DST-50 produces white bar - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 05-25-2001, 12:03 PM - Thread Starter
mdv
AVS Special Member
 
mdv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: CA
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I posted this in HDTV hardware but got little response. I figure most DST50/51 owners follow this thread so:

I recently connected a DST50 to my Philips 60PP9601 Aux4 input. When the DST50 is sending 1080i and the TV is in HD widescreen mode, a small white bar appears just below the image, in the center of the screen. The line is only about 1" or so long. I don't see this when sending the same source
material (Dish Network HD stuff) from the Accessdtv card to the Aux4 input via a VGA-compoment converter. I'm concerned about burn-in from the white bar.

Has anyone else seen this? Is there anything I can do about it?

Mark
mdv is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 05-26-2001, 11:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gridleak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Newport Beach, CA, USA
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see the white bar when I connect either a 50 or 51 to a computer monitor via a component/RGB converter. It's there even if there is no signal. It's outside the viewing area so it doesn't show on my 16:9 plasma. I don't know a fix.

------------------
- gridleak... biased toward HD

-Roger
gridleak is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 05-26-2001, 12:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Robert Cobler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
re white bar:

Sounds like a timing problem in the converter. I'd check to see if there is a timing adjustment you can tweek. Some equipment responds strangely to tri-level sync.
Robert Cobler is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 05-26-2001, 02:30 PM - Thread Starter
mdv
AVS Special Member
 
mdv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: CA
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
gridleak, thanks for the info. It's good to know I'm not the only one that sees this. It's also good to know that it's not something weird about my TV. Unfortunately, I have a 4x3 so when I watch a widescreen image, the white bar is still visible. I also have a much software white bar just above the other one which is in the widescreen viewing area.

Robert, which converter are you talking about? The DST50 or my TV?

Mark

mdv is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 05-27-2001, 06:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Robert Cobler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
mdv- The "converter" I'm talking about is a component to RGB converter such as the Key Digital CTC1. Perhaps your TV accepts the component video signal directly. I have a 50 and have no such problems after I tweeked my KD. I would still suspect some kind of timing issue.
Robert Cobler is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off