Summary and Updates on Comcast HD DVR Deployment -- All Areas - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 885 Old 11-04-2003, 02:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SonomaSearcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 2,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The purpose of this thread is to collect all the information, from whatever sources, about HD DVR launches on Comcast systems. Accuracy of information not guaranteed, of course, as timelines may change because of technical problems and other factors. Also, some sources (such as CSR's) may be questionable.

Deployment was originally planned to begin in fall 2003, but was delayed until between late January 2004 and June 2004 in most systems, and until Fall 2004 in the balance of the systems (mostly systems in Comcast's West Division-- Seattle, Portland, Denver, Salt Lake City, Sacramento, Fresno, San Francisco and other western areas).

Comcast systems launching HD DVR's, with launch date(s) and projected HD DVR model:

1) Washington, DC (Prince George's & Montgomery Counties, MD): January 21-28, 2004 ; Motorola 6208


2) New Jersey: Unknown 2004 ;


3) Sacramento: Unknown 2004 (originally November 12; December 17; then, January 17, 2004); Motorola 6412


4) Fresno: Unknown 2004 (was November 12, then December or January); Motorola 6412


5) Maryland (Baltimore area): Unknown 2004; Motorola 6208 or Scientific Atlanta 8000HD ???


6) Nashville: Unknown 2004 (was November or December 2003); Motorola 6208


7) San Francisco Bay Area: March or April 2004 (was November 2003; December 17, 2003); Motorola 6208


8) Los Angeles: April 2004 ; Motorola 6208


9) Chicago: May 2004; Motorola 6208


10) Atlanta: May 2004 ; Motorola 6208


11) Chattanooga, TN: Summer 2004; Motorola 6408


12) Seattle: Unknown 2004; Motorola 6412


Further updates coming soon.


Rental cost for all areas: Varies, usually consisting of $9.95 for "DVR service" and $5 per month or more for the STB rental.

Digital cable subscription required.

Install cost of up to $22 or more. (Amount may vary by area.)

Self-installs (exchange current STB for HD DVR at local office) not available in most areas.

Also note: The "launch date" may be the date they start taking appointments via customer service, not the date you can actually get the DVR.

Non-HD DVR's are available in various areas: Arlington, VA (Scientific Atlanta); Ft. Myers, FL; areas of New Jersey.
SonomaSearcher is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 885 Old 11-04-2003, 05:22 PM
Senior Member
 
rodneyremington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As has been reported elsewhere on AVS, I am seeing Comcast commercials here in Fresno, California promoting their upcoming DVR. Basic marketing principles would seem to indicate a go-date within about 4 weeks of on-air promotions. So my 0.02 says that it will be rolled out as soon as the end of the month in Comcasts central california region.

Is this chicken what I have, or is this fish?
rodneyremington is offline  
post #3 of 885 Old 11-04-2003, 05:39 PM
Member
 
jasonsirota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On the other hand, I called the number above and was connected to a CSR in "my area". I asked if the DVR was going to come to Los Angeles in December as originally thought and he said "It might be a little later than that".

Plus they've been marketing it on their website for months...

He also said CBS, DiscoveryHD and History HD were on their way pending a "bandwidth reclaimation".

Jason

Fix a man's PC once and he'll call you to fix it again every day. Teach a man to fix his own PC...
...and he'll call you to fix it again every day.
jasonsirota is offline  
post #4 of 885 Old 11-04-2003, 06:49 PM
Newbie
 
fooflack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
scuttlebutt in Philly area is December
fooflack is offline  
post #5 of 885 Old 11-05-2003, 10:07 AM
Member
 
Valuepac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What about chicago??
Valuepac is offline  
post #6 of 885 Old 11-05-2003, 11:10 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SonomaSearcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 2,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Valuepac
What about chicago??
Call the tech help line and find out what they say. Better yet, find someone in management in the regional Comcast office and find out what they say. Then let us know.
SonomaSearcher is offline  
post #7 of 885 Old 11-05-2003, 05:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SonomaSearcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 2,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Confirmed by email from non-CSR that 6208's are coming to Sacramento area Comcast subscribers "very soon" but exact date is not definite. So that could be before November 15 or after November 15.

If you are in the Sacto area, I recommend you call at least every other day to attempt to order one, and see what they say.

Orders for DVR's on at least one or more Comcast systems will be taken starting Friday, November 7, according to one CSR. Maybe New Jersey? Remember, this particular date came from a regular CSR.

