The Official R5000-HD Technical Status Discussion - Page 8 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 2773 Old 12-20-2004, 07:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
ralphjb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


I did not see a reason to install this. If it's not broke....

I hear you on that one Brother - I have taken the same course.

Thought I would ask my monthly query -

R5000-HD, any prospect for the DirectX functiionality? Still hoping to integrate with SageTV.

Thanks!
ralphjb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 2773 Old 12-20-2004, 07:42 PM
 
HDTVFanAtic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 8,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by thurstonw

But the first line of defense when I have a problem is to go straight to the guy who sold me the thing. Maybe you've all done that already, but it seems from the thread that you haven't...anyway, thats my 0.02.

TW

No problem...and their telephone number for tech support is?

D:\\A Night Out With the Funk Brothers.ts size: 225600KB, length: 0h1m34s, failures: 0 Finished: 12/19/04 21:26:54
Remuxer Error: 5
Restarting stream as incremented filename
D:\\A Night Out With the Funk Brothers1.ts size: 9902900KB, length:
1h8m5s, failures: 0 Finished: 12/19/04 22:35:01

D:\\Eyes Wide Shut.ts size: 4521212KB, length: 0h31m5s, failures: 0 Finished: 12/20/04 01:22:24
Remuxer Error: 1
Restarting stream as incremented filename
D:\\Eyes Wide Shut1.ts size: 19270752KB, length: 2h12m41s, failures: 0 Finished: 12/20/04 03:34:59

D:\\Richard Pryor Live on the Sunset Strip.ts size: 7879456KB, length: 0h54m12s, failures: 0 Finished: 12/20/04 04:49:52
Remuxer Error: 5
Restarting stream as incremented filename
D:\\Richard Pryor Live on the Sunset Strip1.ts size: 6705772KB, length: 0h46m6s, failures: 0 Finished: 12/20/04 05:36:01

D:\\Anaconda.ts size: 9353752KB, length: 1h4m19s, failures: 0 Finished: 12/20/04 10:00:38
Remuxer Error: 1
Restarting stream as incremented filename
D:\\Anaconda1.ts size: 4963012KB, length: 0h34m20s, failures: 0 Finished: 12/20/04 10:35:01



4 for 4 Bad
Eyes Wide Shut not on again for a while - Thus a wasted exercise in futility - every showing had a remuxer error.

Richard Pryor on again in a week - wonder if it will work that time? Despite 3 showings of Pink Floyd's The Wall, not a successful cap this run.

Anaconda - plays all the time, but still - what a waste of time.
HDTVFanAtic is offline  
post #213 of 2773 Old 12-21-2004, 07:31 AM
Senior Member
 
HookedOnTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
E*

C:\\Video\\The Silence of the Lambs.ts size: 0KB, length: 0h0m0s, failures: 0 Finished: 12/06/04 08:04:37
C:\\Video\\Singles.ts size: 15506052KB, length: 1h46m36s, failures: 0 Finished: 12/07/04 09:46:01
C:\\Video\\Terminator 3 Rise of the Machines.ts size: 16974332KB, length: 1h56m42s, failures: 0 Finished: 12/10/04 22:26:01
C:\\Video\\The Last Samurai.ts size: 22801204KB, length: 2h36m46s, failures: 0 Finished: 12/12/04 21:36:01
C:\\Video\\Carnivale - Pick A Number.ts size: 8963652KB, length: 1h1m37s, failures: 0 Finished: 12/15/04 21:01:01
C:\\Video\\Love Actually.ts size: 20598972KB, length: 2h21m38s, failures: 0 Finished: 12/15/04 23:36:01
C:\\Video\\The Medallion.ts size: 13327132KB, length: 1h31m38s, failures: 0 Finished: 12/16/04 09:01:01
C:\\Video\\Face Off.ts size: 20603672KB, length: 2h21m39s, failures: 0 Finished: 12/20/04 23:16:01
HookedOnTV is offline  
post #214 of 2773 Old 12-21-2004, 03:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wizziwig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 1,104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 73
This thread was recently brought to my attention by an mpeg2repair user. Since I don't own this product, I can't offer much in the way of advice. But I would urge anyone with problems to isolate the cause by simultaneously recording their shows to a VCR, PVR, etc. I almost always do this with my 169time setup. The receiver's SD output is hooked into my Tivo so that I can always go back and check if the problem existed on the original signal.

