accessDTV Windows 2000 RAID question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 06-02-2001, 03:54 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mkerdman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 3,056
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Has anyone configured an HTPC with accessDTV Windows 2000 using multiple HDD's in a RAID aray such that all 2-4 HDD's are seen by accesDTV as the C Drive.

If so, what happens when a recording would otherwise span the physical space from one drive to another? Does accessDTV only place it in a partition with enough gigs- or does it fail to fully record if drive "1" lacks enough capacity?

Please advise.

Murray


Murray Kerdman
mkerdman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 06-02-2001, 04:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Annapolis,MD
Posts: 3,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Murray,
I have not put a RAID controller on my WIN2K machine as I saw no merit for this application.

I merely setup a spanned volume set in Win2k with 3 60 GB disks so my D drive looks like one 180 GB drive. My C drive is for the OS and apps only.

AccessDTV works just fine in this configuration and has no problem when recordings 'spill' onto the next drive in the volume.


Joe
Joe Q is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 06-02-2001, 04:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gridleak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Newport Beach, CA, USA
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
RAID distributes files across all the hard drives in the array simultaneously, a little of each file on each drive. When the array is full all drives are full. RAID 0 (zero) is frequently used for this purpose because it is faster than one drive alone.

------------------
- gridleak... biased toward HD

-Roger
gridleak is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 06-02-2001, 04:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mkerdman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 3,056
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Joe

"I merely setup a spanned volume set in Win2k with 3 60 GB disks so my D drive looks like one 180 GB drive. My C drive is for the OS and apps only."

So, if I understand you, you are using the ability within the W2K OS and not a RAID Hardware controller.

That's exactly the setup I had in mind, including the seperate c drive for app and OS.

Is the PC dedicated to accessDTV?

If not, what else are you using the PC for?
HTPC DVD? Other functions?

Others have suggested Windoe ME over W2K for an HTPC.

I hate Windows, but I really hate Windows 95/99/ME!!!

Has W2K with Service Pack 2 had all the drivers you have needed for all drives, applications and PCI/USB hardware?

I read Dolby Digital is a problem for W2K. True?


Murray

Murray Kerdman
mkerdman is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 06-02-2001, 05:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Annapolis,MD
Posts: 3,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Murray,
This discussion really should be in the HTPC forum.
Please see: http://www.avsforum.com/ubb/Forum12/HTML/010995.html

Joe
Joe Q is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off