR Deployment -- All Areas - Page 4 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 885 Old 12-03-2003, 07:19 AM
Member
 
iykisa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't get your hopes up for an early release date of the 6208 or for the features you're used to on Tivo and ReplayTV. See my post on this page for my reasoning: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0&pagenumber=2
iykisa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 885 Old 12-03-2003, 09:43 AM
Member
 
phil_e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: towson, maryland
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After reading about the multiple problems with the 6208 beta testing, being told by a Comcast CSR that the rollout is not before mid 2004 (last week they said 1/04) , and "waiting for hell to freeze over" to get local CBS-HD; I have lost all patience with both Comcast and Motorola and got a Zenith HDR230 today. I still get crushed blacks because of transcoder problems with the crappy Motorola 5100 and doubt the 6208 will be much better. Comcast and Motorola are on thin ice with me!
phil_e is offline  
post #93 of 885 Old 12-03-2003, 10:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
CKarras's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm hanging fire waiting for the HD Tivo from DirectTV.....

-Chris
CKarras is offline  
post #94 of 885 Old 12-03-2003, 11:26 AM
Member
 
jasonsirota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the cost is outrageous, it's supposed to be 4 tuners - 2 DirecTV, 2 ATSC that you can record any two of the 4 at the same time. People are estimating a $999 start value. OUCH!

Even then it's not until next spring launch (if they're on time), which by then hopefully Comcast will roll out the DVR in all areas. For $5 extra a month I'd have to have the same Comcast box for 200 months (4 years) before the cost would be the same. I haven't even had my original Tivo for 4 years yet.

Jason

Fix a man's PC once and he'll call you to fix it again every day. Teach a man to fix his own PC...
...and he'll call you to fix it again every day.
jasonsirota is offline  
post #95 of 885 Old 12-03-2003, 11:39 AM
Senior Member
 
jsirbak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jason - I think you understimated the point you were trying to make. At $5/month, it would take 16 2/3 years (not 4 years) to spend an amount equal to the cost of purchasing the $1,000 DirecTV unit. It's even more of a no-brainer than you thought, and I for one am anxiously awaiting HD-DVR via Comcast.

I e-mailed them earlier today and will post again if they respond with anything informative (by the way, I've found Comcast to be much more responsive than Boston's former cable provider, AT&T Broadband).

Joe
jsirbak is offline  
post #96 of 885 Old 12-03-2003, 01:04 PM
Senior Member
 
donjulio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: West Linn, Oregon
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As far as what I have seen, the early bugs on the 6208 are gone, and the features will be coming, the 6208 works well now. One thing to keep in mind, there is a lot of information in HD content, which makes it more difficult to store and access from a HDD as opposed to SD content.
donjulio is offline  
post #97 of 885 Old 12-03-2003, 01:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SonomaSearcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 2,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Donjulio,

Are you still beta testing the 6208 as of today? For Comcast, right?

What are your firmware and software versions, out of curiosity?

Have you noticed the 6208 slower to change channels than the 5100 (due to buffering/loading the data into the HDD)?

Any other tidbits?

Thanks!
SonomaSearcher is offline  
post #98 of 885 Old 12-03-2003, 02:58 PM
Member
 
Webraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Carmichael, CA
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sonoma,

I just got off the phone with a Comcast CSR (Sacramento/Stockton) and she stated that the roll out had been pushed back again. She did not give and exact date, but stated that they were still testing and that they would be available sometime 1st Q of 2004.

She also stated that just like the 5100, they will not let us pick them up. An appointment must be made.
Webraf is offline  
post #99 of 885 Old 12-03-2003, 03:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SonomaSearcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 2,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In another thread, somebody in your area said he was told 1/17/04.

Sacramento will be among the very first, if not the first, to get the 6208, so this is a bummer for everyone who was hoping it would be available sometime in December.
SonomaSearcher is offline  
post #100 of 885 Old 12-04-2003, 08:55 AM
Member
 
jasonsirota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OOPS! Oh my, I did misunderestimate. I divided 200 by 52 (weeks) instead of 12 (months). That's what I get for posting in between weekly reporting I do for work :).

Jason

Fix a man's PC once and he'll call you to fix it again every day. Teach a man to fix his own PC...
...and he'll call you to fix it again every day.
jasonsirota is offline  
post #101 of 885 Old 12-05-2003, 03:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SonomaSearcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 2,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On a local radio station yesterday (KCBS Newsradio, AM 740, S.F. Bay Area), a reporter (Stan Bunger) did a brief story on cable (specifically Comcast) rolling out DVR service and how that presents competition to Tivo.

He did not quote or cite a specific individual, but said that DVR would be available to customers "within a few weeks." That is an exact quote as to what he said in his report.