Nobody here can do anything about issues at E*. They have been so erratic ever since the Olympics, that anything is possible. If you only record 1 or 2 shows a week like me, then you may never see a problem. It's interesting that someone posted no issues on weekends. That could simply mean that Dish engineers are not at work playing with the muxer/encoder settings or decided to limit their experimentation to off-peak hours during the week where fewer people would notice.

One of the R5000 samples sent to me had a truncated GOP, followed by a long PTS discontinuity. Ended up showing up as a long pause/jump during playback in VLC. There's no way to know 100% what caused the issue but I suspect it's a Dish problem. This sort of issue is not strictly an error so it's not reported by the current mpeg2repair version. It will be flagged (at least as a warning) in the next release. That will at least allow you to verify if you should keep the recording or try again. Sorry, no ETA at this time.

-Mark
Wizziwig is offline  
post #215 of 2773 Old 12-21-2004, 09:50 PM
Member
 
thurstonw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Quote:


Originally posted by thurstonw
But the first line of defense when I have a problem is to go straight to the guy who sold me the thing. Maybe you've all done that already, but it seems from the thread that you haven't...anyway, thats my 0.02.

TW



Originally posted by HDTVFanAtic
No problem...and their telephone number for tech support is?


http://www.nextcomwireless.com/r5000/contact.htm

I contacted them through the email address they provided. They were very quick to reply and they solved my problem. The web site referred me to r5000support@nextcomwireless.com

Seems to me that you should try contacting them directly?

TW
thurstonw is offline  
post #216 of 2773 Old 12-22-2004, 09:27 AM
Member
 
Kim Gilbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just wanted to clarify...

Does the R5000-HD work with DirecTv Standard Definition streams?
thanks

Potential Buyer

'Imagination is more important than knowledge...' --Einstein
Kim Gilbert is offline  
post #217 of 2773 Old 12-22-2004, 09:31 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
MarkV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Southwest, OH
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's HD streams only for DirecTv. The SD streams don't work.
MarkV is offline  
post #218 of 2773 Old 12-22-2004, 01:23 PM
mdv
AVS Special Member
 
mdv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: CA
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Whenever I go to schedule a recording event in the DVR app, the date always defaults to March 2036. Normally, I can set the correct date and recordings work as expected. However, last night, I set the date to Dec. 21st at 11:44:30 PM to record the Ark program on HDNMV and when I got up this morning, the date had been reset to March 26th so the recording never fired off.

Has anybody else ever seen this behavior?

Why does the date default to March 2036? My HTPC clock is set to the current date, at least according to Windows XP.

Mark
mdv is offline  
post #219 of 2773 Old 12-22-2004, 01:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ron Tobin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by mdv
Whenever I go to schedule a recording event in the DVR app, the date always defaults to March 2036. Normally, I can set the correct date and recordings work as expected. However, last night, I set the date to Dec. 21st at 11:44:30 PM to record the Ark program on HDNMV and when I got up this morning, the date had been reset to March 26th so the recording never fired off.

Has anybody else ever seen this behavior?

Why does the date default to March 2036? My HTPC clock is set to the current date, at least according to Windows XP.

Mark

Are you sure you're running the latest version of the application software? This was a problem in some of the very early software releases, but hasn't been heard of since.

Ron
Ron Tobin is offline  
post #220 of 2773 Old 12-22-2004, 02:04 PM
Member
 
wmacarter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by mdv
Why does the date default to March 2036? My HTPC clock is set to the current date, at least according to Windows XP.

Mark


I have the same problem. I am using software version r5000ver15a.

It seemed to start with the "a" version.
wmacarter is offline  
post #221 of 2773 Old 12-22-2004, 09:20 PM
mdv
AVS Special Member
 
mdv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: CA
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm also using 1.5a since I have a Dish 6000.

