Mitsubishi HDTV PVR HD-6000 - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-11-2005, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would guess that this unit has been delayed until they can resolve the issues surrounding the Gemstar guide. The xx825 series DLP sets were released without it with promises for a firmware upgrade sometime in 2005.

Boy, am I glad I didn't wait for this (and good thing I don't need cablecard...yet). I've almost 100 hours of HD archived via my LG over the last few months.
Marc Alexander is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-01-2005, 02:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Audball's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Union City, CA
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got the LG tuner as well, but I much rather have the HD-6000. It has all the features of the LG but more. HD inputs and a built in scalar is what I really want because I have the Mits 50" plasma.

Anyone know if this will have Picture in Picture support or perhaps dual tuner to record and watch another program? BTW, got an email from Mits stating ETA is next month, but I don't think I will bet my TV on that.
Audball is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 08:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I gave up on this PVR.

I am going to add a Motorola 6412 to the LG since my provider has started to scramble the QAM now.
Marc Alexander is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 07:58 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Kipp Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 11,785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I can't believe the delay has been this long.

Kipp
Are you boozen & cruisin the AVS? Join us here ---> http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...8&page=1&pp=60 good times! www.illinoiscarry.org www.nra.org
Kipp Jones is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 01:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: The Land of Sugar, TX
Posts: 2,102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Kipp Jones
I can't believe the delay has been this long.
I have to believe there's someone at Mitsubishi USA headquarters asking themselves if it's worth it to release this thing at all. I wonder what sort of volumes they're predicting.

-phil

Life's a party, let's get out and strut.
PhilB is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 01:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
IFLYSWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 937
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by PhilB
I have to believe there's someone at Mitsubishi USA headquarters asking themselves if it's worth it to release this thing at all. I wonder what sort of volumes they're predicting.

-phil
Especially if the price point of $2K that I heard awhile back holds....that is, if this is the same unit I heard talked about back then....

-Randy

Randy
IFLYSWA is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 08:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Audball's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Union City, CA
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to their customer service the HD-6000 has been released months ago. Perhaps their resellers dont think this unit has any demand and simply dont order any. I've actually contact a couple resellers and they confirmed they can get me one at a whopping $1,999.00. I will buy it if someone can confirm if the unit will record off the HD inputs other than RF inputs.

Aud
Audball is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 09:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 17,888
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1036 Post(s)
Liked: 791
I don't see where the PDF spec-sheet brochure for their 04-05 product line is still on their site (it may be, but I don't know the URL). I have it on my HDD, and it has this to say:
Quote:
VIDEO FEATURES
AMVP2™ Motion Processor •
Comb Filter Motion-Adaptive 480-Line 3D Y/C
Output Scanning Rates (adjustable) 480p, 720p, 1080i
Picture Format Modes for analog 480i/480p
and 4:3 digital sources 6
Picture Format Modes for analog 720p/1080i
and digital 16:9 sources 2

USER INTERFACE
Control Features
NetCommand® 4.0 •
CableCommand™ (Digital Cable Control) •
ChannelView™ (On-screen Channel List) •
IR Learning Capabilities •
TV Guide On Screen® (8 day interactive program guide) •
PerfectColor™ / Auto Color Correction •

PVR Features
Internal PVR Hard Disc Drive Recorder 120 GB
(approximately 12 hours HD recording)
Live TV Pause and Instant Replay
Digitally Record Analog Channels
Digitally Record Digital SD and HD Channels
Schedule Recordings from TV Guide On-Screen®
Digitally Record from Video/S-Video Devices
Digitally Record from Firewire® MPEG2 Devices
Digitally Playback to Firewire® MPEG2 Devices

PIP/POP Features
Multi-Image 1 PIP, 3 and 9 POP
Split Screen
Channel Preview/Input Strobe (analog channels only)

TUNING
Digital/Analog Combined Tuner Air/Cable - ATSC/NTSC/CableCARDâ„¢
2nd Analog Tuner for PIP/POP image only •
INPUTS ANTENNA (RF) INPUTS 2 Analog/Digital Combined
CableCARD™ Slot •

