The Official R5000-HD Technical Status Discussion - Page 61 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1801 of 2773 Old 01-25-2008, 08:41 AM
Newbie
 
GypJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HT Slider View Post

What do you need help with?

If it's my incomplete "how to" document for setting up the R5000HD with Vista Media Center, keep bugging me and I will complete it eventually.

If you have a specific question, fire away and I'll try to answer to the best of my ability.

Our R5000HD modded Bell 6000 STB is still working very well with Vista Media Center, but it isn't 100% flawless. Over the past 3+ months we've recorded 3 or 4 shows (out of probably 100's) where a portion of the recording is simply missing from the middle of the show. It could be due to snow interfering with the dish, but I'm not certain. I never saw the problem until sometime in December (about when the snow started to fly), but Bell or a Windows Update may have changed something too. It has also been working perfectly again since about Christmas.

Based on some of the comments with Sage TV users, it sounds like our Vista Media Center implementation works at least as well (perhaps the issue is with the R5000HD itself).

I will be relying on your assistance very soon.

Update:

I got the dish installed and I snail-mailed the new receiver to get modded and now I wait.

I sure hope I don't run into the incomplete recording issue after all of this because that is why I am dumping firewire to begin with!
GypJoe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1802 of 2773 Old 01-25-2008, 01:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ron Tobin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkanet View Post

Ron, I have no problems bringing in a R5000 recording into Nero, editing it and making a BD-R or BD-RE blu-ray movie disc. Nothing too fancy with the blu-ray extra features... but gets the job done. However, I noticed one problem:

1) On the computer, when playing it back on PowerDVD Ultra, the video and audio are not in synch (and sometimes the video will skip a few frames). It almost looks like the blu-ray movie discs that are made with Nero do not have the perfect specs necessary for PowerDVD to playback correctly with hardware acceleration.

EDIT: I did get some kind of UCF warning message before burning saying the disc cant be played back properly on a Windows XP machine.... but, I have Vista.

I didn't see any options to change to make it playback better in PowerDVD. I have zero problems playing back commercial Blu-ray disks in PowerDVD.

I wonder how it would work on a commerical BD player? Guess for the low price of the add-on, it might be worth a try. I have a BD burner, but have not yet burned anything, awaiting authoring software.

Thanks for your response.

Ron
Ron Tobin is offline  
post #1803 of 2773 Old 01-25-2008, 02:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
jhue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkanet View Post

Nero does this without any fuss.. just drag and drop and click next, next... and BURN.

I have Nero 7 Ultra and found their H.264 encoder to be very crappy, even when configured to encode with a bitrate 2x that of the original. If you're going to SD MPEG-2 for DVD, that's a different codec, and maybe it's a whole lot better. Thankfully, the ability to play the capture natively with a Playstation 3 has mostly eliminated my need to transcode my captures. Still, it would be nice if the audio sync problem was solved so that VirtualDub was an option.
jhue is offline  
post #1804 of 2773 Old 01-25-2008, 02:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
stjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jhue,

Could you please explain how you remux R5000 H.264 captures to play on the PS3? Do you use Tsremux to convert the files from TS to M2TS? Can you use fast forward and rewind when playing these files on the PS3? Thanks in advance for your help.

Steve
stjr is offline  
post #1805 of 2773 Old 01-25-2008, 06:33 PM
RTK
AVS Special Member
 
RTK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkanet View Post

Cool Rick, let me know how it works out for you.

Nero 8 looked like it was going to be an easy way to create a SD DVD from a R5000 h.264 HD recording but thus far it has not been successful. Nero allows me to load the R5000 h.264 HD recorded .ts file and it starts transcoding however after about a half an hour it hangs. I will try a different recording in case this one just happens to be flawed but I'm sort of perplexed why it would hang.

Rick
RTK is offline  
post #1806 of 2773 Old 01-25-2008, 06:48 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
MKANET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 5,724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Rick, try smaller files first; then, larger ones. This will tell you if you might be running out of resources such as temp file disk space. You're right, it also might be that particular recording.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RTK View Post

Nero 8 looked like it was going to be an easy way to create a SD DVD from a R5000 h.264 HD recording but thus far it has not been successful. Nero allows me to load the R5000 h.264 HD recorded .ts file and it starts transcoding however after about a half an hour it hangs. I will try a different recording in case this one just happens to be flawed but I'm sort of perplexed why it would hang.