For better info about your area, try 888-824-4146.
SonomaSearcher is offline  
post #8 of 885 Old 11-05-2003, 08:26 PM
Member
 
Valuepac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried to call, but they had no clue when it will release for chicago. It pisses me off that they dont have it my a major city like chicago. Thats comcrap for you
Valuepac is offline  
post #9 of 885 Old 11-06-2003, 12:24 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SonomaSearcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 2,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New date for Sacramento: November 12 (less than a week away). This is probably the date they will start taking orders, so actual installation would be whenever you schedule the appointment.

Same date for Stockton (same market area as Sacto) and for Fresno.

It sounds like they will not allow you to exchange the 5100 for the 6208 at the local office.

Also, Nashville: Word from one avsforum member is late November/early December.
SonomaSearcher is offline  
post #10 of 885 Old 11-06-2003, 12:39 PM
Member
 
jasonsirota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I assume Northern/Central CA and Socal are different comcast regions and therefore different dates. Can you get 2 boxes and ship me one?

haha.

Jason

Fix a man's PC once and he'll call you to fix it again every day. Teach a man to fix his own PC...
...and he'll call you to fix it again every day.
jasonsirota is offline  
post #11 of 885 Old 11-06-2003, 12:41 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SonomaSearcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 2,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jason,

What's your firmware version down there? If it's 05.03 or 06.04, you are getting closer to having the 6208 available in your area.
SonomaSearcher is offline  
post #12 of 885 Old 11-06-2003, 12:49 PM
Member
 
jasonsirota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't remember what it is right now but I know it's not 6.04 because I don't have the DVI yet. I do have the 4:3 override which I believe is 5.03 but I'm not sure. I'll have to check when I go home.. full time jobs are a b****.

Jason

Fix a man's PC once and he'll call you to fix it again every day. Teach a man to fix his own PC...
...and he'll call you to fix it again every day.
jasonsirota is offline  
post #13 of 885 Old 11-06-2003, 12:52 PM
Member
 
phil_e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: towson, maryland
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Comcast CSR says Motorola 6208 DVR in Baltimore Co, Maryland late Dec/early Jan.
phil_e is offline  
post #14 of 885 Old 11-06-2003, 06:08 PM
Member
 
newtoHT2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is Comcast's answer about South Jersey:

Our Technical department is currently testing new equipment. You will be notified as soon as the Motorola 6208 box is available. Please check our web-site for information for other new products that become available.

Mark
newtoHT2003 is offline  
post #15 of 885 Old 11-07-2003, 12:41 PM
Member
 
Hazama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cameron Park, CA
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
SonomaSearcher:

Does this also include the El Dorado Hills area? [Placerville?]
We seem to have similar channel line ups as Sacramento.... so I can only hope this will be the case?

Thanks!

Jeremy
Hazama is offline  
post #16 of 885 Old 11-07-2003, 12:54 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SonomaSearcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 2,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jeremy,

Yes, it should. You could even start calling today to see what they tell you, but they probably will either be clueless or tell you to call back on the 12th.
SonomaSearcher is offline  
post #17 of 885 Old 11-07-2003, 01:01 PM
rrg
Advanced Member
 
rrg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: NJ
Posts: 795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by newtoHT2003
You will be notified as soon as the Motorola 6208 box is available. Please check our web-site for information for other new products that become available.
Does this mean that you're now on a mailing list of people who will be notified? Or does it mean "check our Web site for the latest news!"?

Ron Gomes
rrg is offline  
post #18 of 885 Old 11-07-2003, 01:04 PM
Member
 
newtoHT2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is Comcast's answer about the SA8000HD box in South Jersey:

"I am happy to say that within the next 6 months the DVR feature will also be available with the 8000 HD and will be available in your area.
Currently it is also being tested."

The SA80000HD has TWO tuners!

Mark
newtoHT2003 is offline  
post #19 of 885 Old 11-07-2003, 01:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SonomaSearcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 2,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For better info about your area, try 888-824-4146 (sorry, just found out this is a S.F. Bay Area number only, but you can try it anyway and maybe they can give you a better number for your area-- if all else fails call 1800 COMCAST and ask them for a technical assistance number) and ask them when you can order a DVR.

Once they say you can order one, make sure it is an HD DVR. (If you are in a Motorola 5100 area, you shoud get a Motorola 6208.)
SonomaSearcher is offline  
post #20 of 885 Old 11-07-2003, 01:15 PM
Member
 
phil_e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: towson, maryland
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The number 888-824-4146 is for the west coast only. They would provide no information about the east coast when I called yesterday.
phil_e is offline  
post #21 of 885 Old 11-07-2003, 01:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SonomaSearcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 2,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, I just called and discovered that. I got it when I called 1800 COMCAST and the CSR referred me to the technical assistance line and gave me the number to dial it direct. So there must be a similar number for your area-- ask a regular CSR for the direct line for technical assistance.
SonomaSearcher is offline  
post #22 of 885 Old 11-07-2003, 02:52 PM
Member
 
jasonsirota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I called the number above, they said it didn't service SoCal and they transfered me to a person in Los Angeles who answered my questions. Call the west coast number and see if they can transfer you to a tech person in your area..

if it doesn't work the first time, call the number again and see if you get a different person...