Hopefully his source was accurate and not just feeding him some marketing-motivated, over-optimistic projection as to when the Comcast DVR would be available.
SonomaSearcher is offline  
post #102 of 885 Old 12-05-2003, 06:09 PM
Member
 
jasonsirota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
He probably read it here :)

Jason

Fix a man's PC once and he'll call you to fix it again every day. Teach a man to fix his own PC...
...and he'll call you to fix it again every day.
jasonsirota is offline  
post #103 of 885 Old 12-06-2003, 07:46 AM
Senior Member
 
PeteratMars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Arlington, VA, USA
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by JoeInNVa
The SA 8100-HD will have a dual tuner and I believe a 30GB hard Drive. HD outputs and HD Recording capability.

heck, right now i would take anything. The SA3100-HD SUCKS hardcore.

I've had the SA3100-HD for a year now and I remember saying how I would take anything to replace my OTA antenna and DTC-100. Well the 3100 is definitely an improvement over the old set up in the sense that there are no video dropouts. The audio dropouts were there at first but that seems better now as well. I even believe that WETA-HD is showing less pixelation during rapidly changing scenery. In my opinion the picture sharpness with OTA continues to be better than with the 3100-HD. Is that you're main gripe with the unit? Will the 8100-HD have anything to offer in the way of improved PQ?
PeteratMars is offline  
post #104 of 885 Old 12-07-2003, 11:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fender4645's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orinda, Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here are the Users Guides for the RCN DVR which uses the exact same hardware and software that Comcast will use. I've received confirmation from a Comcast beta tester that this is the exact interface they have been using (minus the RCN logo, of course). These contain many screenshots of how the guide and DVR options will work.

http://www.rcn.com/cabletv/dvr/usermanuals.php
fender4645 is offline  
post #105 of 885 Old 12-08-2003, 07:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jacmyoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 4,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Part of the problem I see with the interface is the ads in the menu which take up a good amount of space.
jacmyoung is offline  
post #106 of 885 Old 12-09-2003, 07:31 AM
Senior Member
 
jkohms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Riverton, NJ
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, at least it is better than the current on the 5100. You can see more than one time period.

jack
jkohms is offline  
post #107 of 885 Old 12-10-2003, 01:02 PM
Senior Member
 
rodneyremington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well for what it's worth, I just spoke with a Comcast CSR rep regarding the release date for the 6208. She seemed quite sure of herself in saying that the release date is still Dec. 17th, despite rumors we have heard on other threads in the last day or so (specifically the thread on the beta testing of the 6208 put out by the "other" cable company) that the release date had yet again been put off a month. She also said quite confidently that the unit would have an enabled DVI port. I don't know whether she just isn't as informed as some of you are on this forum, or if she just doesn't know that there has been another delay (the date I heard on the other thread was Jan 17th).

Any other sources out there?

Is this chicken what I have, or is this fish?
rodneyremington is offline  
post #108 of 885 Old 12-10-2003, 03:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jacmyoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 4,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have confirmed with another tech rep at Comcast that the 6280 is delayed to January 2004.
jacmyoung is offline  
post #109 of 885 Old 12-10-2003, 05:42 PM
Senior Member
 
PeteratMars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Arlington, VA, USA
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is Comcast projecting a date for the SA 8100-HD on the East Coast?
PeteratMars is offline  
post #110 of 885 Old 12-11-2003, 10:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fender4645's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orinda, Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.sacbee.com/content/busine...-8872498c.html

This is from today's Sacramento Bee. Excerpt:

----

DVR plan delayed
Comcast's plans to offer customers a set-top digital video recorder have been delayed while the company completes further testing of the system.
The cable company had planned to roll out DVR service by the end of this month. Company spokeswoman Susan Gonzales said the service, which would cost digital cable customers an additional $9.95 a month, would launch sometime "in the next few months."

DVRs such as TiVo allow viewers to record television shows onto a computer-style hard disk contained in a VCR-size box. Such technology allows TV viewers to pause and rewind live television programming, and set recording with the press of a single button.

----
fender4645 is offline  
post #111 of 885 Old 12-11-2003, 05:50 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SonomaSearcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 2,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, the people that work for Brian Roberts made a liar out of him. He just publicly proclaimed last week (at the Western Show) that Comcast would be launching DVR service "this quarter", i.e., by December 31st. (If Comcast does not end its current quarter on 12/31, someone please correct me.)

It doesn't look very good when the head honcho at Comcast says Comcast will be launching something within several weeks, and then within days his people are saying that, no, it won't be launched for several months. Obviously, I am not saying Roberts was deliberately misleading anyone-- but his people were feeding him bad information for him to say a launch would happen "this quarter."
SonomaSearcher is offline  
post #112 of 885 Old 12-11-2003, 06:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fender4645's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orinda, Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by SonomaSearcher
If Comcast does not end its current quarter on 12/31, someone please correct me.
According to their 3rd Quarter Results press release (http://www.cmcsk.com/phoenix.zhtml?c...lar&id=464588&) their Q3 ended September 31 which would make Q4 ending December 31 (honestly, I did the math). So yes, Brian Roberts' under-lyings did make a liar out of him.

