DirecTV HD TiVo HR10-250! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4353 Old 04-24-2004, 09:54 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Please place all related comments in this topic, thanks.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4353 Old 04-25-2004, 04:53 AM
Member
 
Graphics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Hoschton, Georgia (DirecTV Subscriber since 1996)
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm curious to hear from any of the new owners of this unit if that have successfully recorded any PPV HD material?

Graphics
Graphics is offline  
post #3 of 4353 Old 04-25-2004, 07:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tweakophyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Boulder, CO, USA
Posts: 3,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tweakophyte is offline  
post #4 of 4353 Old 04-25-2004, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jones07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Phila Pa.
Posts: 4,849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Really quiet in here for such a long awaited unit .

Quess they are having to much fun playing with their new bug free toy


Dish-921 ? hummmmmm, Game Over

WeÂre doomed. It will never work
jones07 is offline  
post #5 of 4353 Old 04-25-2004, 05:56 PM
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Graphics
I'm curious to hear from any of the new owners of this unit if that have successfully recorded any PPV HD material?
Yes I recorded Seabiscuit and it was fantastic. Stunning PQ and DD audio looked amazing on my 61" RCA Scenium DLP.
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
post #6 of 4353 Old 04-25-2004, 07:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dswallow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Long Branch, NJ, USA
Posts: 1,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by jones07
Dish-921 ? hummmmmm, Game Over
You can't even say the HR10-250 killed the Dish 921 since Dish Network officially killed it themselves just before the HR10-250 shipped.
dswallow is offline  
post #7 of 4353 Old 04-25-2004, 08:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Fred DeGrandis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rocky River, Ohio
Posts: 1,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No PQ loss at all between live HDTV and recorded HDTV. This box is amazing! Thank God I never switched to DISH or VOOM.

Fred M. DeGrandis Jr.
Fred DeGrandis is offline  
post #8 of 4353 Old 04-25-2004, 09:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jones07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Phila Pa.
Posts: 4,849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't count Voom out of the fight yet. Voom is just warming up on the speed bag ;)

WeÂre doomed. It will never work
jones07 is offline  
post #9 of 4353 Old 04-26-2004, 12:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hongcho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The OTA reception seems to be slightly better than Toshiba DST-3000.

No major problems, except that I can no longer record "Wonderfalls". :p

Hong.

i have great faith in fools -- self confidence my friends call it. -- edgar allan poe
hongcho is offline  
post #10 of 4353 Old 04-26-2004, 06:04 AM
alv
Advanced Member
 
alv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Arlington MA
Posts: 608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Its quiet because everyone is posting on Tivo forum.
alv is offline  
post #11 of 4353 Old 04-26-2004, 10:06 AM
Newbie
 
jibreger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why can't you record Wonderfalls?
jibreger is offline  
post #12 of 4353 Old 04-26-2004, 10:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
stephenC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Internet
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wonderfalls was cancelled. You can't record what isn't broadcast.
stephenC is offline  
post #13 of 4353 Old 04-26-2004, 11:04 AM
Member
 
TheStever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Crown Point, IN
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It looks like they didn't bother to offer the Home Media Option! What a shame! Could have been the Killer Box! At least its out finally.
TheStever is offline  
post #14 of 4353 Old 04-26-2004, 02:09 PM
Senior Member
 
hollismb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The home media option requires the USB ports to be active, which they aren't yet. I wonder if we'll ever see them activated at this point, since they still aren't on the SD models either.

Anyone got ideas on when regular retail outlets will begin carrying it?
hollismb is offline  
post #15 of 4353 Old 04-26-2004, 02:13 PM
 
merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Deep in the Woodlands of Texas
Posts: 3,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How much is this box and can I buy and use it without using Direct TV?
merc is offline  
post #16 of 4353 Old 04-26-2004, 02:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry Hutchinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Beaverton,OR
Posts: 1,613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Any improvement in the SD pic. quality?
Personally, I will never use this unit for SD.

