Official Comcast 6412 w/ iGuide Discussion - Page 346 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10351 of 10358 Old 03-27-2009, 12:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scanpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SE / SC PA
Posts: 2,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by snidely View Post

I have a port on my 6412. Before ordering a cable fom Monopice, wanted to know if it is enabled. Comcast has a habit of disabling some Moto features.

Thanx.

...mike


Optical Audio works.

---------------------------
Comcast of Lebanon PA.
scanpa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10352 of 10358 Old 04-16-2009, 09:42 AM
Senior Member
 
skipsterut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: SW Chi Town Area
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if or when Comcast will enable the use of the eSATA or USB 2.0 port for add-on hard drives?

Apparently Scientific Atlanta boxes have had it enabled by some cable providers (not sure if Comcast is one of them). e.g. here's a 1TB expander drive on sale at jr.com http://www.jr.com/apricorn/pe/APR_AD...kItUp.04162009
skipsterut is offline  
post #10353 of 10358 Old 04-16-2009, 04:54 PM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My guess is no, we're not going to see eSATA or USB support on these boxes, ever.
bicker1 is offline  
post #10354 of 10358 Old 04-16-2009, 10:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 3,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
That would be a shame, I hope you're not correct, although it points in that direction for sure.

Dave Harper
ISF, CTS
Harper Home Theater Systems
ISF Calibrations, Consultations
Sales & Installations
Dave Harper is offline  
post #10355 of 10358 Old 10-02-2012, 11:54 PM
abg
Member
 
abg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Los Altos Hills, CA 94022
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question on Motorola DVR (6412) reset:

Hi-

I have been having some issues with my DVR that make me think that a HDD reset would help (or, at least, not make things any worse). I haven't done this since 2006 and when I tried what I had written down, it failed to work. This is the procedure I have:

Power off
Hit OK/Select quickly
Hit "replay"
Hit MyDVR 3 times.
Hit Live
"Clr" should now be in LED display
Press OK/Select to cause reboot

I get into the Service Menu with the first two lines, but nothing after that gets me to the "Clr" prompt. A quick check of Wikipedia shows that the instructions there are slightly different, with 2 presses of "replay" and 2 presses of "Live" being necessary. I tried that as well, but still no luck.

So, has anyone here successfully reset their 6412 unit recently, and what command sequence did you use?

Thanks in advance,
Alan
abg is offline  
post #10356 of 10358 Old 10-04-2012, 05:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California, USA
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by abg View Post

I have been having some issues with my DVR that make me think that a HDD reset would help (or, at least, not make things any worse). I haven't done this since 2006 and when I tried what I had written down, it failed to work.

 

It's possible that software pushed to the DVR changed or disabled the reset sequence. The 6412 is now a pretty old machine. I don't have one any more, so I can't check for you. Assuming you're renting it from Comcast, the simplest solution is probably to exchange it for a newer DVR. Take the 6412 down to your local Comcast retail location (probably Sunnyvale for you) and they will replace it with a later model with a bigger disk.

bweissman is online now  
post #10357 of 10358 Old 10-04-2012, 01:06 PM
abg
Member
 
abg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Los Altos Hills, CA 94022
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"Quote:
Originally Posted by abg

I have been having some issues with my DVR that make me think that a HDD reset would help (or, at least, not make things any worse). I haven't done this since 2006 and when I tried what I had written down, it failed to work.



It's possible that software pushed to the DVR changed or disabled the reset sequence. The 6412 is now a pretty old machine. I don't have one any more, so I can't check for you. Assuming you're renting it from Comcast, the simplest solution is probably to exchange it for a newer DVR. Take the 6412 down to your local Comcast retail location (probably Sunnyvale for you) and they will replace it with a later model with a bigger disk.
"




Yeah, it's making all kinds of awful hard drive noises at the moment and freezing constantly during playback.

Is there still a Comcast storefront in Sunnyvale? The last time I went to one last spring for a new remote I had to go to Foster City.

Thanks,
ABG
abg is offline  
post #10358 of 10358 Old 10-04-2012, 04:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California, USA
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by abg View Post

Is there still a Comcast storefront in Sunnyvale? The last time I went to one last spring for a new remote I had to go to Foster City.

 

Yes, it's on El Camino near Wolfe in the same strip mall as Erik's DeliCafe and Relax The Back. So you can get a sandwich and a butt cushion in the same trip.

bweissman is online now  
Reply HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off