Panasonic 1000 Computer combo? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 03-17-2001, 01:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
chap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Edgewater, nj, usa
Posts: 3,765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If I had HD material on my pc with a DV output, is there a way to get it to the panasonic 1000? Still trying ot figure out a good way of getting HD on tape until 169 comes out. I would like to get it off of satellite without having to buy another reciever.

What does the Dish 5000 have that allows you to record HD off of dish that the Dish 6000 doesn't have? Maybe if I can find a 5000 model cheap I would consider it, but it almost just doesn't seem worth it.

------------------
STOP DVI/HDCP!!!!!

chap is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 03-17-2001, 03:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The 5000 HD output is an 8VSB signal, just like local DTV stations. This is what the Panasonic DTV tuners (TU-DST50/51) will demodulate and send via IEEE1394 to the PV-HD1000.

To my knowledge, no one has yet figured out how to successfully record/playback with other devices to the HD1000 using IEEE1394. 169time looks to be the only near term solution, assuming they deliver as planned.

------------------
"better living thru modern expensive electronics"
tm
tm

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 03-17-2001, 04:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
chap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Edgewater, nj, usa
Posts: 3,765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thats what I figured. I'm trying to figure out if there is another way to just submit HDTV to my pc from satellite, and maybe record it to something else. . . . maybe I'll use my pc as a player as well. Maybe I can use DVD-Ram to store what I record to, if I can figure out HOW to record it.



------------------
STOP DVI/HDCP!!!!!

chap is online now  
Closed Thread HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off