How to record via IEEE 1394 (Firewire) to Windows XP - Page 202 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6031 of 6037 Old 07-25-2014, 04:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
Vampidemic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by SOM View Post
Hello All,

1st I would like to say I love that this thread is still alive since I used it way back in 04' to record from my Comcast STB to PC.

I recently got COMCAST Xfinity & hoping this recording the dire ct stream from STB to PC still works. Does anyone have an updated process to make this happen with all the updated drivers and software? I'm running W7 SP1 64Bit and a brand new COMCAST Xfinity box. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

SOM:-)
There are no 64-bit Windows drivers, you need to run 32-bit for it to work and even then you may have a lot of issues to deal with.

If you plan to capture regularly or use a computer as a DVR, a cable card capture system like HD Homerun Prime is a much better option.

Last edited by Vampidemic; 07-25-2014 at 04:22 PM.
Vampidemic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6032 of 6037 Old 09-11-2014, 12:21 PM
Newbie
 
REA7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cisco 4742HDC firewire Drivers?

Cox cable replaced my motorola box with a Cisco 4742HDC. Any firewire drivers?
REA7001 is offline  
post #6033 of 6037 Old 09-11-2014, 12:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
qz3fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,832
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 31
If you have one-try a mac machine after installing the Apple Firewire SDK26-which includes 64 bit support.
qz3fwd is offline  
post #6034 of 6037 Old 09-11-2014, 03:08 PM
Newbie
 
REA7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I do have an iMac, and installed recommended driver package. Now, what capture software should I use? on Windows box, I used CapDVHS.
REA7001 is offline  
post #6035 of 6037 Old 09-11-2014, 03:20 PM
Newbie
 
REA7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
okay, I found the utility. It is included in the developer kit -- AVCVideoCap-app.

Now, my issue is the iMac only has Firewire800 input. the Cisco has mini-Firewire 400 output. URGH!
REA7001 is offline  
post #6036 of 6037 Old 09-11-2014, 03:29 PM
Newbie
 
REA7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
REA7001 is offline  
post #6037 of 6037 Old 09-11-2014, 03:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
qz3fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,832
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by REA7001 View Post
I dont think that will work for you.
I think you need a 9 pin male to 6 pin male cable.
Try monoprice. QVS also makes cables I trust.
qz3fwd is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off