Comcast to offer Moxi Media Center!!! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 94 Old 04-26-2004, 11:29 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ethune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Los Gatos, CA
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This should stir things up!

http://www.siliconvalley.com/mld/sil...ey/8521855.htm
ethune is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 94 Old 04-26-2004, 12:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FSugino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Looks veeeeery interesting...

Flicks? Here's my collection. And I've seen a lot, too.
FSugino is offline  
post #3 of 94 Old 04-26-2004, 01:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wco81's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 53
There's a short WSJ article. Some are portraying this as the death knell for Tivo, because this and other deployments signal the fact that Tivo has failed to win the cable operators. One analyst claims by 2006-2007, the Moxi could dominate the HDTV recording market.

Supposedly uses some Intel chip and Linux. Talks about sharing but it's not clear if 802.11 is included or an option for the digital media sharing features. The main obstcle for Moxi is that they cost the cable operators $500 or more to deploy. The speculated pricing is $10 a month.

The pricing for Moxi will be key. If cable operators charge only $10 (not $15) while HD Tivo costs $1000 or even $600 up front (with a 1 year commitment), the relative merits of the devices will be rendered moot by the cash requirements among the masses. And even among a lot of enthusiast/early adopters too.

Of course, the amount of HDTV programming will be key. Right now, cable is ahead of satellite. So again, another bad omen for Tivo, at least the HD Tivo. Then again, people hate the cable companies and we know monthly fees are likely to remain more stable with satellite than cable.
wco81 is online now  
post #4 of 94 Old 04-26-2004, 01:58 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Kipp Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 11,781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
HD Tivo who???

Kipp
Are you boozen & cruisin the AVS? Join us here ---> http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...8&page=1&pp=60 good times! www.illinoiscarry.org www.nra.org
Kipp Jones is offline  
post #5 of 94 Old 04-26-2004, 02:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
vj9999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 852
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think moving to this after TV Guide would leave all of us Comcast subscribers in shock.

http://www.moxi.com/prodserv/moxi_overview.jsp
vj9999 is offline  
post #6 of 94 Old 04-26-2004, 02:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jacmyoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 4,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So this is what was holding up the 6208s? Not just Tivo, Motorola is also in trouble.
jacmyoung is offline  
post #7 of 94 Old 04-26-2004, 02:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Greg G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: NJ
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As long as cable provides the only HD locals I'll subscribe and spring for whatever HD recorder hardware I can get my hands on. I still would prefer Tivo for it's amazing interface, reliablity and track record but I'm willing to check out something new.

-Greg

PS - Can I have it yet? :D
Greg G is offline  
post #8 of 94 Old 04-26-2004, 03:01 PM
Senior Member
 
jcblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: lexington, ky
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by jacmyoung
So this is what was holding up the 6208s? Not just Tivo, Motorola is also in trouble.
Tivo is, but Motorola is a partner: http://digeo.com/partners/index.jsp
jcblack is offline  
post #9 of 94 Old 04-26-2004, 03:15 PM
Senior Member
 
dfedders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I remember hearing about Moxi about 3-4 years ago, and then I never saw their products available anywhere.

The box looked great back then, so we'll see. Hopefully it has a great interface like Tivo.
dfedders is offline  
post #10 of 94 Old 04-26-2004, 04:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 481
Competition is a great thing. Maybe this'll get TiVo off its butt vis-a-vis HD QAM and CableCARD. That is, if Moxi delivers--this stuff has been a long time coming. Small-market roll-out in the fall (if it happens) would probably translate into wide distribution starting next summer.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #11 of 94 Old 04-26-2004, 05:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
So what hardware are they going to be using?

The current Motorola boxes listed don't have Firewire, and as we know, it must have it.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #12 of 94 Old 04-26-2004, 06:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jsb_hburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 1,867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by DaveFi
So what hardware are they going to be using?

The current Motorola boxes listed don't have Firewire, and as we know, it must have it.
It does have USB 2.0 for external hard drive expansion per the specs.

Regards,
Joe


Going "over the top" with OTA, Netflix, Drobo FS and Apple TV!
jsb_hburg is offline  
post #13 of 94 Old 04-26-2004, 06:40 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
USB 2.0 ain't good enough.

Can't they just run the Moxi software on the 62xx boxes?

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #14 of 94 Old 04-26-2004, 07:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Charter Cable launched Moxi boxes today; they are available to customers in Rochester, Minn, effective immediately.

Charter Cable ordered 100,000 Moxi DVRs. Comcast just announced today that they ordered 40,000 Moxi boxes for trials this summer and fall. Depending on how customers respond to the new boxes, Comcast may roll them out to everyone next year.

