Do you need to have both hd-1000 and DST51 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 04-30-2001, 11:57 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
orangele's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry for the ignorance,but will you need both the PV-HD1000 digital VCR and the TU-DST51 tuner/decoder, to record and play HDTV programming off of the 16:9 time DTC100 modification? I just found a PV-HD1000 at the local Sears, and bought it, but if I need the Tu-DST too, then either I will have to get one, or sell the digital VCR.
orangele is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 04-30-2001, 04:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gridleak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Newport Beach, CA, USA
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow, that was a nice find!

No, you won't need the TU-DST51. The modified DTC100 does the same job that the 51 does.

------------------
- gridleak... biased toward HD

[This message has been edited by gridleak (edited 04-30-2001).]

-Roger
gridleak is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 04-30-2001, 04:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Lord British's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Upper East Side, Manhattan, New York, USA, Earth
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by gridleak:
Wow, that was a nice find!

No, you won't need the TU-DST51. The modified DTC100 does the same job that the 51 does.
</font>
Can the PV-HD1000 record HD off of a Dish 6000 series receiver?

Lord British
Lord British is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 04-30-2001, 05:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gridleak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Newport Beach, CA, USA
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.169time.com/ states that they will have a mod for the 6000 in Q2/2001. I don't know what recorders it will work with, but I'd be very surprised if it didn't work with the HD1000.

------------------
- gridleak... biased toward HD

-Roger
gridleak is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 04-30-2001, 05:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jrichards's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Sykesville, MD
Posts: 1,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do not hold your breath on the 6000 product from 169 time. They still have not delivered a single unit of their original product. By the time they start delivering their will be something better out.
Jeff
jrichards is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 04-30-2001, 07:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
169time has not delivered the modification for the DTC-100, as yet. It was originally promised before the SuperBowl back in January. Assuming they do deliver this, which they say will be real soon, it can act as the OTA DTV tuner for the PV-HD1000. It is also supposed to add DirecTV recording capability sometime in the near future. Some AVS members have serious questions about all this. See the recent 169time thread for more info, http://www.avsforum.com/ubb/Forum28/HTML/000091.html

Until (if?) they do deliver, the only DTV tuner that works with the PV-HD1000 is the Panasonic TU-DST50 or 51. These units do not have DBS record/playback capability built in, they only work for local over-the-air DTV.

They are Dish Network HDTV capable, if you have the Dish 5000 w/HD modulator (NOT the 6000). The 5000 and HD Modulator are also discontinued, but once in a while a pair shows up used in the AVS Classified Ads Forum.

You must have a DTV tuner with a IEEE1394 connection (like the TU-DST50 or 51) to record and playback DTV/HDTV from the PV-HD1000. The DVHS unit is just a "bit-bucket", the DTV tuner selects the channel for record (or live viewing) and decodes it for playback.

------------------
"better living thru modern expensive electronics"
tm

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 05-01-2001, 07:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Edgewater, nj, usa
Posts: 3,767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
beware of a demo model if that is what sears has. I have heard issues with demo models not being made to record properly.

------------------
STOP DVI/HDCP!!!!!

chap is online now  
Closed Thread HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off