Favorite way to skip CBS commercials on PV-HD1000 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 05-06-2001, 01:50 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since visible fast scanning isn't available on the PV-HD1000, what's your favorite way to skip the commercials on CBS shows?

Personally I stop the playback, fast forward for 2-3 minutes, press play again. Typically I only have to watch another 30 seconds of commercial before the actual show comes back.

Is this better than fast scanning 3 minutes without hitting stop on the VCR's long term life?
jlin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 05-06-2001, 09:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bb1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since I absolutely detest watching anything that is interrupted by commercials, what I do is go through the trouble of taping the show, then writing down the points at which each commercial starts and stops, then dubbing the movie minus commercials to a new tape and watching that tape commercial free. Of course this is a lot of work and I only do this when I like a movie enough to make it part of my library.

Bernhard
bb1987 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 05-07-2001, 10:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I too detest commercials. I edit out the commercials while taping. CBS switches from 4:3 to 16:9 when going from commercials back to program...with it, the 'CBS eye' logo shifts...that's my cue to resume recording from a rec pause.

------------------
Surf on to ... THE BEST FILMS & HOME THEATER

[This message has been edited by Brajesh (edited 05-07-2001).]

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 05-07-2001, 10:21 AM
Member
 
rczarne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Dearborn,MI
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is a button on the remote that fast forwards 1 minute. I believe it is labeled zero/1min .
rczarne is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 05-09-2001, 02:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cheezmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 1,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use the one minute forward scan button (3 usually does it). I can't see the front panel so stopping and fast forwarding would give me no time feedback, so I pretty much have to use the forward scan feature anyway.

------------------
Steve Martin
The Widescreen Movie Center

Steve Martin
former ISF Calibrator
If you can see my pixels, you are sitting too close.
Cheezmo is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 05-09-2001, 06:42 PM
Member
 
cnixon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The forward scan mode has an OSG with time indication and it's easier to skip three minutes watching this than pressing the one minute skip scan three times. I wish I could quickly press the one minute skip scan three times and move ahead three minutes.
Charles
cnixon is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off