New D-VHS VCR for US HD recoeding/play - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 28 Old 02-25-2001, 06:20 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Jaehong Lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Seoul , Korea
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Japanese Domestic D-VHS VCR JVC(VICTOR) HM-DH30000 is finally available in Japan. Street price 16000 Yen + 5% tax.

(Please don't ask me whrere to buy. I am not living in Japan.).

That VCR equipped HD-decoder itself. So it can play Japanese HD tapes without help of BS STB..
Since it has Dolby Digital decoding function as wll as PCM, AAC( Japanese multichannel format), it was said it can play US HD tapes recorded with Panny combo.

I found out that it can play US ATSC tape without any problem.
More good news is no audio drop out, which was very unpleasant in Panny combo system.

The best news is that Panasonic TU-DST50/51 and HM-DH30000 recognize each other with IEEE1394 cable. we can record and play back with I-link beutifully .
No problem at all.
There are 3 ATSC HDTV ststions in Seoul , Korea. so it was possible to record ATSC HD programs .

There was no mention about recoding ATSC HDTV capability of HM-DH30000 VCR on their user manual.
But it works.

Is there anyone who want to buy my Panasonic PV-HD10000 D-VHS VCR?

You can see at http://www.victor.co.jp/D-VHS/DH30000/index.html

If you buy DH30000, you can play all Japanese HD tapes.(it has HD decoder itself)

I am receiving Japanese BS HDTV signal with 1.8m parabola antenna.
7 HDTV stations including WOWOW -HD (Movie channel like HBO).
So I have collected about 100 HD movies and HD opera, sports( Such as 2000 Sydney Olympic game) etc and increasing every day.

.



[This message has been edited by Jaehong Lee (edited 02-25-2001).]

[This message has been edited by Jaehong Lee (edited 02-26-2001).]
Jaehong Lee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 28 Old 02-26-2001, 08:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jacmyoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 4,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One thing we try to avoid is trading HD tapes, at least not in the open. Trading copyrighted materials even for private use may be illegal, even if the tapes are from Korea. At a minimum these activities only give MPAA more ammunition to not release HD movies.

How much is your VCR in US term?
jacmyoung is offline  
post #3 of 28 Old 02-26-2001, 10:44 AM
Sil
Member
 
Sil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: London Ont. Canada
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jaehong,

What are the inputs to the HM-DH30000?
Is the IEEE1394 the only input?
What would the price be in U.S. dollars?

Sounds like something I could use.

Sil
Sil is offline  
post #4 of 28 Old 02-26-2001, 12:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
MikeKO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: San Jose CA
Posts: 989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Trading the tapes is NOT illegal. You could be right about the MPAA, but trading tapes (with no money changing hands) is perfectly legal. Even after the Napster rulings.

Mike
MikeKO is offline  
post #5 of 28 Old 02-26-2001, 01:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Jaehong,

Does the HM-DH30000 allow to fast forward while playing, to skip commercials for example? I read that this was a problem with the Panasonic.

You said: "So it can play Japanese HD tapes without help of BS STB..". Is this also true with US HD tapes?

Also is it possible to have a PCM output with US tapes, or is it always AC3? Being an hardcore audiophile, I never found an AC3 processor which sounds good to me, and still listen in plain stereo.

I live in France, and plan to purchase a HM-DH30000 to then be able to watch US tapes. Thanks for any information.

------------------
Robert

[This message has been edited by robena (edited 02-26-2001).]

Robert
robena is offline  
post #6 of 28 Old 02-26-2001, 02:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ADent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For audio while it may (or may not) be illegal to copy stuff at home for noncommercial uses, no action may be brought against people under the Audio Home Recording Act. (So in practice it is not illegal).

Not sure what protects Video copying though.
ADent is offline  
post #7 of 28 Old 02-26-2001, 02:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bb1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think the supreme court ruling in the batamax case would protect you as long as you trade strictly for personal reasons.

I am investigating a company in Japan to see if they will ship it. I understand the street price is aout USD $1300.

Bernhard
bb1987 is offline  
post #8 of 28 Old 02-26-2001, 02:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Thomas Desmond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Plano, TX, USA
Posts: 2,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
> Trading the tapes is NOT illegal. You could be right about the MPAA, but trading tapes (with no money changing hands) is perfectly legal. Even after the Napster rulings.

