Viewing while dubbing between two PV-HD1000's? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 04-18-2001, 04:38 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
cymro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Pacific Palisades, Calif, USA
Posts: 619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have just been dubbing between two PV-HD1000's. This seems to work well enough.

However, to do this, I have to disconnect the firewire cable from the DST50 STB, and connect the firewire cable directly between the two Hidef PV-HD1000 VCR's. As a result, I can't view the material while dubbing proceeds - very awkward for editing!

Does anybody know of a solution to this? Would a firewire hub/router work? I noticed that there seems to be a lot of firewire stuff available for computers, but most appear to be for six conductor firewire cable, whereas the PV-HD1000's seem to use four conductor cable.

Is there a simple passive switch box that can connect either the STB or another PV-HD1000 to the main PV-HD1000?

Thanx
cymro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 04-18-2001, 05:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 227
I have tried two different firewire hubs on my Panny combo and neither will work even if it's just the PVHD1000 and DST50/51. I don't know of any way to monitor and since 1394 is bidirectional, you couldn't just "listen in"

But hey, it's digital. What could go wrong? Famous last words!

Glimmie's HT Page
Being redone - comming soon!

Glimmie is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 04-18-2001, 05:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by cymro:


Is there a simple passive switch box that can connect either the STB or another PV-HD1000 to the main PV-HD1000?

Thanx
</font>
Yes there is, www.markertek.com


Glimmie's HT Page
Being redone - comming soon!

Glimmie is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 04-19-2001, 01:07 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
cymro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Pacific Palisades, Calif, USA
Posts: 619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Glimmie,

Thanx for your input
cymro is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off