Can your HTPC Media Center / DVR Do this??

SageTV:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
+ OTA ATSC + DVB-S2 + Blu-ray/HD-DVD serving 5 clients.
MKANET is offline  
post #1807 of 2773 Old 01-25-2008, 06:52 PM
RTK
AVS Special Member
 
RTK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Any idea what to do about running out of resources? I've made how brewed HD-DVD on DL-DVD media using Ulead MF6 so I doubt its a resource issue although I'll take your advice and try a smaller size file and a different recording. Out of curiousity, how long does it typically take your PC to transcode an hour of HD h.264 file to DVD? I realize this is highly dependant upon the cpu.

Rick
RTK is offline  
post #1808 of 2773 Old 01-25-2008, 07:00 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
MKANET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 5,724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
If it is a resource issue, smaller and medium sized files will work consistently. My first guess would be if its a resource limit is the amount of free disk space the windows swap file is on or where the temporary scratch directly is that Nero uses. You can check the amount of free disk space on the hard drives you have on your PC.

I wouldn't jump to conclusions though. First thing is first, see if you can reproduce this behavior and at what point it fails.

Find out where it stops on a few different sized files..

Quote:
Originally Posted by RTK View Post

Any idea what to do about running out of resources? I've made how brewed HD-DVD on DL-DVD media using Ulead MF6 so I doubt its a resource issue although I'll take your advice and try a smaller size file and a different recording. Out of curiousity, how long does it typically take your PC to transcode an hour of HD h.264 file to DVD? I realize this is highly dependant upon the cpu.


Can your HTPC Media Center / DVR Do this??

SageTV:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
+ OTA ATSC + DVB-S2 + Blu-ray/HD-DVD serving 5 clients.
MKANET is offline  
post #1809 of 2773 Old 01-25-2008, 07:52 PM
RTK
AVS Special Member
 
RTK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks again. I've just started to transcode a different 1hr show ~2.5GB to DVD so I'll know something shortly. If this fails, I will back down to a 1GB size file and go smaller if needed. I have over 100GB free space on the drive so I doubt its a space issue but I'll know more shortly.

Rick
RTK is offline  
post #1810 of 2773 Old 01-25-2008, 09:46 PM
RTK
AVS Special Member
 
RTK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Looks like the initial file I tried may have somehow been corrupt as a slightly smaller one worked fine I'll try a larger file overnight. Thanks again Mike.

Rick
RTK is offline  
post #1811 of 2773 Old 01-25-2008, 10:23 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
MKANET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 5,724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thats great to hear!

Quote:
Originally Posted by RTK View Post

Looks like the initial file I tried may have somehow been corrupt as a slightly smaller one worked fine I'll try a larger file overnight. Thanks again Mike.


Can your HTPC Media Center / DVR Do this??

SageTV:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
+ OTA ATSC + DVB-S2 + Blu-ray/HD-DVD serving 5 clients.
MKANET is offline  
post #1812 of 2773 Old 01-27-2008, 03:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
jhue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stjr View Post

Do you use Tsremux to convert the files from TS to M2TS? Can you use fast forward and rewind when playing these files on the PS3?

Yes and yes. FF and FR work find up to the 120X max.
jhue is offline  
post #1813 of 2773 Old 01-27-2008, 06:51 AM
Senior Member
 
dj7675's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhue View Post

Yes and yes. FF and FR work find up to the 120X max.

Are you burning the captures to disk after using tsremux for playback, or are you streaming? And are they mpeg2 or h.264?
dj7675 is offline  
post #1814 of 2773 Old 01-27-2008, 10:15 AM
RTK
AVS Special Member
 
RTK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
If you take a Dish R5000 h.264 capture and run through tsremux are you outputing the file as ts, m2ts, or blu-ray? Does an extension need to be added (ie .m2ts) for the PS3 to recognize the file? Can this file(s) be burned to SL or DL DVD for playback in the PS3?

Previously I have remuxed R5000 HD h.264 files to .ts and some (maybe the longer ones?) would lock up after a period of time although I haven't tried using the PS3 as media player in a while. R5000 mpeg2 recordings playback great on the PS3 but haven't been so great recently on the PS3.