It should be noted that the Napster ruling was about (a) copying not trading, and (b) a commercial company attempting to profit from providing a website for people to copy files.

Trading recordings made off the air (but not copies of recording made off the air) is almost certainly legal.
Thomas Desmond is offline  
post #9 of 28 Old 02-26-2001, 02:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
acourvil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: San Jose, CA USA
Posts: 1,075
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think that the legal conclusions people are drawing about trading tapes are mistaken. The betamax case determnined that taping for personal time-shifting was a fair use of the copyrighted material. Once you start trading, you are exchnging the copy for something of value, and it is no longer a personal use. Although I'm not an expert in that area, I'm pretty sure I could build a pretty good case that it is NOT a fair use, and that people doing are gulity of copyright infringement.

Aside from the legal mumbo jumbo, I think that it is just bad judgement to be talking about trading tapes on a forum like this. It creates the possibility that this forum will be perceived as a haven for people that are pirating content, and works against the real purpose of the forum, which is to allow the free exchange of information.
acourvil is offline  
post #10 of 28 Old 02-26-2001, 02:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bbq@KL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bridgewater
Posts: 1,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Someone in Taiwan reported that DH30000 can be used with S-VHS tapes without any problems. http://home.kimo.com.tw/member/cgi-b...rand=983226054

Machine translation
"After I direct the Abby brother, uses the S-VHS scallop drills a hole (2 holes) records BS digital the 1125i program. The result is: Records the effect is extremely good, records with D-VHS the effect not different (uses SONY G70+STEWART 16:9 100inch screen). As soon as curls D-VHS (F420) the special-purpose belt may record 3.5 hour HiVision (the HS pattern) the program asks a price NTD1000, but the S-VHS scallop which as soon as curls 2 hours may record 2 hour HiVision (the HS pattern) so long as NTD130-200, wants to economize (province 4/5) wants to obtain the HiVision high picture archery target friend again buys D-VHS recorder after drills a hole the S-VHS scallop records HiVision is you best choice. I further use the general VHS scallop drill a hole (3 holes) record HiVision, the result are: Recording and sending out does not have the question moreover the picture nature not to be bad, the question is starts to record picture the previous 30 seconds can have the mosaic, but 30 seconds were normal, therefore wanted to economize the friend so long as bought the VHS scallop which D-VHS recorder used old has also may enjoy the high picture nature.
"


Please get Chinese to English translation at http://babel.altavista.com

Thanks.

------------------
bbq in Kowloon, waiting for Radeon custom T&R (desperately)

bbq@KL is offline  
post #11 of 28 Old 02-26-2001, 04:14 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Jaehong Lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Seoul , Korea
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For more info. on Japanese Domestic D-VHS VCR JVC(VICTOR) HM-DH30000

What are the inputs to the HM-DH30000?
Is the IEEE1394 the only input?

There are two IEEE1394 port . this port also accept DV camcoder signal and transfer to MPEG-2 and store to D-VHS/S-VHS tape.( really cool feature)

Two S-VHS and composite video in/out .

This machine acts as superb S-VHS-ET deck. it play and record analog S-VHS and normal VHS mode too. it features such as TBC .ghost reduction , frame syncronizer . it also has analog TV/CATV tuner and
Japanese Analog BS tuner.


What would the price be in U.S. dollars?


160000Yen +5% tax would be around 1400 USD.
(Please email to 901102@hitel.net for further price and where to buy. he is in Japan.
Simple English would be better )

Does the HM-DH30000 allow to fast forward while playing, to skip commercials for example? I read that this was a problem with the Panasonic.


Yes, you can fast forward and rewind with watching picture ( no sound . it is good for find spot.)


You said: "So it can play Japanese HD tapes without help of BS STB.". Is this also true with US HD tapes?

Yes you don't need panny TST-DU50/51 tuner for play ( it need only for recording)

Also is it possible to have a PCM output with US tapes, or is it always AC3? Being an hardcore audiophile, I never found an AC3 processor which sounds good to me, and still listen in plain stereo


It is possible to output PCM and also it can force output AC-3 to PCM mode.


Someone in Taiwan reported that DH30000 can be used with S-VHS tapes without any problems

Yes you can use any D-VHS and S-VHS tapes for HDTV recording/play


I apologize for asking trading tape I will delete that potion of my previous post.


