Need help connecting DH30000 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 04-30-2001, 11:54 AM - Thread Starter
Sil
Member
 
Sil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: London Ont. Canada
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone help me connect or adjust my settings
on a Victor DH30000 I just bought from Kwon.The unit
came two weeks ago and I can't get an HD image out
of it.I can play SVHS tapes and watch them through
S video cable,but when I use the component out I
get no picture.I've gone through the menu and set
the component out I think,but the best I can get
is some scrolling like there's no sync.My component
signal is going through a Faroudja 250 to a front
projector with RGBHV inputs.
What am I doing wrong is there a diff. way to connect
or are the settings wrong?

Thanks in advance Sil
Sil is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 04-30-2001, 01:31 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
dahester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
To my knowledge the Faroudja 250 will not transcode 1080i YPrPb to RGBHV. Also, if you're trying to use 480i component into the Faroudja, there may be a bi-level vs. tri-level sync issue which is keeping you from seeing a picture.

You will need to buy a component to RGB transcoder from Key Digital or Extron. I have the Key Digital KD-CTC working great with a DH30000; at $200, it's a much better deal than Extron. However, the Key Digital unit does not remove the 'sync on green' that's embedded in the YPrPb signal. So what you get is RGBHV WITH sync on green. Most projectors will just pick a sync or let you select one type of sync over the other, but other projectors do not like sync on green together with H and V sync and will give you a washed out picture or no picture at all.

Regards,
Dylan

I drink your milkshake! I drink it up!
dahester is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 04-30-2001, 02:09 PM - Thread Starter
Sil
Member
 
Sil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: London Ont. Canada
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dylan,
Thanks for the info on Key Digital,I just ordered one.
The projector is a Marquee 8500LC but I don't know if
it will take sync on g.It has RGB & sep or comp.sync.
As for the Faroudja 251 it passes 1080i through the VGA
connection so I thought the 1080i component would also
work.

Sil
Sil is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 04-30-2001, 02:30 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
dahester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The Key Digital unit has a few DIP switches to let you select positive or negative sync, and/or composite sync. One of these settings will almost surely work fine on your Electrohome. I'm using a Sony 1292Q and it takes just about anything I throw at it.

-Dylan

I drink your milkshake! I drink it up!
dahester is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 05-02-2001, 09:46 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Don Landis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 10,941
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 130
You definitley have a sync compatibility problem. I was able to get my Dish6000 to work with a vertical roll too. Then I needed to join the vertical and Hor sync cables with a T connector and connect to the composite sync in and this was the key to getting it to work.

To verify your VCR is working try to connect to another (computer) monitor and see if you get picture. Many computer monitors will auto sync to different signals while projectors will not without special adapters and wiring as mentioned in this thread.

------------------
Don Landis
Home Theater Pics at:www.scubatech.com Last updated 3/25/01


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Don Landis
Don Landis is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 05-03-2001, 05:18 AM - Thread Starter
Sil
Member
 
Sil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: London Ont. Canada
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks again Dylan the KD-CTC works great.
Unbelieveable high def. when I want to watch it.

Sil
Sil is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off