AV INPUTS (ANALOG)
A/V Inputs with S-Video with Stereo Audio 2
Component Video Inputs with Stereo Audio (480i/480p/720p/1080i) 2
Input-DTV (YPbPr/RGBHV) with Stereo Audio (480i/480p/720p/1080i) 1
PC Input (60Hz) with Stereo Audio (VGA 640 x 480) 1

AV OUTPUTS (ANALOG)
Monitor A/V Output (for recording) •
YPbPr with Stereo Audio Output (fixed/variable audio) "To Display" •

INPUTS/OUTPUTS (DIGITAL)
FireWire® (IEEE 1394) 3
HDMIâ„¢ Input 1
HDMIâ„¢ Output "To Display" 1
RS-232C Output for Display 1
Digital Audio Bitstream Output (Dolby® Digital) 1 (coaxial)
Now, if "Digitally Record Digital SD and HD Channels" mean "only if they're over-the-air", then this thing is of inconceivably stupid design. I have to believe that it can record clear QAM and CableCARD tuned channels as well.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
Old 03-16-2005, 02:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
miimura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cupertino, CA
Posts: 1,345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Audball
According to their customer service the HD-6000 has been released months ago. Perhaps their resellers dont think this unit has any demand and simply dont order any. I've actually contact a couple resellers and they confirmed they can get me one at a whopping $1,999.00. I will buy it if someone can confirm if the unit will record off the HD inputs other than RF inputs.

Aud
What source do you want to record?

- Mike
miimura is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 02:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Audball's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Union City, CA
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by miimura
What source do you want to record?

- Mike
All highbandwidth inputs.... I know HDCP and the 5C's will limit what I record, but it's nice to know it can record off of all inputs. Who knows maybe there will be some sources worth recording w/o copy protection.
Audball is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 03:05 PM
Senior Member
 
ranger999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't have inside info on this unit, but it is unlikely for the price to record unprotected HDMI--you still can't get a realtime MPEG2 high definition encoder into a retail product for just $2000. Same goes for component recording. This is a DVR, so there's no point spending engineering resources to develop the ability to record from an external source, only the tuner internally. (You can buy a PC card to do realtime MPEG2 compression in HD, but I believe these are still "prosumer" range, i.e. $1500+ and up) Too bad it only has one tuner, but this is partly a problem with current CableCard (you can't service multiple QAM tuners off of one CableCard for those encrypted channels). Can anyone figure out what niche this $2000 machine with one single tuner is aimed at?
ranger999 is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 07:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
PhillyC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Think of this thing as a TV (without the display) with a built-in DVR. That's why it has all the inputs, PIP, etc., etc. You can hook this up to a PDP or the like and have all the features of a TV.

I already have a Sony plasma with similar inputs, but could use this in between my other equipment and the plasma. This would add a couple of component inputs to my setup, kind of like using the HD-6000 as a switcher, too. I suppose it's a bit of overkill, but would be a very flexible system.

I'd like to jump on this DVR because it has almost everything (if you forget about dual tuners). But the drawbacks are:

1) No mention of the ability to play back a previous recording while doing a timer recording.

2) It is not yet known if the unit will accept a larger HDD.

3) The price.

If #1 and #2 were solved, I might make an allowance for a high price (although not anywhere near $2000). Otherwise, I'll stick with just my LG 3410A and Comcast 6412.

Phil
PhillyC is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 08:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 17,888
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1036 Post(s)
Liked: 791
Quote:
Originally posted by ranger999
Can anyone figure out what niche this $2000 machine with one single tuner is aimed at?
As PhillyC says, this is the HDTV tuning/built-in PVR guts of one of MItsubishi's high-end RPTVs (and a couple of widescreen flatpanel LCDs, I think), put in an outboard package and marketed primarily as a an addition to one of their high-end PDPs. Plug one of these into a PDP with an HDMI cable and shazaam! You got a PDP with an NTSC/ATSC/CableCARD tuner, a 120GB PVR and Mitsubishi's NetCommand HAVi-based 1394 networked A/V device control gimmick. You also get a plethora of inputs and outputs.