It does record HD with both tuners. You can find out more about Moxi on their web page.. They have an video demo right here. You'll notice it has season passes, and search functionality similar to the Tivo. In their company profile, they indicate that the box was designed in part by former employees of Tivo.

http://www.digeo.com/assets/products...iMenu_find.jpg http://www.digeo.com/assets/products...ordedShows.jpg
bfdtv is offline  
post #15 of 94 Old 04-26-2004, 08:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
USB 2.0 ain't good enough.
USB 2.0 (~60 megabytes/s) is more than adequate to record two HD streams simultaneously while playing back a third (<7.3 megabytes/s). USB 2.0 controllers have matured to the point where they are capable of very close to the 480Mbps theoretical throughput.
bfdtv is offline  
post #16 of 94 Old 04-26-2004, 08:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
It might be good enough technically, but they still have to supply Firewire.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #17 of 94 Old 04-26-2004, 08:16 PM
Senior Member
 
D_Doherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
USB 2.0 (~60 megabytes/s) is more than adequate to record two HD streams simultaneously while playing back a third (<7.3 megabytes/s). USB 2.0 controllers have matured to the point where they are capable of very close to the 480Mbps theoretical throughput.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bandwidth is not the issue, the ability to use an off the shelf D-VHS deck is.
D_Doherty is offline  
post #18 of 94 Old 04-26-2004, 08:36 PM
Senior Member
 
mike_jensen99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Anthem, AZ, USA
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rochester? Charter? Argh, so close but so far... I've needed one of these since they were first on the scene.
mike_jensen99 is offline  
post #19 of 94 Old 04-27-2004, 06:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GotHDTV?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chevy Chase, MD
Posts: 1,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally posted by DaveFi
It might be good enough technically, but they still have to supply Firewire.
Yeah! How come Firewire is not in their specs? What about archiving to D-VHS!?
GotHDTV? is offline  
post #20 of 94 Old 04-27-2004, 06:53 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
dneily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Prince Georges County, MD
Posts: 1,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Harddrive is no larger than the one in the Moto 6208 = 80 GB. That seems too small for a dual tuner box (7 to 11 hours of HD).
dneily is offline  
post #21 of 94 Old 04-27-2004, 07:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
dfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by mike_jensen99
Rochester? Charter? Argh, so close but so far... I've needed one of these since they were first on the scene.
Heh, I'm in Roch. I'm also supposed to be talking to a senior tech today so I'll have to ask about this.
dfriend is offline  
post #22 of 94 Old 04-27-2004, 07:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
It is going to truly suck if they only supply the 62xx to those who want Firewire.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #23 of 94 Old 04-27-2004, 08:39 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dfriend,

Please inquire as to the cost of the service, and what it includes for the price.
bfdtv is offline  
post #24 of 94 Old 04-27-2004, 08:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
It is going to truly suck if they only supply the 62xx to those who want Firewire.
I think that is going to be the trend for the next year -- the boxes with Firewire will the the cheapest ones they can buy. They'll skip Firewire on the more expensive boxes to save a few dollars.
bfdtv is offline  
post #25 of 94 Old 04-27-2004, 08:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
HD Rookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Mount Prospect, IL
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by bfdtv
I think that is going to be the trend for the next year -- the boxes with Firewire will the the cheapest ones they can buy. They'll skip Firewire on the more expensive boxes to save a few dollars.
I thought firewire was a cable company "requirement" as of 4/1/04???
Hopefully the specs you are looking at are slightly outdated.
HD Rookie is offline  
post #26 of 94 Old 04-27-2004, 09:02 AM
 
HDHTPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Silicon Valley Area Posts: 14,303
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did they license "trick play" and "season pass" features from TiVo?
HDHTPC is offline  
post #27 of 94 Old 04-27-2004, 09:04 AM
 
HDHTPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Silicon Valley Area Posts: 14,303
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by HD Rookie
I thought firewire was a cable company "requirement" as of 4/1/04???
Hopefully the specs you are looking at are slightly outdated.
It is a mandate that they offer ~something~ with IEEE1394.
They could replace Moxi's (without) with some other box
that has IEEE1394 for those customers that insist.
HDHTPC is offline  
post #28 of 94 Old 04-27-2004, 09:43 AM
Member
 
warr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA.
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you were able to off-load from the internal HD to an external HD via the USB2, would that not be very good? Would there be a real need to archive to DVHS if that were the case?
warr is offline  
post #29 of 94 Old 04-27-2004, 10:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hongcho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
> Can't they just run the Moxi software on the 62xx boxes?

I think the Moxi software is x86-based (as is the Motorola STB platform for Moxi is). It may be easier to hack (it could just be a PC).

> Bandwidth is not the issue, the ability to use an off the shelf D-VHS deck is.

I think more people have "off-the-shelf" PCs with USB ports than D-VHS.

Hong.

i have great faith in fools -- self confidence my friends call it. -- edgar allan poe
hongcho is offline  
post #30 of 94 Old 04-27-2004, 11:14 AM
Senior Member
 
sipester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by warr
If you were able to off-load from the internal HD to an external HD via the USB2, would that not be very good? Would there be a real need to archive to DVHS if that were the case?
I think that is a good point. Why mess with tapes if you can dump it on some sort of external hard drive that can be accessed from the Moxi Menu? With only an 80-gig hard drive, it is important to have some sort of archiving capability.

Ignoring the potential archiving capabilities of this box, TIVO could still make a better product than this right now if they combined HD Tivo box with the Pioneer Tivo/DVD Recorder with the Home Media Option. Why don't they make that? Plus, Tivo is planning on adding some additional capabilities to the HMO such as XM Radio.

Back to the Moxi product, if it can be connected to external hard drives, is there any chance they could have it access ripped movies a la kaleidescape?
sipester is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off