My only non-obvious observation is that the unit's RF input is easily overloaded. I had to add an attenuator.

My obvious observation: It's an HD TiVo -- with dual Sat and dual ATSC inputs -- and it works!!!

See the TiVo forum if you want lots of postings.
Larry Hutchinson is offline  
post #17 of 4353 Old 04-26-2004, 02:42 PM
 
merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Deep in the Woodlands of Texas
Posts: 3,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is this unit a true HD tuner too?

If so, does it have an active firewire output per FCC regulations?
merc is offline  
post #18 of 4353 Old 04-26-2004, 02:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hongcho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
> How much is this box and can I buy and use it without using Direct TV?

MSRP: $999 (actualy price you end up paying, it depends). It won't record without a DirecTV account activation. You can use it as an OTA ATSC receiver, though.

> Is this unit a true HD tuner too?

Yes.

> If so, does it have an active firewire output per FCC regulations?

No. First, it's not regulation, it's a FCC mandate (that is, not a law). Second, that mandate only applies to cable companies that signed it.

Hong.

i have great faith in fools -- self confidence my friends call it. -- edgar allan poe
hongcho is offline  
post #19 of 4353 Old 04-26-2004, 03:17 PM
 
jeffthurmont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Thurmont,Maryland
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would love to hear how this box compares in tuner sensitivity to samsungs and sonys. Not much info over on the tivo forum on that. Also, is it possible to stretch 4:3 digital ota with bars to fit a 16:9 tv while in 1080i? On some boxes you can trick it by saying you have a 4:3 tv and then hitting zoom or expand. The samsung stbs do this. Hope all are enjoying their new toy. Jeff
jeffthurmont is offline  
post #20 of 4353 Old 04-26-2004, 03:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dswallow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Long Branch, NJ, USA
Posts: 1,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by jeffthurmont
I would love to hear how this box compares in tuner sensitivity to samsungs and sonys. Not much info over on the tivo forum on that. Also, is it possible to stretch 4:3 digital ota with bars to fit a 16:9 tv while in 1080i? On some boxes you can trick it by saying you have a 4:3 tv and then hitting zoom or expand. The samsung stbs do this. Hope all are enjoying their new toy. Jeff
I think the OTA tuners in the HR10-250 are equal to or just slightly better than the Zenith HD-SAT520. I find the one fronge signal I get break sup a lot less often with the HR10-250 than it did on the Zenith.

I've not tried the combination, but setting the HR10-250 up identifying your TV as 4:3 then selecting a 480i or 480p output format should allow most televisions with a zoom to use the zoom; this would generally fill up the screen with the 4:3 material.

But you've probably lost a bit in the translation. Since the unit had to add bars above and below, and then deliver that over a 480-line signal, you've shrunk the picture resolution that was available down to something you're then going to zoom in on back to "full screen".
dswallow is offline  
post #21 of 4353 Old 04-26-2004, 04:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,244
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 418 Post(s)
Liked: 569
Doug, how does the unit stretch 4:3 non HD material? Is it non-linear and of a quality comparable to the Sony/Zenith combos?
Ken Ross is offline  
post #22 of 4353 Old 04-26-2004, 04:13 PM
 
jeffthurmont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Thurmont,Maryland
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Doug, Very good news about the tuner. The Zenith model you referred to is highly regarded in picking up hard signals. So I am assuming that the tivo will not stretch 1080i ota signal with bars to fit a 16:9 tv? The only way to do this is by lowering the rate to 480p or i and letting your set handle the zoom. Thanks again
jeffthurmont is offline  
post #23 of 4353 Old 04-26-2004, 09:50 PM
nyg
AVS Special Member
 
nyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 6,687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd be all over this box if it had firewire, but that's already been discussed to death here. Glad to hear it's pretty nice otherwise.
nyg is offline  
post #24 of 4353 Old 04-26-2004, 10:01 PM
Senior Member
 
danielhart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by hollismb
Anyone got ideas on when regular retail outlets will begin carrying it?
Good Guys on West Coast supposed to be 4/28, most already spoken for via preorders. Unsure on BB and CC, have heard sometime in May.