I believe the default date was March 2036 with version 1.5 as well but with that version, once I set the date correctly, it never reset until I restarted the application so scheduled recordings always worked.

BTW, my unit has never worked via the 6000 timer menu. With earlier versions of the software, the scanning of the 6000 commands was hit or miss but actual control of the DVR via the 6000 IR never worked. Anyone else have this problem as well?

Mark
mdv is offline  
post #222 of 2773 Old 12-24-2004, 12:42 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
R5000-HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Version 1.6 is now available for download. Mainly addresses (see release notes):

Remuxer designed to continue streams on errors in favor of restarting.

OTR can now be used to extend scheduled recordings in progress.

STB timer-based recording (IR Control) issues.

It is recommended that all users update to this version. The installer does not re-install the drivers or any other files; it will only add/update changed or new files (in this case "r5000hd.exe" only). If you want to keep your old version in place you can download the zip file containing the r5000-hd application only, rename your old version and save the new file to your install directory.


-R
R5000-HD is offline  
post #223 of 2773 Old 12-26-2004, 06:21 AM
Newbie
 
cushing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am using a DTC-100 STB to recieve HD.

This unit also "switches" over to allow me to recieve local (OTA) Hi-Def with a terrestrial antenna. (There are 4 local HD broadcast channels).

If I have the R5000-HD modification made, will I be able to record local, OTA broadcast with this unit (the DTC-100)?

Thanks,

Cush
cushing is offline  
post #224 of 2773 Old 12-27-2004, 08:11 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
R5000-HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by cushing
I am using a DTC-100 STB to recieve HD.

This unit also "switches" over to allow me to recieve local (OTA) Hi-Def with a terrestrial antenna. (There are 4 local HD broadcast channels).

If I have the R5000-HD modification made, will I be able to record local, OTA broadcast with this unit (the DTC-100)?

Thanks,

Cush

Yes, the R5000-HD will record OTA Digital TV. The only thing it doesn't record is SD channels from D* (probable future enhancement). Thanks.

-R
R5000-HD is offline  
post #225 of 2773 Old 12-28-2004, 10:48 PM
Member
 
Maggot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Goldens Bridge, NY
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Concerning C-band HDTV bitstreams:

I have the JVC DT100 sitting here just waiting for connection to my 4DTV!
I'm sure not alone: C-banders who go digital w 4DTV are *all* "early adopters" of a sort !
Can you give any sort of advice to C-banders anxiously awaiting stable ways to timeshift the HD output of their HDD200 Motorola "decoders"?

The original notice of the promotional price discount was vague enough to make one hesitate before such an investment. What prospects ? What news?
Maggot is offline  
post #226 of 2773 Old 12-29-2004, 12:11 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
R5000-HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Maggot
Concerning C-band HDTV bitstreams:

I have the JVC DT100 sitting here just waiting for connection to my 4DTV!
I'm sure not alone: C-banders who go digital w 4DTV are *all* "early adopters" of a sort !
Can you give any sort of advice to C-banders anxiously awaiting stable ways to timeshift the HD output of their HDD200 Motorola "decoders"?

The original notice of the promotional price discount was vague enough to make one hesitate before such an investment. What prospects ? What news?

C-band testing is going on right now. Initial reports are that the stream capture from the HDD200 is working quite well. We are looking to the next phase which is enabling the PVR to work with the tuner boxes (requires capturing the IR samples from the remotes). We expect the finished solution to be available in a couple weeks. In the mean time, don't worry about the discount ending. Thanks.

-R
R5000-HD is offline  
post #227 of 2773 Old 12-29-2004, 11:10 PM
Member
 
Maggot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Goldens Bridge, NY
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"..e well. W...e IR samples from the remotes). We expect the finished solution to be available in a couple weeks. In the mean time, don't worry about the discount ending. Thanks."

Hey- That sounds pretty darn good to these gullible eyes. Ears.
But seriously, I thank you for the cheerful news- I'll be first in line to cheer and spread the word of your success: the C-band community is active, tight, largely online, and intensely interested in this!
Maggot is offline  
post #228 of 2773 Old 01-03-2005, 08:45 PM
Member
 
wmacarter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by wmacarter
I have the same problem. I am using software version r5000ver15a.