Jason

Fix a man's PC once and he'll call you to fix it again every day. Teach a man to fix his own PC...
...and he'll call you to fix it again every day.
jasonsirota is offline  
post #23 of 885 Old 11-07-2003, 03:53 PM
Senior Member
 
rodneyremington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by phil_e
The number 888-824-4146 is for the west coast only. They would provide no information about the east coast when I called yesterday.
I just called the number and the CSR said "what's a DVR?" :p Glad to see they are still hiring people with an interest in their products. Could they not, at the least, have a newsletter or something for the employees to read on upcoming products. I mean, we are days away from release here.

Is this chicken what I have, or is this fish?
rodneyremington is offline  
post #24 of 885 Old 11-07-2003, 04:18 PM
Member
 
dartinbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I called the number (as I'm a glutten for frustration) and was told to go to the local office in SF to pick up my 6208. HaaHahahaha. Like that'll work!
(quietly planning on trying it anyway)

db
dartinbout is offline  
post #25 of 885 Old 11-07-2003, 04:41 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SonomaSearcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 2,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by dartinbout
I called the number (as I'm a glutten for frustration) and was told to go to the local office in SF to pick up my 6208. HaaHahahaha. Like that'll work!
(quietly planning on trying it anyway)

db
Interesting, whoever you talked to didn't know what he/she was talking about. What exactly did they say? ("You can go down to the SF office and exchange your current STB for a 6208 anytime" ????)
SonomaSearcher is offline  
post #26 of 885 Old 11-07-2003, 04:56 PM
Member
 
dartinbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
pretty much, but..... they didn't mention anything about an exchange!
ROFL!
Minimum wage obviously doesn't go as far as it used to.
dartinbout is offline  
post #27 of 885 Old 11-07-2003, 05:47 PM
Member
 
jasonsirota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
when I got my 5100 box, the guy showed up with the 5100 and started unhooking my 2000, thoroughly worked into my home theater.

me - "I just ordered a second box"
him - "that's not what it says here"

(he then started unhooking the box again, I had to physically touch him to get him to take his hand off of it)

me - "please, everything's hooked up. can I just get a second box?"
him - "I'm not authorized to do that"
me - "can I call comcast now? I can't stay home another day from work"
him - "hold on" (calls comcast) "okay, here's the second box, sorry about that"

He just left it at that point and I split the cable, hooked all the wires up and changed all the menu options. Haha!

Jason

Fix a man's PC once and he'll call you to fix it again every day. Teach a man to fix his own PC...
...and he'll call you to fix it again every day.
jasonsirota is offline  
post #28 of 885 Old 11-09-2003, 02:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
UCSB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Pleasanton, CA (San Francisco Bay Area)
Posts: 2,528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WOW!!! This is great news!!! I can’t wait to get my new 6208 here in the San Francisco Bay Area.

I am currently using the Motorola 5100 via the component video output. Does anyone know if there will be an improvement in picture quality stepping up to the DVI output on the 6208? I have a Samsung HLN467W 46†DLP monitor and it really shines with my current DVD player via the DVI interface.

Has anyone heard if the 1394 ports will be activated? In Motorola’s marketing literature it says you can just add a 1394 hard drive(s) to expand the unit’s storage capability. Has anyone heard if this capability will be active? If it is active, I’m really impressed and excited because it would be very easy to add extra storage above the 80 GB that comes with the unit.

> Bill
UCSB is offline  
post #29 of 885 Old 11-09-2003, 11:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
UCSB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Pleasanton, CA (San Francisco Bay Area)
Posts: 2,528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
San Francisco Bay Area Update:

Just got off the phone with Comcast. They are NOT taking 6208 orders yet for the San Francisco Bay Area (Pleasanton, CA).

The person that I talked to said that they had received a memo stating that the units will be available before the end of the year. She also said that the staff have not been trained or briefed on the units yet. Therefore, she could NOT answer specific questions, such as whether the 1394 ports would be active or if external storage would be supported.

She felt the rollout would start in December and suggested that I call back on December 1st.

> Bill
UCSB is offline  
post #30 of 885 Old 11-10-2003, 11:54 AM
Senior Member
 
jcorkery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So... Is this box available anywhere yet? Seems like the roll-out should already be happening in certain areas, according to the original post.
jcorkery is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off