DVHS pre-newbie question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 04-23-2000, 12:05 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been reading the posts, and DVHS sounds like a great way to go compared to my current hi-fi SVHS VCR. However, I have never used DVHS, or even heard of it before reading this forum, and I have a few questions if anyone would be kind enough to answer them.

1. How does it connect to the signal source (OTA, satellite receiver, etc.)?

2. Does it work with any DirecTV or Dish satellite receiver, or do you need a specific receiver?

3. Even if it won't record the full HDTV because of the bandwidth, is there any way to record HDTV broadcasts (either OTA or via satellite), but at whatever resolution a DVHS VCR is capable of?

4. Finally, any recomendations on a good DHVS VCR to get?

I realize these questions may show a complete lack of understanding of how DVHS works, but you can't know if you don't ask the questions. http://www.avsforum.com/ubb/smile.gif I also know this may have already been discussed to death, so I apologize in advance if I'm bringing this up for the billionth time. Once again, thanks for any help you can give.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 04-23-2000, 01:20 AM
AVS Club Gold

Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 130
1. Connection is by both firewire and standard video,stereo audio connections like you use on SVHS. Recording in in digital rather than analog format.

2. It requires a Dish network receiver with HDTV 8VSB output plus the Panasonic tuner DST50/51 to work with HDTV. For standard TV it works with any video/audio connection from anywhere that is not copy protected.