It seemed to start with the "a" version.

I installed version 1.6 software and it corrected the March 2036 problem but the timer would not engage when set.

I had to revert back to the 1.5a version.
wmacarter is offline  
post #229 of 2773 Old 01-03-2005, 09:13 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
R5000-HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The R5000-HD is officially available for C-Band (HDD-200 decoder) satellite. We are currently accepting orders, visit our website for details.

Updated application software will be available for download as orders are shipped. Limited PVR functionality available initially. Depending on reciever model, manual satellite selection maybe required.

Recording is supported from any receiver that uses the HDD-200 decoder box. Extended PVR control (IR receiver control) is targeted at 4DTV models 905/920/922. Control of the R5000-HD DVR from STB timers is not supported.

-R
R5000-HD is offline  
post #230 of 2773 Old 01-04-2005, 12:43 AM
Member
 
Maggot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Goldens Bridge, NY
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"Recording is supported from any receiver that uses the HDD-200 decoder box. Extended PVR control (IR receiver control) is targeted at 4DTV models 905/920/922. Control of the R5000-HD DVR from STB timers is not supported." -Excerpted, by "R"
==========================
Dear R,
On behalf of a hundred thousand Americans, may I say: Bless you, "R"!

I will be spreading the word of your proud achievement to the BUD online community over the next 2-3 days. I can promise you an attentive, appreciative and passionate audience.
Guys who are -almost by definition- "early adopters" . They are going to want to know as much as you can tell them, and I'm betting they (we) will buy your goods ASA they perceive that the bang for buck is fair & square.

When you said that
"...Control of the R5000-HD DVR from STB timers is not supported."

did you mean "STB" to include the events on timers on 4DTV satellite receivers, themselves, (such as the Motorola 905 "Sidecar" and the 922, either of which will feed bitstreams to the decoder module HDD200) ??

Thanks for clearing up what confusion you can.

-Dean
"Maggs,"
Maggot is offline  
post #231 of 2773 Old 01-04-2005, 07:55 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
R5000-HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Maggot
When you said that
"...Control of the R5000-HD DVR from STB timers is not supported."

did you mean "STB" to include the events on timers on 4DTV satellite receivers, themselves, (such as the Motorola 905 "Sidecar" and the 922, either of which will feed bitstreams to the decoder module HDD200) ??

Thanks for clearing up what confusion you can.

-Dean
"Maggs,"

Yes. The DBS units (D*, E*, Bell) all have timers that can be set to watch the program or control a VCR. We use this VCR control to tell the the R5000-HD when to record. AFAIK, the C-band units do not provide the VCR control feature. To accomplish something similar, you would have to program the 4DTV box and the R5000-HD PVR "in parallel" with the same events. In this case the receiver would automatically handle all dish pointing and tuning and the R5000-hd would start and stop recordings at the appropriate times.

-R
R5000-HD is offline  
post #232 of 2773 Old 01-04-2005, 11:09 PM
Member
 
Maggot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Goldens Bridge, NY
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"...To accomplish something similar, you would have to program the 4DTV box and the R5000-HD PVR "in parallel" with the same events. In this case the receiver would automatically handle all dish pointing and tuning and the R5000-hd would start and stop recordings at the appropriate times...." -R

Yes. And...? So....?
Where's the problem?
Pshaw! Am I un-impressed. How the heck do you think we Timeshifters have done the deed these past 20 year and more? It goes like this:

1) Get an Orbit or similar hard copy schedule with at least 1-2 weeks of everything on C-band on all 15 or so birds we see footprint encompassses us.
2) Highlight events to watch.
3) Don't forget the west feeds are available 3h later (often not listed).
4) Program each event into IRD
4a) Ditto Sidecar unless you have a 922: then skip 4a but go to 4b
4b) Pray for 922 timers, burn incence,. Kick 922 gently.
5) Program each VCR. If event is >120 min, calculate when to break event into a EP segment using old algebra.
6) Label videocassettes and load
7) See 4b
8) reconcile: HDTV in realtime or not at all.