Again, it's really not designed to be a PVR per se.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
Old 03-17-2005, 12:41 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Kipp Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 11,785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ideally, I would to mate one of these with a primo front projector to have the best of both worlds.

Kipp
Are you boozen & cruisin the AVS? Join us here ---> http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...8&page=1&pp=60 good times! www.illinoiscarry.org www.nra.org
Kipp Jones is offline  
Old 04-24-2005, 09:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
PhillyC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, folks, the one-year anniversary (4/19/04) of Mitsubishi's HD-6000 product announcement has quietly come and gone. Very quietly.

Very disappointing.

Phil
PhillyC is offline  
Old 04-24-2005, 03:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From what I've experienced with the DVR in the 62825 DLP (not mine of course)...we didn't miss much.
Marc Alexander is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 12:02 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 449 Post(s)
Liked: 445
Is this product history? Does anyone else make a CableCARD DVR?
Keenan is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 02:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Audball's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Union City, CA
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sony will but has been delayed until 5/21 last I heard. But no firewire. I hear the delay is due to some patent issues with the TV Guide software. You need to refer to the Sony thread. Perhaps this is also causing the delay with the Mits as well since they both use the TV Guide software. I doubt it since the LG uses the TV Guide software and has been out for over a year.
Audball is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 08:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
PhillyC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Kipp, from your CEDIA thread where you refer to the HD-6000:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kipp Jones
I saw it at CEDIA and was told it is now available. What a piece of hardware. I am seriously considering pairing one up with a Qualia 004. That is a match made in heaven.
We have heard this before. The HD-6000 is nowhere to be found. What's Mitsubishi's problem?

Did you notice if the specs have changed in any way? Like maybe an increase in HDD size?

Phil
PhillyC is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 01:31 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Kipp Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 11,785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Have you tried to order one?

Kipp
Are you boozen & cruisin the AVS? Join us here ---> http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...8&page=1&pp=60 good times! www.illinoiscarry.org www.nra.org
Kipp Jones is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 01:31 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Kipp Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 11,785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Call Mits and ask who has them. Tweeter maybe???

Kipp
Are you boozen & cruisin the AVS? Join us here ---> http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...8&page=1&pp=60 good times! www.illinoiscarry.org www.nra.org
Kipp Jones is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 02:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
PhillyC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No, I haven't tried. IF they are available, and only that way, the asking price would probably be MSRP --- $1999. Very high.

And I don't know if there would be a problem connecting the HD-6000 to my Sony plasma media box. I think it should work, but it's like connecting one TV to another. My idea is to use it as stated in my March 16 post above.

Phil
PhillyC is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 11:52 PM
Member
 
surfengine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The HD6000 is shipping with the LT4060. I dont think its available as a stand alone.
I could be wrong tho.
surfengine is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 07:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
PhillyC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I sent Mitsubishi an e-mail via their Web site asking about the HD-6000. They responded with instructions to call them. The call resulted in being told to check the Web site. All right, then.

Tweeter said they have never heard of the HD-6000.

Phil
PhillyC is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 08:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
PhillyC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just found the spec sheet for the LT-4260. Yes, that is the HD-6000 that comes with it.

Phil
PhillyC is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 06:53 AM
Senior Member
 
Audball's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Union City, CA
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry to revive this thread, but I am now seeing more online stores carry this, at least they say they do. Anyone own one yet??
Audball is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 06:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Blessed is he who revives a thread...cursed is he who starts a new one. :cool:
Marc Alexander is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 07:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
PhillyC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Audball
Sorry to revive this thread, but I am now seeing more online stores carry this, at least they say they do. Anyone own one yet??
What online stores are carrying this? The only current listing I find is at DigitalCraze.com, who I know nothing about, and they don't say if it's really in stock. Otherwise, searches only turn up press releases from over a year ago, or merchants who have had the product listed for many months, but say it's not yet available.

The LT-4260 appears to be a new model Mits TV that's not yet released. As noted above, it uses the HD-6000 for a tuner. (Well, the spec sheet shows the back of the unit, which looks exactly like the back of the HD-6000.) Maybe when the TV hits the street the HD-6000 will also be available.

Phil
PhillyC is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off