LG LST-3410A Review and Discussion - Page 241 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7201 of 7209 Old 03-16-2014, 06:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jan J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Skokie, Illinois
Posts: 1,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just dropped by to say "HI"... Wife still using 3 of 4 units... I've experiment using 4th to feed Component HD to a capture system.... and it works!

Looking for a 1939 Indian Motocycle
Jan J is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7202 of 7209 Old 10-18-2014, 07:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jan J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Skokie, Illinois
Posts: 1,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
3 of 4 in use every day... 4th used only once or so a month....

Did encounter something odd... Bailed out of record on Ken Burns OTA program on PBS.... but then found out all cable boxes switched on H & V copy protection on same program.... After the show was over, all returned to 'normal'.... So I think there was something in the OTA stream that burped the recording.

Happened to me, and another on same OTA recording, at same time! (Clock froze at same time).... Multiple 3410a firmwares, so it must follow something in OTA signal... But I'm not sure what...

Looking for a 1939 Indian Motocycle
Jan J is offline  
post #7203 of 7209 Old 12-05-2014, 05:49 PM
Senior Member
 
kcgr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I've just been a lurker on this thread, but I now have a reason to post a 'big thanks' to Jan J. My unit was doing the "Hello" error, so I found the old posts on replacing the C129 cap, and I'm back in business. My soldering skills weren't the most artistic, but who cares... the electrons are flowing now. Thanks again for your posts. I have the other caps just in case, but I'll wait until I need to do 'em, since the unit is lightly loaded.
kcgr is offline  
post #7204 of 7209 Old 12-06-2014, 06:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jan J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Skokie, Illinois
Posts: 1,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks kcgr for your kind words....

Yes, I posted Mods as I stumbled across them....3 of 4 units are still in use each day... . 2 of the 4 have larger hard drives in them, one a PC drive, rather than the specified Quickview drive.

The Power supply mods I've done to about 24 units now, Not One has acted up since.

Back when TVG was being transmitted on CBS cable channels and it was locking up the 3410a, removal of the TVG cap prevented the 3-4 day lockup....

Thank goodness they left the old fashioned VCR Record setup menu in the box, eh????

Way back when, when I had a computer with W98 on it, I was upgrading 3410a firmware..... V1.17 was the last version they made, and I routinely upgraded 1.12, 1.14, and 1.15 to 1.17 on 'many' units...

Has anyone found a program that works under W7 for that could transfer binary files out a serial port?

Looking for a 1939 Indian Motocycle
Jan J is offline  
post #7205 of 7209 Old 12-06-2014, 07:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 1,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jan J View Post
Has anyone found a program that works under W7 for that could transfer binary files out a serial port?
WinSCP: just used it in a training class this week to transfer binary files (basically a GUI based FTP).

Yamaha DSP-A1 Integrated Amp
(4) Polk Monitor 10B's w/SoniCaps and Mills resistors (R/L F/R), (2) Polk Monitor 4's w/peerless tweets (Top Middle), Polk CS300 center channel
Analog: B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Digital: Pioneer CLD-99 Elite LD, Samsung BD-P2550 Blu-Ray/DVD
Princeton AF3.0HD Monitor
Stanton is offline  
post #7206 of 7209 Old 12-07-2014, 04:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jan J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Skokie, Illinois
Posts: 1,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for that information...

Looking for a 1939 Indian Motocycle
Jan J is offline  
post #7207 of 7209 Old 01-10-2015, 07:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jan J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Skokie, Illinois
Posts: 1,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Question came up....

Has anyone tried a SATA drive with the 3410a?

What Sata to PATA interface did you use?

Thanks!

Looking for a 1939 Indian Motocycle
Jan J is offline  
post #7208 of 7209 Old 01-10-2015, 07:37 PM
Senior Member
 
joecass's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jan J View Post
Question came up....

Has anyone tried a SATA drive with the 3410a?

What Sata to PATA interface did you use?

Thanks!

Yes,,, I installed a WD 2500AAKS 250GB several years ago using a generic IDE to SATA adapter purchased on Ebay for about $4. Works very well, also works in older computers without SATA connections. With this adapter, no need to worry about Master/Slave configuration unless you're using more than one drive
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IDE to SATA.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	103.3 KB
ID:	471961   Click image for larger version

Name:	IDE=SATA.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	91.1 KB
ID:	471969  
joecass is offline  
post #7209 of 7209 Old 01-10-2015, 07:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jan J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Skokie, Illinois
Posts: 1,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by joecass View Post
Yes,,, I installed a WD 2500AAKS 250GB several years ago using a generic IDE to SATA adapter purchased on Ebay for about $4. Works very well, also works in older computers without SATA connections. With this adapter, no need to worry about Master/Slave configuration unless you're using more than one drive
Thanks much for this information.... Fantastic to hear that it worked fine! Will pass it on...

Looking for a 1939 Indian Motocycle
Jan J is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off