Order Your AccessDTV Card Now !!!!! - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 40 Old 03-23-2001, 10:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim Ferguson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Annandale, VA USA
Posts: 2,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cliff I love you guys but your web-based ordering system sucks. I tried to order a keyboard from you a couple of months ago, and your system wouldn't let me log in. I finally had to have Kei deal with it manually. Your system is still not letting me log in, either using a previous log in or by letting me create a new one.

I've left a message on your phone...
Jim Ferguson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 40 Old 03-23-2001, 10:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Dept. of Offense
Posts: 5,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
When displaying an HDTV signal in a scaled window, is the resolution limited to 480 lines or is it the same as the window resolution?



------------------
Frank...
Turn off the TV and read these books those in power DON'T want you to read...

Did IQ's suddenly drop sharply while I was away?
I enjoy 3D in spite of HDMI 1.4!
Full screen only 3D doesn't cut it!
Frank is offline  
post #33 of 40 Old 03-24-2001, 04:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Annapolis,MD
Posts: 3,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have any of the Beta testers tried recording with the DISH 5000/HDTV mod?

I sure would appreciate any info regarding this especially whether the playback is flawless ie. no audio stuttering like on the Hipix.

Thanks,
Joe
Joe Q is offline  
post #34 of 40 Old 03-24-2001, 09:45 AM
Senior Member
 
bmel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it necessary to have the windows desktop displayed in order to use this device? I was hoping to construct a tivo-like machine. How are commands given, i.e. play, stop. Is a mouse required? What is the user interface like?
Brian
bmel is offline  
post #35 of 40 Old 03-24-2001, 03:05 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
rudolpht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Boxborough, MA, USA
Posts: 7,566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Joe Q:
Have any of the Beta testers tried recording with the DISH 5000/HDTV mod?
</font>
Is this possible?

Tim

Tim
Selling Anthem PVA7.
STABILITY + Superior audio (SC09-TX) + Incredible picture (VPL-VW200) + good integration.
rudolpht is offline  
post #36 of 40 Old 03-24-2001, 10:00 PM
Member
 
spineless monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: cleveland,ohio, usa
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm by far no guru, but from my experiences capturing video on my PC (Celeron 433, 192Meg memory, ATA-66 40 gig drive, using an ATI All-in-wonder 128 PRO (software encoding) and a Hauppauge PCI PVR (hardware encoding) I had unsatisfactory results. I turned to buying a ReplayTV 3060 (actually, two of them) and pulling the 6MB/sec streams from the hard drive.)

My guesses of why the PCI cards failed are some of what was mentioned above. In addition, Windows is not a real-time operating system, so expect dropped frames, sound issues from time to time. There are just too many other events occuring in Windoze to guarantee a good recording.

Also, even though the Haugpauge PVR supports bit streams upto 12Mb/sec, my Celeron 433 & mother board began acting up with anything above 4Mb/sec. And even though the encoding is hardware, my CPU usage began was pegged at a 6Mb/Sec capture. Disk I/O was not an issue and I'm not sure why my processor usage jumped so high.

So, I wonder if buying any video capture for a PC running Windoze, let alone a HDTV will provide quality recordings. Perhaps under Linux with a customized kernel.

Well, that's my experience.

------------------
Awesome stuff!

Awesome stuff!
spineless monkey is offline  
post #37 of 40 Old 03-25-2001, 06:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Annapolis,MD
Posts: 3,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tim,
I have not heard any answers yet so maybe this post will bubble back to the top http://www.avsforum.com/ubb/smile.gif

I use the Hipix (after MUCHO trouble getting it to work right) for timeshifting stuff from SHOHD and HBOHD with the DISH 5000.
I use the Panny DVHS combo for keeper stuff.

Joe
Joe Q is offline  
post #38 of 40 Old 03-25-2001, 09:29 AM
LJG
AVS Special Member
 
LJG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Brookville, NY
Posts: 4,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 16
It appears that this access card ONLY RECORDS OVER THE AIR HDTV OR DISH NETWORK BUT NOT DIRECTV HD, is this correct and if it is correct will access be updated to record Directv HD?

LJG
LJG is offline  
post #39 of 40 Old 04-16-2001, 07:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Stuigi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: alburtis,pa
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am bumping this as I would also like to know if the Access card will be able to record directv and if so, How?

------------------
There is enough sadness in the world. Make someone smile today!

There is enough sadness in the world. Make someone smile today!
Stuigi is offline  
post #40 of 40 Old 04-16-2001, 08:22 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cliff Watson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Augusta, GA (for real)
Posts: 14,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Stuigi:
I am bumping this as I would also like to know if the Access card will be able to record directv and if so, How?

</font>
No, accessDTV will not record HD from DirectTV. AccessDTV is an ATSC / NTSC tuner card with ATSC PVR functions.


------------------
Best Regards, Cliff
Digital Connection, LLC
cwatson53@home.com
Cliff Watson is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off