daniel

"Cueball's made of styrofoam, and no one's got the time"
danielhart is offline  
post #25 of 4353 Old 04-26-2004, 10:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dswallow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Long Branch, NJ, USA
Posts: 1,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Ken Ross
Doug, how does the unit stretch 4:3 non HD material? Is it non-linear and of a quality comparable to the Sony/Zenith combos?
It has a non-linear stretch that I find I prefer to use to watch 4:3 material. It's a combination of a non-linear stretch and a slight zoom, so you are losing a bit off the top and bottom, however I find it's approximately what I'd have lost on a CRT-based display. Funny thing is I never noticed that slight zoom until tonight when I *paused* the HR10-250 and studied the differences. :)

I never use the Zenith's non-linear stretch modes; I don't really even remember if it's different than what the P50 does. Since mostly I use the Zenith only when watching HD material and a SAT-T60 with SD material, it never really even occurred to me to remember there was a non-linear stretch on it.

Now, I could certainly always have paused using the Zenith HD-SAT520, but using pause on that receive seems kinda pointless since when you unpause you've missed everything that was on while paused so I always forget it's there.
dswallow is offline  
post #26 of 4353 Old 04-27-2004, 09:01 AM
Newbie
 
ganleybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would like to archive the occaisonal recorded program onto a DVD.

Can I use the 480p output of the HR10-250 to input to my DVD recorder? I'm assuming that this will downsample any HD programming so that it can be recorded onto a DV-R...
ganleybob is offline  
post #27 of 4353 Old 04-27-2004, 09:06 AM
Senior Member
 
danielhart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by ganleybob
I would like to archive the occaisonal recorded program onto a DVD.

Can I use the 480p output of the HR10-250 to input to my DVD recorder? I'm assuming that this will downsample any HD programming so that it can be recorded onto a DV-R...
The short answer is "nope." You could do it with 480i though, and then set your dvd playback to 480p.

daniel

"Cueball's made of styrofoam, and no one's got the time"
danielhart is offline  
post #28 of 4353 Old 04-27-2004, 10:29 AM
Newbie
 
obie3612's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: washington, dc
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have pre ordered the HD Tivo HR10-250, but I have not yet purchased a HD TV. I have looked at the Sony Grand Wega 42 inch LCD projection and it looked pretty good. What considerations should I take into account before purchasing a HD TV so that it would be the most compatable TV with the HD Tivo HR10-250.
obie3612 is offline  
post #29 of 4353 Old 04-27-2004, 02:21 PM
agn
Member
 
agn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So i finally got a 61" Sony Grand Wega and I ordered HD from Direct TV. But now that the Tivo HD is out, what do I do? Once they install the regular receiver, i'll be stuck with it. So when the TIVO HD is bought, i'm stuck with a receiver and no tv, directv won't seem to take the original back even if only a few weeks later. This seems ridiculous since I can't get the TIVO in time so i'm forced to get the regular receiver or wait with no receiver till tivo is out. Any ideas?
agn is offline  
post #30 of 4353 Old 04-27-2004, 02:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PJO1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by agn
So i finally got a 61" Sony Grand Wega and I ordered HD from Direct TV. But now that the Tivo HD is out, what do I do? Once they install the regular receiver, i'll be stuck with it. So when the TIVO HD is bought, i'm stuck with a receiver and no tv, directv won't seem to take the original back even if only a few weeks later. This seems ridiculous since I can't get the TIVO in time so i'm forced to get the regular receiver or wait with no receiver till tivo is out. Any ideas?
you could put the regular receiver on eBay.
PJO1966 is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off