So I don't think C-band Timeshifters will find it too onerous to program *both* a 922 and a R5000HD, as we never had opportunity to get spoilt by C-band PVRs , AFAIK!
Maggot is offline  
post #233 of 2773 Old 01-06-2005, 09:30 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Alan Gouger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida
Posts: 18,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
What does this mean. I hope the r5000hd will be compatible. Any thoughts.
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...39#post4936139
Alan Gouger is offline  
post #234 of 2773 Old 01-06-2005, 10:05 PM
 
HDTVFanAtic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 8,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And E* goes to MPEG-4 for HD later this year:

http://story.news.yahoo.com/news?tmp...dia_directv_dc

5th and 4th paragraphs from the bottom.
HDTVFanAtic is offline  
post #235 of 2773 Old 01-06-2005, 10:06 PM
Senior Member
 
WoodyT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I buy installed set from Nextcom, will I receive smart card with it? Or I have to buy my own from E*?
WoodyT is offline  
post #236 of 2773 Old 01-07-2005, 05:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chris Gerhard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 6,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by Alan Gouger
What does this mean. I hope the r5000hd will be compatible. Any thoughts.
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...39#post4936139

DirecTV and Dish Network going to MPEG4 is likely the reason so many of the 169time systems have been unloaded recently. It will be interesting to see what recording possibilities exist after this change. Of course the receivers all become non-functional and I believe it is likely DirecTV will replace receivers. Will the new receivers be modifiable with firewire or USB ports and new software allow recording MPEG4 with the R-5000HD and 169time systems? Anything stated at this point really would be nothing more than speculation unless R-5000HD is ready for this change and has some ideas. The first obstacle will be the receiver. Since Nextcom has apparently taken the position only receivers without digital copy protection can be modified, that might be a deal killer right from the start since the new receivers will all have digital copy protection. It will take some courage from the R-5000HD and 169time people to even say anything right now since all modified receivers have just been given a death sentence.

Chris
Chris Gerhard is offline  
post #237 of 2773 Old 01-07-2005, 07:33 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Alan Gouger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida
Posts: 18,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
WoodyT

You have to supply your own receiver with subscription.
Nextcom only supplies the firwire output.
Alan Gouger is offline  
post #238 of 2773 Old 01-07-2005, 07:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chris Gerhard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 6,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by MichaelZ
It looks like ALL the current HD receivers, including TiVo have been given a death sentence. I think the mpeg4 streams will probably be for the new HD locals at first, my guess, and hopefully they will continue the mpeg2 HD stream for all the network feeds. It would be a nightmare for D* to switch out all the HD boxes in a short period of time. I would think the mpeg2 stream will continue for quite sometime.

I hope that is correct and the MPEG2 shut off in 2007.

Chris
Chris Gerhard is offline  
post #239 of 2773 Old 01-07-2005, 12:15 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
R5000-HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by MichaelZ
It looks like ALL the current HD receivers, including TiVo have been given a death sentence. I think the mpeg4 streams will probably be for the new HD locals at first, my guess, and hopefully they will continue the mpeg2 HD stream for all the network feeds. It would be a nightmare for D* to switch out all the HD boxes in a short period of time. I would think the mpeg2 stream will continue for quite sometime.

That's probably true. We're going to see any new HD channels (mostly locals) appear in MPEG4 and if you want them you'll have to upgrade your equipment. If D* switches all MPEG2 over to 4 then they're either going to have to subsidize a lot of new equipment or force people to purchase it. Either way its bad for business.

Realistically we don't think any of this will happen for close to 2 years. And most likely the existing MPEG2 HD channels will still be kept on even then. Whether or not it will be possible to "tap in' to those new boxes, noone knows at this point since the hardware doesn't exist yet.

-R
R5000-HD is offline  
post #240 of 2773 Old 01-08-2005, 09:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
ralphjb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This is hardly welcome news.

This takes planned obsolescence to the max!

I just do not get it. What is the size of the installed base of DirecTV HD receivers? It has to be huge. And these things are not cheap. It was not that long ago when you had to pay over $500 for one. Even now, it is a couple of hundered bucks. And all the HD-TIVO's too?

Something does not make sense.
ralphjb is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off