Rick
RTK is offline  
post #1815 of 2773 Old 01-27-2008, 10:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
stjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think that TS and M2TS are just different extensions commonly used to package H.264 captured streams. It appears (from the program menu of TSRemux) that when you take the Dish R5000 H.264 captures with a TS extension and remux them to M2TS, the byte packets change from 188 to 192. If this is all that is needed for trouble free playback on a PS3, then I will consider purchasing a PS3.

I would also like to know whether it makes a difference for playback purposes if the original H.264 R5000 recording is compressed or at contant bit rate. IMO, compressed is much more desirable, because it is much smaller than the CBR files.

Steve
stjr is offline  
post #1816 of 2773 Old 01-27-2008, 11:48 AM
RTK
AVS Special Member
 
RTK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I'm going to do a little experimenting with R5000 h.264 file playback on the PS3 today so I hope to have some answers for you shortly. I"m in the process of burning an AVCHD disc made from an R5000 file which hopefully will playback on the PS3.

Rick
RTK is offline  
post #1817 of 2773 Old 01-27-2008, 12:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
stjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Rick,

It seems to me that it takes more work to create an AVCHD formatted disk compared with just playing an R5000 H.264 captured file with minimal or no post-capture processing.

I have a Tvix M4100SH, which plays R5000 H.264 TS files directly with minimal glitches, but FF/RW is partially broken. My understanding is that DVICO will be working on a fix for this, but I am looking for alternatives that work at least as well if not better.

Steve
stjr is offline  
post #1818 of 2773 Old 01-27-2008, 01:35 PM
RTK
AVS Special Member
 
RTK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I just looked at the time to create an AVC disc... ~10hrs

I've run a movie thru tsremux and will try that streamed from my server.

Rick
RTK is offline  
post #1819 of 2773 Old 01-27-2008, 09:48 PM
RTK
AVS Special Member
 
RTK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
OK after some initial issues which I determined were related to my network or the mediaserver software, I tsremuxed an ~5GB R5000 h.264 recording of 12 Monkeys and transferred it to the PS3 hard drive and it plays back perfectly with FF/RW, etc. I'm going to let the whole movie play to be sure there is no file size limitation.

Rick
RTK is offline  
post #1820 of 2773 Old 01-28-2008, 12:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
jhue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dj7675 View Post

Are you burning the captures to disk after using tsremux for playback, or are you streaming? And are they mpeg2 or h.264?

I stream with Nero MediaHome (part of Nero 7 Ultra). I have about five other uPnP servers on my PC, but Nero has given me the fewest problems.

I already wrote that with the current firmware the PS3 has problems with HD MPEG-2 and I use my IOData LP2 to play those.
jhue is offline  
post #1821 of 2773 Old 01-28-2008, 08:39 AM
RTK
AVS Special Member
 
RTK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
One more note. Be careful (avoid) editing R5000 h.264 recordings with H.264 TS Cutter. I tested a few files after using it to crop the file shorter and it introduced a lot of errors.

Rick
RTK is offline  
post #1822 of 2773 Old 01-28-2008, 10:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
stjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RTK View Post

One more note. Be careful (avoid) editing R5000 h.264 recordings with H.264 TS Cutter. I tested a few files after using it to crop the file shorter and it introduced a lot of errors.

Thanks for the update. You might try using TSSplitter as another resource for editing H.264 files. Was the recording of "12 Monkeys" made in the compressed mode or the CBR mode?

Steve
stjr is offline  
post #1823 of 2773 Old 01-28-2008, 12:15 PM
RTK
AVS Special Member
 
RTK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by stjr View Post

Thanks for the update. You might try using TSSplitter as another resource for editing H.264 files. Was the recording of "12 Monkeys" made in the compressed mode or the CBR mode?

Thanks for the tip on TSSplitter, I'll have to check it out. All of my R5000 recordings are done with null packets removed. Since they all playback fine from the PC and take up less hard drive space, I didn't have any reason to record with them. If it become an issue for PS3 or a standalone media player playback, I would consider changing but thus far it hasn't. Is there a specific reason to record in CBR mode?

