Dish Depot had 26 5000 Modulators tonight - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 06-08-2001, 12:02 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bpearse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Saratoga, Ca
Posts: 1,208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got a message from Dish Depot that they had 26 Modulators for the 5000 coming in. They sent the message out at 7:00pm pacific time. By 11:00 PST, they sold them all. This was the last batch there is ever likely to be!

Bob
bpearse is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 06-08-2001, 11:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
Al K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They also have 70 Dish 5000 receivers according to their email.


Al Keown
Phoenix
Al K is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 06-08-2001, 11:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
jlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well, if anyone's interested, my 5000 system comes with DISH 300 dual LNB attenna and brand new and a lot less than $299.
jlin is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 06-08-2001, 03:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wco81's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 59
What does it exactly do and why did they stop making it?
wco81 is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 06-08-2001, 06:11 PM
Senior Member
 
klimekt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jlin,
you've got mail...
klimekt is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 06-08-2001, 09:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
jlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Amazing! It's like the hottest concert tickets around.. sold out in less than 30 minutes.

Now anyone interested in buying a brand new Dish 5000 system from me?
jlin is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 06-08-2001, 10:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bpearse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Saratoga, Ca
Posts: 1,208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
wco81,

The Dish 5000 modulator is an add on to the Dish 5000 receiver. It will take the High Definition programing available on Dish (HBO, SHO, DEMO, PPV) and output it as an 8VSB modulated signal on either channel 2 or channel 3 of the ATSC OTA spectrum. What is so great about that? Well, it is one of the very few way to actually record satellite HDTV. You can feed the Modulator's output into a HiPix, Wintv-HD, or AccessDTV and record HD HBO, SHO, etc.

It was discontinued either 1) because the 6000 model was introduced which is much easier to use, or 2) because MPAA wants to stop any ability to record HDTV satellite and pressured Dish to stop making the device. You decide.

Bob
bpearse is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 06-09-2001, 08:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wco81's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Thanks for the explanation bearse. I take it that the 6000 has some kine of copy-protection? I heard that all DirectTV receivers have copy-protection chips which can be enabled on any DTV program.
wco81 is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 06-09-2001, 10:58 AM
PVR
 
PVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This dish 6000 just doesn't have an 8VSB output at all so the copy protection is in the fact that the RGB type output signal (found on the dish 6000) is not in a format that any reasonable equipment can record.

There was some talk that some receivers can be remotely triggered to shut down all HDTV decoding ("doomsday switch?") but I think the particulars are clouded in rumor and speculation.
PVR is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 06-10-2001, 12:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wco81's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 59
What I heard is that DirectTV can set a flag on any program to prevent recording. If the receiver detects it, it won't decode it or it will output in low-res analog. But DirectTV has apparently never turned this on for any program. At least not yet.
wco81 is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 06-10-2001, 04:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
wco81,

What you heard is correct. All DirecTV HDTV receivers have a function that DirecTV controls, which will disable the HDTV output. It has not been used, as yet.

------------------
"better living thru modern expensive electronics"
tm

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off