[This message has been edited by Jaehong Lee (edited 02-26-2001).]
Jaehong Lee is offline  
post #12 of 28 Old 02-26-2001, 04:28 PM
Senior Member
 
chenderson2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Yes, I have no desire to "trade tapes." I just want the ability to time shift my HD viewing. Any way that we can get that, I am ready and willing to purchase. It makes me sick to see that we may never have that ability. For example, right now I am going out every weekday night for rehearsals for a play. I am missing ALL the CBS shows in HD, and have no way of ever seeing them (except in repeats - and I may be in rehearsals when that happens, too.) Please give me HD recording!
chenderson2 is offline  
post #13 of 28 Old 02-26-2001, 05:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
snidely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Oakland, Ca. & Aventura (Miami), Fl.
Posts: 1,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I haven't bought our HD system yet. Would only do so IF i can record OTA for time shifting as well.
I have scanned this board, but so far haven't found anyone who is actually using this unit in the U.S. The Panasonic unit which seems to be available on ebay seems to have some drawbacks.
"chenderson2" you have my permission to go and order one and report back.<G>

...mike
snidely is online now  
post #14 of 28 Old 02-27-2001, 04:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bb1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can get it from Japan for close to the street price, plus shipping, handling, insurance, import duty. They will ship in quantity of 10, so if any of you people are interested in a power buy you can contact me.
bb1987 is offline  
post #15 of 28 Old 02-27-2001, 06:16 AM
Senior Member
 
isolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Scottsdale,AZ
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by bb1987:
I can get it from Japan for close to the street price, plus shipping, handling, insurance, import duty. They will ship in quantity of 10, so if any of you people are interested in a power buy you can contact me.</font>
I private messaged you
thanks,
Ira

------------------
Ira Solod isolo@qwest.net
Pioneer Elite 510, Lexicon DC-1 ver.4 DTS, Parasound 1205A 200W x 5@4 ohms, M&K S150THX LCR, M&K Surround-55 rears, Klipsch PSW-10 sub, Pioneer DV-F727, Quadscan Pro, DTC-100, JVC 7600 SVHS,Power Wedge Ultra 111, Monster Power 2500, All homemade interconnects made mostly from RG-6QS
isolo is offline  
post #16 of 28 Old 02-27-2001, 10:53 AM
Member
 
wafafa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Sorrento FL
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bb1987:

You got mail.
wafafa is offline  
post #17 of 28 Old 02-27-2001, 09:01 PM
LJG
AVS Special Member
 
LJG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Brookville, NY
Posts: 4,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Will it record HD from Directv satellite boxes?

LJG
LJG is offline  
post #18 of 28 Old 02-27-2001, 09:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bbq@KL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bridgewater
Posts: 1,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
HM-DH20000 will be released in March.
http://www.watch.impress.co.jp/av/do...227/victor.htm

Get the translation at
http://babel.altavista.com

The MSRP of DH20000 will be (only) 178,000 yen.
Note that HD decoder will not be included.
(Only DH30000 has the built-in HD decoder)

Did anyone use S-VHS tapes and DH30000 for HDTV recording/playing?

Thanks.

------------------
bbq in Kowloon, waiting for Radeon custom T&R (desperately)

bbq@KL is offline  
post #19 of 28 Old 02-28-2001, 07:09 AM
Senior Member
 
belmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Norcross, GA, USA
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This sounds very interesting, but I am concerned about if you end up with a DOA unit or need warranty repair. Will JVC USA be able to repair this unit? Will it take forever to get it back?
belmore is offline  
post #20 of 28 Old 02-28-2001, 09:22 PM
Senior Member
 
mannyqg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Anaheim, Ca, USA
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jaehong,

What are the outputs, how do you connect to a projector or HDTV ready TV. Does it have vga outputs, RGB or components output? thanks

Manny
mannyqg is offline  
post #21 of 28 Old 03-01-2001, 12:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
videohot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Shawnee KS USA & Cape Town South Africa
Posts: 859
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jaehong Lee

I'm confused I have to admit. I have a Panasonic TU 50 tuner at home as well as two panasonic decks at home which I have never set up. I have been using the 6000 Dish tuner only up to this point. I also have the Dish 5000 tuner and HD modulator waiting for me when I get back to the states.

Why would I need the 3000 model over the 2000 when used with the Panasonic TU 50? The 3000 still can or cannot be connected directly to an antennae for OTA ATSC broadcasts or being fed from the Dish 5000 modulator?

from bbq@kl

"The MSRP of DH20000 will be (only) 178,000 yen.
Note that HD decoder will not be included.
(Only DH30000 has the built-in HD decoder)"

Thats part of whats confusing me.