Rick
RTK is offline  
post #1824 of 2773 Old 01-28-2008, 01:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
stjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
VBR (compressed) is preferable from my point of view. Some MPEG-2 decoders have required 19.3 Mbps CBR TS files in order to produce glitch-free playback. That's why the R5000 offered the CBR option. In the MPEG-4 world, there especially is no reason to have null packets inserted in the files if they have no effect on playback.

So, it appears to me that when TSRemux converts 188 byte packet stream files to 192 byte packet stream files (TS to M2TS), the files become compatible with the PS3. My options (if I want reliable FF/RW) are to wait for DVICO to fix its FF/RW features with R5000 H.264 TS files on the TVIX, or use TSRemux and convert the files to M2TS for the PS3. Thanks.

Steve
stjr is offline  
post #1825 of 2773 Old 01-28-2008, 01:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Largo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Fremont, Ca
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The H.264 files that I run through TSremuxer and output to Blu-ray stutter on my PS3. I burn them using Nero 8 using 2.5 UDF profile. All my mpeg 2 files play flawlessly using this method.

"How come you haven't changed anything?"-Omar
Largo is offline  
post #1826 of 2773 Old 01-28-2008, 05:34 PM
Member
 
has123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stjr View Post

VBR (compressed) is preferable from my point of view. Some MPEG-2 decoders have required 19.3 Mbps CBR TS files in order to produce glitch-free playback. That's why the R5000 offered the CBR option. In the MPEG-4 world, there especially is no reason to have null packets inserted in the files if they have no effect on playback.

So, it appears to me that when TSRemux converts 188 byte packet stream files to 192 byte packet stream files (TS to M2TS), the files become compatible with the PS3. My options (if I want reliable FF/RW) are to wait for DVICO to fix its FF/RW features with R5000 H.264 TS files on the TVIX, or use TSRemux and convert the files to M2TS for the PS3. Thanks.

TS files play flawlessly on the ps3 no need for m2ts. You still need to run through TSRemux to get audio "and trim".
has123 is offline  
post #1827 of 2773 Old 01-28-2008, 06:44 PM
RTK
AVS Special Member
 
RTK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Largo View Post

The H.264 files that I run through TSremuxer and output to Blu-ray stutter on my PS3. I burn them using Nero 8 using 2.5 UDF profile. All my mpeg 2 files play flawlessly using this method.

What format are you burning to disc, AVCHD, DVD or just recording the file to disc? Before you conclude there is an issue with the PS3 playback of h.26 content, instead of burning the file to DVD, transfer the tsremuxed R5000 h.264 file to the PS3 hard drive over your network and see if that removes the stuttering.

Rick
RTK is offline  
post #1828 of 2773 Old 01-28-2008, 07:10 PM
RTK
AVS Special Member
 
RTK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
TSSplitter looks interesting for editing h.264 content but how do you know the points to trim/edit if you can't see the image?

Rick
RTK is offline  
post #1829 of 2773 Old 01-28-2008, 07:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
stjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another TSSplitter user told me that he was able to get the image to display, but I never was able to get an image. IIRC, I used another application to view the file and guestimate a trim point. The resulting trimmed file played fine on my Tvix M4100SH box.

Edit:

I'm mixing up programs. The program that I used was TS Packet Editor, not TSSplitter. It has a window for viewing the content. Sorry for the confusion. http://www.videohelp.com/tools/TS_Packet_Editor

Steve
stjr is offline  
post #1830 of 2773 Old 01-29-2008, 11:21 AM
RTK
AVS Special Member
 
RTK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by stjr View Post

Another TSSplitter user told me that he was able to get the image to display, but I never was able to get an image. IIRC, I used another application to view the file and guestimate a trim point. The resulting trimmed file played fine on my Tvix M4100SH box.

Edit:

I'm mixing up programs. The program that I used was TS Packet Editor, not TSSplitter. It has a window for viewing the contenet. Sorry for the confusion. http://www.videohelp.com/tools/TS_Packet_Editor


Thanks for the update, I"ll give that one a try too.

For anyone interested, after reading Largo's post I burned a tsremuxed an R5000 h.264 HD file directly to DVD (UDF 2.5, no transcoding) and played back perfectly in the PS3. I'll try a few more files later today. See this thread for more info:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=834474

Rick
RTK is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off