I have way too much time on my hands.
fender4645 is offline  
post #113 of 885 Old 12-11-2003, 08:05 PM
Senior Member
 
the q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Collegeville, PA
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sonoma and fender4645 -

Comcast does have DVR rolled out and available to paying customers in at least several areas of northern Virginia and parts of New Jersey (from what I can tell) with the Scientific Atlanta cable box. And that's before 12/31.

It is a dual tuner but not HD.

Check it out www.comcast.com and enter in 22301 for Alexandria, VA or 08002 for Cherry Hill, NJ.

22301 led me to this page http://www.comcast.com/dvrsa/

There's a demo, pricing and FAQ's on the site listed above


08002 led me to this page http://www.comcast.com/sadvr/

Looks like the service is live.

The Q
the q is offline  
post #114 of 885 Old 12-12-2003, 07:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JWhip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Wayne, PA
Posts: 4,598
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 420 Post(s)
Liked: 478
I do not think I would want to be using the term liar which means a deliberate falsehood. Mistaken would be a much better term to use.

Louder is NOT better!
JWhip is online now  
post #115 of 885 Old 12-12-2003, 08:37 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SonomaSearcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 2,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't think he was deliberately misleading anyone so, no, he was not a liar. He's way too smart to intentionally make a misrepresentation which is proven false within a few days. "make a liar" out of someone is a phrase that essentially means that someone misleads you, you make a statement that is not true because you are misled, therefore they "made a liar" out of you.

Anyway, it's just semantics. But if I were a Tivo shareholder, I'd be more than a little peeved. His comments caused the price of Tivo shares to drop significantly-- but again, that was not an intended result
SonomaSearcher is offline  
post #116 of 885 Old 12-12-2003, 09:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JWhip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Wayne, PA
Posts: 4,598
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 420 Post(s)
Liked: 478
I can't really get too upset with Comcast about not deploying the 6208 yet given that it is very limited in that you can only record what you are watching, whether HD or SD. The 6408 has two tuners in it which will let it act the way people with Tivo experience would expect it to act. The people at Comcast tell me that they are not at all happy with the 6208 and don't want to put it oot there and just replace it in a few months. Remeber the HD sidecars before the 5100 came out. I am told I can have several thousand of them rather cheaply.

Louder is NOT better!
JWhip is online now  
post #117 of 885 Old 12-12-2003, 12:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
Llamas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It depends on which Tivo you're talking about... My DirecTivo has two tuners, but my SA Tivo (now my sister's) had one. Unless a tuner has to be available for playback to work, this shouldn't be too much of a problem compared to stand-alone PVRs.

I just figured that Comcast was going to field both, with a higher fee for the 6408.

<shrug>

--Mike
Llamas is offline  
post #118 of 885 Old 12-13-2003, 09:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Stop making curved screens
Posts: 30,687
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 603 Post(s)
Liked: 882
What about a standard-definition PVR from Comcast systems that use Motorola boxes?

Is there such a thing anywhere?

There is no difference in HDMI cables. If you can see the picture without visible dropouts or sparklies, the cable is working at 100%. No other cable will display a better version of that picture. You're simply wrong if you think there is a better digital cable than one that is already working. (Oh, and plasma didn't die because of logistics problems, nor does OLED ship in big boxes because it comes from Korea.)
rogo is offline  
post #119 of 885 Old 12-13-2003, 09:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Llamas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think there's an SA one for areas that use that equipment.

For the Motorola areas, I think they plan to let the 6x08 boxes cover both.
Llamas is offline  
post #120 of 885 Old 12-15-2003, 05:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeInNVa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Limington, Maine
Posts: 2,165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by the q
Sonoma and fender4645 -

Comcast does have DVR rolled out and available to paying customers in at least several areas of northern Virginia and parts of New Jersey (from what I can tell) with the Scientific Atlanta cable box. And that's before 12/31.

It is a dual tuner but not HD.

Check it out www.comcast.com and enter in 22301 for Alexandria, VA or 08002 for Cherry Hill, NJ.

22301 led me to this page http://www.comcast.com/dvrsa/

There's a demo, pricing and FAQ's on the site listed above


08002 led me to this page http://www.comcast.com/sadvr/

Looks like the service is live.
Yes, They do but it is not an HD Box, Meaning you cannot record HD material NOR can you view HD material.

I think this thread has gotten off track a bit. I thought this thread was about HD-DVR boxes.

Arrive
Raise Hell
Leave
JoeInNVa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off