Someone explain please? I'm a bit lost.

Larry



[This message has been edited by videohot (edited 03-01-2001).]

Join Electronic Freedom Foundation
http://www.eff.org/
videohot is offline  
post #22 of 28 Old 03-01-2001, 05:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bb1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think that's pretty easy to understand. If it has a built in decoder it can be directly connected to a display device via component cable, and if it does not, then you have to run a firewire connection to a tuner such as the Panny 50 or 51.

Mine is on the way. I will be posting information on it as soon as I try it out.

Bernhard
bb1987 is offline  
post #23 of 28 Old 03-01-2001, 07:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
videohot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Shawnee KS USA & Cape Town South Africa
Posts: 859
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just double checking....even at the risk of sounding like an idiot.

I guess I'll need to wait for your report bb1987

Sounds like if I have to use the TU 50 for recording anyway IU may as use it for playback as well and go for the 2000 instead.

Larry

[This message has been edited by videohot (edited 03-01-2001).]

Join Electronic Freedom Foundation
http://www.eff.org/
videohot is offline  
post #24 of 28 Old 03-01-2001, 06:28 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Jaehong Lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Seoul , Korea
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DH20000 doesn't have HD decoder. there are same D-VHS VCR from Panasonic , Hitachi. All are incompatible with US system.
They don't recognize Panny TU-DST51 .
No playback and recording Panny TU-DST51 is possible.
We simply don't know whether DH20000is possible or not .

BTW DH30000 can play all Japanese HD tapes without Japanese HD STB.

There are 7 HD stations . 70% of their programs are genuine 1080i HD
programs ( no Up conversion).
Jaehong Lee is offline  
post #25 of 28 Old 03-01-2001, 07:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
tmitchmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: watsonville,ca
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Check out this link; however I do NOT recommend doing business with this fellow.

http://www.planetjapan.org/hm-dh30000.html

or
http://www.jvc.co.jp/products/vcr/HM-DH30000.html

Like Bernhard, I have taken the plunge and will report my findings to all of you.

[This message has been edited by tmitchmd (edited 03-01-2001).]

"Dammit Jim, I'm a doctor not an engineer."
tmitchmd is offline  
post #26 of 28 Old 03-01-2001, 09:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Robert Cobler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Greg:

It does provide analog output from its own (internal) MPEG decoder. However, the connector is different from VGA. Shouldn't present any basic problem.

------------------
STOP DVI/HDCP! BE A PRO-ACTIVE PROTESTER
Robert Cobler is offline  
post #27 of 28 Old 03-02-2001, 12:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Li On's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

Read me message in http://www.avsforum.com/ubb/Forum11/HTML/011704.html

The JVC will only record through 1394 port such as the Panasonic TU-DST50/51 or another DVHS deck for dubbing. The 169time DTC-100 1394 modded may work with the JVC DVHS too.

The JVC will playback HD tape on it's own without a external decoder. Of course you can use it as a DVHS transport with external deocder (Panay DST50/51) for picture/sound output.

The video output connector of the JVC is a Japanese D-sub port. A stock D-sub to 3 RCAs cable will output a component YPrPb signal in either mode config in the player:

1. all scaled to 1080i
2. 480p upconvert to 1080i, 1080i native, 720p native

The sound connection is a optical digital port with the signal configed in the player as:

1. all convert to PCM 2ch
2. DD and AAC (Japanese format) native pass-through

regards,

Li On
Li On is offline  
post #28 of 28 Old 03-05-2001, 05:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bb1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by GregQuinn:
FYI
someone's posted one of these suckers (HM-DH3000) for sale on ebay at:
http://cgi.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI...tem=1219060698
Currently $999 with reserve not met.
[This message has been edited by GregQuinn (edited 03-05-2001).]
</font>

The ebay thing is a ripoff. The guy wants $2300. The problem with the U.S. version is that it won't play Japanese tapes, and there are a lot of movies on Japanese HD channels that are not being shown in the U.S.

It is also not clear if the U.S. version will in fact have component outputs or will be limited to DVI as its only HD output. If I remember correctly the machine I saw at CES in Las Vegas only had DVI for HD.

Bernhard

bb1987 is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off